Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.853665
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

Maggie Gardner of Gardner's House is the only one that I know of in our city who provides assistance to not only the cancer survivor, but the family as well. She assists families in finding services to address a variety of basic needs that become dire when a cancer patient loses the ability to provide financial and/or emotional stability for themselves and/or their families. There are times when Ms. Gardner spends her own money to help someone in need. She is one of the most caring, kind and generous souls I have had the pleasure of knowing!
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

Gardner's House is a wonderful place to meet and interact with people who care about people affected by cancer (and their families). The founder, Maggie Gardner, is gem. She is a down-to-earth, easy to talk to person who works tirelessly towards her goal of helping others. The world needs more people like Ms. Maggie! As a volunteer, I can say that she has truly changed my outlook on life and made me a better person. I highly recommend this organization to anyone looking for a volunteer opportunity or to anyone who's been affected by cancer. Please make a donation if you can...Gardner's House and the people it serves could surely use the help!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Gardner's House Inc is a great and wonderful place to be for someone and their family who has been affected
by this terrible and deadly disease. Maggie and her team gives support, hope, love and inspiration to broken families. they're very caring and they want to be apart of your family to
help you go through your time of struggle.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Awesome place to be Maggie and her team rocks!!!!!! it's a place where broken families go to become whole again while they fight back against a dieseas that knows no limit GHI and the whole GHI team is a family that simply know how to love and care for your family when in a crisis I love GHI you will be right at home there.
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

As a cancer survivor my self, I do understand the need for support services and basic need for people affected by cancer. The people in the Hartford and surrounding area are in great need of an organization like Gardner's House Inc, there are so many young women who are being diagnose with cancer and have know one to turn to on their level, some have died and leave young children behind. Thank God for a place such as Gardner's House Inc, who welcome every one who are affected by cancer know matter what type of cancer.
They all are affected in the same way. I am so proud of the organization for standing up on behalf of those who can not stand up for them self.
I am praying that more people support GHI so more people can be helped.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes, but will add people who understand the vision and have a passion to help people

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 24, 2010

Maggie Gardner was there for my mother in her last years, providing her with a loving and supporting presence and aid. Now Maggie seeks to give that support to others who find themselves with no one ... more

September 19, 2014

Gardner's House, continues to provide valuable support services to the underserved of the Hartford Area with particular emphasis on the African American and Caribbean communities. Its president, Maggie Gardner, has received numerous awards from the civic and other organizations in Hartford, and has been recognized as both Woman of the Year and Business of the Year. She has a personal experience and understanding of the local resources for both physical and mental support available to cancer patients and their families. She is a contact point for food and household goods distribution, and for referrals to medical and other personal services. She continues to expand her contacts with other charitable organizations in the area. She supports the needs of both individuals and families who have been impacted by cancer and is, herself, a most valuable resource.
June 24, 2010

Maggie Gardner was there for my mother in her last years, providing her with a loving and supporting presence and aid. Now Maggie seeks to give that support to others who find themselves with no one to help with the basics of life desperately needed in order to survive and heal. Despite the existence of Social Workers, Departments, Committees and the like, Society has turned its back on these cancer survivers who have lost everything as a consequence of their fight with this disease. Gardner's House will be a refuge in this struggle for survival with dignity. It will provide needed referrals to compassionate people and resources, those known to deliver from Maggie's own experience in fighting her cancer. With a proper facility that hopefully will be obtained soon, Gardner's House will be able to provide shelter to those in need, healing meals and practical and emotional support for these victims of their disease and society's indifference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being the recipient of her care for my mother.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the total committment, generosity and compassion of Maggie Gardner in her determination to help others survive their disease and keep their families together. She has used her own limited resources to support many already in need.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

establish its permanent House and fund its multiple programs to serve the Hartford community that desperately needs it.

Ways to make it better...

NA

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

establishing a financial base from which to go forward, purchase its building and fund its operations.

One thing I'd also say is that...

there are so many people in Hartford that need the kind of help that Gardner's House can provide once it is fully funded. We need the backing of our government and community to fill this desperate need for its cancer survivors and their families.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 14, 2014

more

September 14, 2014

GHI is a great place to start if you are looking to do something meaningful to help Cancer survivors and their families. Founder/CEO Maggie Gardner works tirelessly to make sure that those who need the services of food and rent or mortgage assistance or advocacy, resources or special gifts or assistance, actually get it. She needs more monetary support to accomplish this. It is horrible to have to turn someone in need away! Maggie has survived this disease twice and truly understands what it takes to live with adversity and beat the odds. I commend GHI for the positive service that it provides to the community everyday. Latissa Jackson
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

There is no other nonprofit in the Hartford area that provides the kind of service that Gardner House provides to families that are devasted and sometimes decimated by cancer. I applaud Maggie Gardner for her insight and complete devotion to her work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the agency with funding and staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

I would like to Congratulate my friend Maggie and Survivors everywhere. It has been a blessing to work with Gardner's House for the past 3 years.My organization ( Phoenix Society Inc. International Association of Black Professional Firefighters) Has sponsored Maggie in all endeavors and hopefully we will continue in the future.

GOD Bless...

Lionel Jr.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

It is such a joy knowing that there is an organization as Gardner;s House Inc in our world who are constantly looking our for people affect by cancer and address the whole person not just the patient.

This organization have helped more than 200 plus families in one way or the other and
continue to do so, I am very happy to be associated with one of a kind organization.

I am encouraging any one who can please help this organization to help other people who is and will be affected by cancer.
Thanks
Magz

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes. But will Love to have other organization collaborate with us to reach more needy people affected by cancer. So if you can please let me know

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers