Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I was diagnosed with Gastroparesis about 2.5 years ago after about 1.5 years of symptoms. I had seen a GI Dr several times and my pcp ordered a gastric emptying test as one last attempt to figure out why I was sick all of the time. The results showed delayed emptying. The results of this test have led me down a long, rough road of trying to manage my symptoms day to day (nausea, difficulty going to the bathroom, fatigue..) and making constant adjustments as I learn more about what my body needs. The cause for my Gastroparesis is currently idiopathic (unknown).

I found G-PACT right after my diagnosis and received materials in the mail that gave helpful information about Gastroparesis. My frustrations for lack of knowledge and medical options by the medical field has made me want to volunteer and try to help others who are struggling and those who are newly diagnosed. I can only hope that one day medical professional will have the resources to treat Gastroparesis and hopefully one day there will be a cure! The volunteers are great and all struggle with health issues themselves, but all share the common goal of advocacy and working towards a cure. G-PACT has a lot of wonderful support groups where people can support and encourage one another, and many other programs to support people with digestive tract paralysis, as well as grief programs for those that lost their lives.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

when I first was diagnosed with gastroparesis, I had no one to turn to for support and help understanding my Condition. i googled gastroparesis and found GPACT. i met many who i could identify with. I found and made friends with many people with the same condition who were able to help me during the beginning. support is critical and GPACT provides support, education, and encouragement along with networking resources. I would be lost with out it. Now I'm a volunteer assisting others in creating hands on support groups across the USA. this group needs to continue to be in active status there is still so much we have to do. Thank You GPACT for making a difference in my life..
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I suffer daily with gastroparesis and if it weren't for G-Pact I don't know how I would get through. A great organization.
August 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

G-PACT I have Gastroparesis and this non- profit org has given me so much to see and learn how to have hope for my survival to a dreadful disability education, links,clinical trials support groups, participation to helping others! Thats life oppurtunity that I was so in need to live, Awareness to a condition like no other! Respectful to those lost ! Family comaderity! Kind to all .,. Thank you G-Pact
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I came to know G-PACT through a YouTube video I saw. I had recently been diagnosed with Gastroparesis at that time. As for most people with GP, I began exploring social media to find others who also suffer from GP. I saw all the wonderful things G-PACT did for everyone suffering from Digestive tract paralysis. G-PACT is ran by all passionate volunteers who spread the word and help others with Gastroparesis. G-PACT has given me and so many others a voice and a place to go for help and support for such a rare disease.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

G-PACT has changed not only my life but the life of many people. Being isolated with a "rare" condition that more than 5 million Americans suffer, no doctor could ever give better information that the one provided by G-PACT. A part from amazing guidelines and resources they provide a social network between those who we suffer this daily chronic pain and malnutrition. Please consider G-PACT as one of the best of the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

this work is for awesome everyday people who suffer and die by these horrible disorders

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Prior to finding G-PACT, the only person I knew with Gastroparesis was my grandma. For over 20 years, it was just my grandma and I facing a random faceless disease. We didn't even know the diseases name. Once I received the formal diagnosis of Gastroparesis, I went on-line where I found G-PACT. I found a support group "G-PACT Middlers" where for the first time I was able to interact with others about GP. Words cannot express what it felt like to no longer feel stranded on an island. Through G-PACT, I have learned how to handle various symptoms, how to educate others, and how to laugh in spite of it all. I really don't know how I was surviving without all of my GP brothers & sisters that I found through G-PACT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

REVIEW OF G-PACT My daughter got Gastroparesis the summer after 9th grade. Everyone assumed that with a diagnosis there was a cure- there is not. We went through years of Dr's visits, testing that lead to more diagnoses but no more help, feeding tudes, surgeries, and years of struggling to eat, throwing up, chronic constipation, lack of energy, chronic pain, depression, and more. This was my daughter's high school years. At the time, there was virtually no information on this illness and our physicians at one of the best children's hospitals in the world offered little to us but more feeding tubes and surgeries. G-Pact was a source of information and most importantly a way to connect with other people who were suffering from the same illness. My daughter was one of the lucky ones! Her Gastroparesis has resolved, for now. Although she suffers from another conidtion that challenges her on a daily basis, she is leading a relatively normal life. That is not the case for thousands of Gastroperesis and Chronic Intestinal pseudo obstruction victims who cannot lead a normal life, have a meal, go to the movies, or even get out of bed. At its worst, this is a death sentence. So I continue to volunteer with this organization which is run solely by sick people and their families who continue to raise awareness and reach those who have no other lifeline in the hope that some day no other people will have to suffer with this terrible, gravely debilitating and relatively unknown illness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I first found G-PACT via a friend and was directed to their Yahoo! Chat Group. I had been recently diagnosed with Gastroparesis and could barely pronounce the name let alone comprehend what was going on with my body. From there, in those early years I moved with them to Facebook and the information, support, restaurant cards and other information has continued to help me face my illness with courage, dignity and grace. I later developed Chronic Intestinal Pseudo-Obstruction in addition to esophageal dysmotility and through the journey I have had G-PACT and access to all of the support groups and open door policy for asking questions. I later joined as a volunteer so that I could find a way to "give back" if only a small amount of what the organization had given so freely to me. Also, the gift of information and support they gave to me in the early days and during this journey I wanted to make sure continued to the many that are newly diagnosed. Medical Awareness and Research is severely needed for GP/CIP and other digestive motility disorders (DTP) but G-PACT helps to fill a gap otherwise left open by the medical community. Does not matter the age, race, religion, or any other factors, if you have a digestive motility disorder or are a family member, friend or the care provider of someone diagnosed, G-PACT is there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers