Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I came to know G-PACT through a YouTube video I saw. I had recently been diagnosed with Gastroparesis at that time. As for most people with GP, I began exploring social media to find others who also suffer from GP. I saw all the wonderful things G-PACT did for everyone suffering from Digestive tract paralysis. G-PACT is ran by all passionate volunteers who spread the word and help others with Gastroparesis. G-PACT has given me and so many others a voice and a place to go for help and support for such a rare disease.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

G-PACT has changed not only my life but the life of many people. Being isolated with a "rare" condition that more than 5 million Americans suffer, no doctor could ever give better information that the one provided by G-PACT. A part from amazing guidelines and resources they provide a social network between those who we suffer this daily chronic pain and malnutrition. Please consider G-PACT as one of the best of the best.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

this work is for awesome everyday people who suffer and die by these horrible disorders

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Prior to finding G-PACT, the only person I knew with Gastroparesis was my grandma. For over 20 years, it was just my grandma and I facing a random faceless disease. We didn't even know the diseases name. Once I received the formal diagnosis of Gastroparesis, I went on-line where I found G-PACT. I found a support group "G-PACT Middlers" where for the first time I was able to interact with others about GP. Words cannot express what it felt like to no longer feel stranded on an island. Through G-PACT, I have learned how to handle various symptoms, how to educate others, and how to laugh in spite of it all. I really don't know how I was surviving without all of my GP brothers & sisters that I found through G-PACT!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

REVIEW OF G-PACT My daughter got Gastroparesis the summer after 9th grade. Everyone assumed that with a diagnosis there was a cure- there is not. We went through years of Dr's visits, testing that lead to more diagnoses but no more help, feeding tudes, surgeries, and years of struggling to eat, throwing up, chronic constipation, lack of energy, chronic pain, depression, and more. This was my daughter's high school years. At the time, there was virtually no information on this illness and our physicians at one of the best children's hospitals in the world offered little to us but more feeding tubes and surgeries. G-Pact was a source of information and most importantly a way to connect with other people who were suffering from the same illness. My daughter was one of the lucky ones! Her Gastroparesis has resolved, for now. Although she suffers from another conidtion that challenges her on a daily basis, she is leading a relatively normal life. That is not the case for thousands of Gastroperesis and Chronic Intestinal pseudo obstruction victims who cannot lead a normal life, have a meal, go to the movies, or even get out of bed. At its worst, this is a death sentence. So I continue to volunteer with this organization which is run solely by sick people and their families who continue to raise awareness and reach those who have no other lifeline in the hope that some day no other people will have to suffer with this terrible, gravely debilitating and relatively unknown illness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I first found G-PACT via a friend and was directed to their Yahoo! Chat Group. I had been recently diagnosed with Gastroparesis and could barely pronounce the name let alone comprehend what was going on with my body. From there, in those early years I moved with them to Facebook and the information, support, restaurant cards and other information has continued to help me face my illness with courage, dignity and grace. I later developed Chronic Intestinal Pseudo-Obstruction in addition to esophageal dysmotility and through the journey I have had G-PACT and access to all of the support groups and open door policy for asking questions. I later joined as a volunteer so that I could find a way to "give back" if only a small amount of what the organization had given so freely to me. Also, the gift of information and support they gave to me in the early days and during this journey I wanted to make sure continued to the many that are newly diagnosed. Medical Awareness and Research is severely needed for GP/CIP and other digestive motility disorders (DTP) but G-PACT helps to fill a gap otherwise left open by the medical community. Does not matter the age, race, religion, or any other factors, if you have a digestive motility disorder or are a family member, friend or the care provider of someone diagnosed, G-PACT is there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Back in 2001, when I was finally diagnosed with gastroparesis after years of suffering, I found G-PACT. They knew more about this disease than most physicians and helped me with choosing the best options for treatment and medication. I began volunteering with them shortly thereafter and am impressed with how far this organization has come with a fully volunteer staff of patients. G-PACT reaches thousands of people each day and provides a number of services for patients. It is the leading non-profit organization in the United States that deals primarily with digestive tract issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed in March 2012 with Gastroparesis. This changed my life as well as my family's living/eating habits. I hit the computer to find help, as my GI Dr at that time (I now have a new one) did nothing for me, education/reassurance/nothing! In all of my on-line search for help to understand GP, I found G-PACT to be the most informative. I ordered a Restaurant Card from them so when I was out 'eating' with family, I could order a small portion or off the kid's menu without a problem. They have links for credible doctors and other helpful info. G-PACT has several campaigns going as well. Such as the one asking the Federal Government for funding for research. This doc is so close to being passed, I can almost taste it and it is much needed for all of us! Just picture having the flu 24-7 and you are only partially in our daily shoes! G-PACT is involved with so much and they provide up-to-date information (check Facebook too), that I asked what I could do for them in return. That is how I became a volunteer and have just now assisted with the launch of our “Please, Pass The Puree” on-line fundraiser. We wanted to honor all of us that are unable to eat a Thanksgiving Meal! This is currently going on, so check it out. I can't picture not being part of this great non-profit organization. It is my dream one day to be able to eat food again and enjoy life the way I did before GP hit me. It is my belief that with G-PACT we can make this happen!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have had Gastroparesis for the past 7 years and GPACT was very critical in the beginning helping me understand what I was facing and how to deal with it. To know that there were so many others who suffered the same thing that I did eased a little bit of my anxiety, but as I delved deeper and deeper into what Gastroparesis was and what I could be dealing with I was horrified. Members of the online group are some of the most uplifting, caring, compassionate people I have ever met. No matter what they are going through, they are ready to set that aside and lift you up and give you information that has helped them. It is never medical advice and if it is a medicine or something else that has helped them, everyone is encouraged to discuss it with their doctor. Almost 2 years ago I decided that I wanted to be a part of this amazing community being able to help others that are just starting to find out they have this, or maybe the ones that are far in it but have gone up against a setback. It is important to make sure we are always encouraging people. I am not someone who is right up front showing everyone what I am doing, I would rather be a "behind the scenes" type of person and the other volunteers were very patient trying to find the perfect fit for me. I am so glad that I have found such an amazing nonprofit that is just trying to help the patients and go to the many different companies and doctors to try and get some funding to get research and better treatment options and hopefully a CURE!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers