Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I was diagnosed with Gastroparesis nearly 2 years ago after 5 years of severe illness. This is a disease that can make you feel very alone because it is rare, and there isn't a lot of awareness out there for it. My sister did some research online and found G-PACT for me. They've been a lifesaver! There's so much good information available through this group for people suffering from this disease, and they're constantly working to raise awareness for it, as well as working to encourage the medical community to find more effective treatments. I'm involved with the support group online, and it's been so good for me. There are so many compassionate people there who are willing to share information about the disease. It's gone a long way toward helping me feel less isolated. I've made friends through G-PACT's support group who will be my friends for life!
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

my mom has gastroparesis and i am boarderline. this page helps me to keep up with the news and events regarding this horrible disorder. it also helps to know that we are not in this alone. thank you to the volunteers that post information and fight for us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have been diagnosed with gastropareis since 2007. My freshmen year of college. when i kept throwing up and the diarehia i didnt know what was happening to me. I ended up going to the hospital the Dr. there thought I was anerexic. I tried to explain to him i cant keep my food down. They just gave a prev pav to take 14 days. I was scared and went from 148 pounds to 98 pounds in a month or two. I really thought I was going to die. But someone preferred me to a GI Dr. they gave me the test where u eat the scramble eggs and have to lay down for two hours so they can watch how long it takes to digest your food. Right of the bat after taking the test getting the results he knew it was gastroparesis. i was happy that they found out what it was. i would think to myself i will be able to live and eat and get strong again. at the same time my boyfriend and i were starting to date. needless to say even though i threw up my food on our first valentines day and many other days. he was always there beside me giving me support and comfort. We just made it to our six year anniversary this year on Oct. 31 2012.If it wasnt for him i would have gone crazy. My eating improved after i took reglan for a week before i had blurry vision side effect, so they had to take me off of it. and on motillium. for five and half years i was doing good till Sept. 11, 2012 I started to have severe stomach pain.mit was Gastroparesis acting up i went back to my same dr. again and now im on the gastroparesis diet it has helped a lot. the pain eased up. i have a follow up appointment Nov 20 th. the only things i fear are: hoe long will this diet help me, will i get it even more severe than what it is now, not knowing if i have to get surgery or not, feeding tubes, stomach pacer, im not sure but i have asked my boyfriend is still gonna stay with me even though i have a chronic illness, he said, "yes i will be with you like i did at the biggening when it first started to the end..." so i hope i have a long life and that one day there will be better ways of treating this illness. this organization helped me in dealing with the sadness i had when i found out that this illness doesnt go away, made me laugh, suggestions on how other people who have the same thing i have deal with their own troubles of eating, change of diet, dresssing for comfort, and better ways of dealing with the symptoms of gastroparesis. I would like to thank them in helping me understand and deal with this chronic illness.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I have idiopathic gastroparesis. GPACT gives people like me a voice. They work so hard to advocate for people with this condition. I am always excited to see what project they are doing next. And they inspire me to get involved. GPACT is working hard to spread awareness of this condition so that we can have better treatment options and one day a cure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

As a family member of a person with GP, having an organization available to provide valuable information and support is much needed. G-PACT provides what is needed in an easy to understand manner.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My teenage daughter has gastroparesis...we'd never heard of the condition before her diagnosis. This site has been such a wealth of information and positive support for us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

g-pact has been an absolute blessing to me - i have had gp for 19 years now and without the group i would never have even known others suffered the same disease. i didnt know there were treatment options had no idea about gp diets. medications, surgeries etc - so informative and incredibly supportive . I cope day to day because i can access gpact at any time and i consider it extremely vauable alongside my medical carers

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

G-Pact is so informative and is an avenue where I can have support with others that are diagnosed with Gastroparesis, like me. Since Gastroparesis is not a well known illness, I do not know anyone personally in my area. G-Pact puts me in contact with others with motility problems for support and guidance.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

This is a wonderful organization for those suffering with Gastroparesis. They truly care about everyone and are trying their best to raise awareness and offer support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

At the age of 16 my daughter was diagnosed with idiopathic gastroparesis. Gastroparesis in not rare but it is relatively unheard of for some reason and there is very little the medical community can do for GP patients and there is very little research being done. Armed with little information from the medical community I had to search out to find my own, something - anything, to make my daughter's life tolerable. After dropping from 116 pounds to 86 pounds in a little over 2 weeks I was desperate and went online in search of some hope in a seemingly hopeless situation, this is when I found G-PACT. Without this wonderful non-profit and their community of GP patients my daughter would not have near the quality of life that she has today. Everything from tips and tricks, current news to shoulders to cry on, it has given us more to work with than any Doctor, Specialist, Nutritionist of internet search engine ever could.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers