Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I was diagnosed with Gastroparesis in 2010. As there is little to no help locally, I felt completely alone and isolated from everyone around me. Absolutely no one in the medical field where I live had been able to offer advise as to how to live with this most debilitating condition. I spent three years in the dark, feeling more and more helpless and alone.
Thank God I stumbled upon G-Pact support group! They have been a tremendous source of help and support to me. I truly thought I was going crazy until I found others going through the same thing! G-pact was the first to give me valuable information on diet, suggestions on pain relief and so helpful in emotional support as well.
They have my undying appreciation!
Thank you,
Debra Montefesco
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I have been sick since Nov. Of 2010. I first found about G-pact by watching you tube. Carissa, the founder of G-pact had made for college. Not only did I learn a lot I was able to see and hear my motility doctor do an interview for Carissa and G-pact. Dr.Kenneth Koch is one of the most sought after motility doctors in the world. Just the fact he did this very happy important video for Carissa and G-pact shows who he is very aware that the is so little education and support for our community. Even before Facebook came about G-pact was reaching those in desperate need of education and support. I remember coming home from my doctors appointment and got the diagnosis of gastroparesis. My doctor then just put me on Reglan and told me to eat 6 small meals a day. But once I looked it up on the internet I learned the sad and scary truth. I was new to all this and G-pact was the first place I found online that did not scare me to death but helped explain my new illness, the best tests, a list if doctors, a support group that was managed by others like myself who suffered and I understood. And now with this great PSA video, the message can reach even more, if only we could get more funding and support. Gastroparesis can be a very isolating illness. Food is the center of every family get together, every holiday, any celebration....food is a major part of the fun. But once food is removed from your life you just can really feel the magnitude if that isolation. The looks you get at a restaurant when everyone else orders food and you can't cause you will get sick and be doubled over in pain. You even stop receiving your invitations. G-pact is a tight bunch. We send out cards and gifts to one another. Even when we are so sick and even when our volunteers who direct these outreach are very I'll, the outreach of love and support touches every need possible. G-pact reaches out to families who have lost a loved one to some form of digestive tract paralysis. They have a phone line that is a toll free number that gives us a chance to actually hear a kind voice on the other end of the line. Online support groups are so important to those like myself that will be on bed rest for awhile or in the hospital fighting for our lives. G-pact has saved lives many times over. They don't spend money on having these huge fund raisers to keep them up and running, unlike many non profits. They keep it fun and despite those volunteers being ill
themselves, tireless hours are donated with no complaint. All to spread the word so more research will be funded, so people will not feel alone and even is used to educate those in the medical field.
Anyway we can promote G-pact and save a life is priceless. Help us to spread the word by adding G-pact to your important list. Once you learn more about digestive tract paralysis and how it affects newborns and seniors. It is a very painful slow starvation. Help us spread the word and educate those who suffer like myself and desperately educate the medical field that gas not always been very kind and to us. People either reach out a hand for help or will run away from what they do not understand.

September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I was diagnosed with gastroparesis about 3 years ago after being sick and I diagnosed for over a year. G-Pact had a wealth of information for me with my new diagnosis. The support system and information they provide through their website and online groups has been amazing. I have learned so much from them. Thank you G-Pact for the resources, support and encouragement you provide.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I was diagnosed with Gastroparesis nearly 2 years ago after 5 years of severe illness. This is a disease that can make you feel very alone because it is rare, and there isn't a lot of awareness out there for it. My sister did some research online and found G-PACT for me. They've been a lifesaver! There's so much good information available through this group for people suffering from this disease, and they're constantly working to raise awareness for it, as well as working to encourage the medical community to find more effective treatments. I'm involved with the support group online, and it's been so good for me. There are so many compassionate people there who are willing to share information about the disease. It's gone a long way toward helping me feel less isolated. I've made friends through G-PACT's support group who will be my friends for life!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I was diagnosed with Gastroparesis about 2.5 years ago after about 1.5 years of symptoms. I had seen a GI Dr several times and my pcp ordered a gastric emptying test as one last attempt to figure out why I was sick all of the time. The results showed delayed emptying. The results of this test have led me down a long, rough road of trying to manage my symptoms day to day (nausea, difficulty going to the bathroom, fatigue..) and making constant adjustments as I learn more about what my body needs. The cause for my Gastroparesis is currently idiopathic (unknown).

I found G-PACT right after my diagnosis and received materials in the mail that gave helpful information about Gastroparesis. My frustrations for lack of knowledge and medical options by the medical field has made me want to volunteer and try to help others who are struggling and those who are newly diagnosed. I can only hope that one day medical professional will have the resources to treat Gastroparesis and hopefully one day there will be a cure! The volunteers are great and all struggle with health issues themselves, but all share the common goal of advocacy and working towards a cure. G-PACT has a lot of wonderful support groups where people can support and encourage one another, and many other programs to support people with digestive tract paralysis, as well as grief programs for those that lost their lives.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

When I was first diagnosed in 99 I thought I was alone, I went into remission until 2004. I found G-PACT shortly after being diagnosed. They provided info so that I was able to find a dr who could help me since my local GI's were out of options. With all the support they provided I was able to work with them and became a board member around 2011. I help admin several Facebook groups & a yahoo support group. I have also participated in DDNC since 2011 to fight for better treatment for this disease.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

when I first was diagnosed with gastroparesis, I had no one to turn to for support and help understanding my Condition. i googled gastroparesis and found GPACT. i met many who i could identify with. I found and made friends with many people with the same condition who were able to help me during the beginning. support is critical and GPACT provides support, education, and encouragement along with networking resources. I would be lost with out it. Now I'm a volunteer assisting others in creating hands on support groups across the USA. this group needs to continue to be in active status there is still so much we have to do. Thank You GPACT for making a difference in my life..
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I suffer daily with gastroparesis and if it weren't for G-Pact I don't know how I would get through. A great organization.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

GPACT is a great organization serving a community that needs a voice!
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

G-PACT is currently small but growing. Which is good considering it's the only voice for all of us who suffer from debillitating gastroparesis and need support and advocacy more than ever. Gastroparesis is a very serious disease that demands awareness and research, sadly we do not get it. Luckily G-PACT exists for those of us suffering.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers