Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I volunteered for Gap Ministries for one year as a tutor for kids in one particular foster home in Gap's network of homes. I also did some manual labor to help renovate an agricultural building to house a summer camp. As for my work in a Gap Splash house, the foster parents were great. They were loving, but also provided necessary boundaries for the kids living with them. The administration provided necessary background training for me, and was very supportive. Facilities were first-rate, and community involvement was, frankly, amazing. Local and national businesses are very generous to Gap, and Gap seems to have created "critical mass" in their efforts to reach local youth and provide loving, encouraging environments for kids going through serious family issues. As someone who was going through some difficult transitions myself when I volunteered, I can gladly say that Gap Ministries and the kids I served probably did more for me than I did for them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that I would change, though I'm sure there are always things that can improve. For a relatively small organization, Gap is extremely well organized. I ascribe that to the fact that both Greg and Pam Ayers have a rich professional experience that they have been able to apply to the operation of Gap Ministries.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

GAP Ministries does so much for our community. They provide so many services so many families. Praise the Lord for raising up this organization!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I love GAP and everything it does for kids and the community of Tucson!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have had the joy of working with children in the GAP foster homes. What an amazing environment! The house parents, support staff, and admin staff do a great job of running a smooth, loving operation. I have never seen any organization do so much in a place where the need is so great. Keep up the good work1

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I found GAP by the grace of God. I was trying to help my church and then began volunteering. Just being there everyday and around the people there made me feel great. I got such a sense of accomplishment everyday no matter what I did. I knew there was people out there that were going to be blessed by this organization. This place walks and talks the spirit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There would be nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have had the opportunity to volunteer for a few of their events. The amount of help and goodwill that touched many families is impressive. In these times, GAP Ministries really does stand in the gap for individuals and families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GAP is great at what it does, it helps serve the community and the children in its program. Not only do they support their own children but they help other organizations in the process. Working with GAP may not be physically draining but sometimes more mentally, but the eternal reward is much more fulfilling than anything you can do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I have been associated with GAP Ministries for over 12 years now and have been thoroughly impressed with the loving care that is given to these children. Coming from such desperate backgrounds, they ... more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't begin to tell you have much GAPministries has meant to the lives of hundreds of children in the Tucson area of Arizona. I have seen it in the lives of the children who, many for the first time in their lives, have known what it is to touch a loving hand and hear a caring word.
Our
church has cooperated in a yearly trip from Utah to Gap in help in construction and remodel needs and any other needs the ministry has. During those weeks we have seen first hand how these young lives have been helped and have seen kids who have graduated become solid citizens as adults.
Not only has Gap touched the lives of the children but also all of us who have the privilege of helping as volunteers. Most of us will never be the same.
I highly recommend this nonprofit for your consideration.
Pastor James Ayers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2012

I have been associated with GAP Ministries for over 12 years now and have been thoroughly impressed with the loving care that is given to these children. Coming from such desperate backgrounds, they are given love, acceptance and guidelines to help them turn their lives around and overcome the dysfunction of their past. For some of these children, it's the first time they have felt genuine love and guidance. I highly endorse this ministry to children and believe it is changing the course of scores of lives. I applaud the heart and effort shown by Greg and Pam Ayers in this difficult but needed endeavor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Gap has a heart for the people of Southern AZ. I am blessed to be apart of this ministry. I appreciate the servants hearts and attitudes of people in the ministry who serve others in so many different ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 19, 2012

more

December 19, 2012

GAP does an awesome job of serving the lives of children in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

sort in our warehouse, wrap Christmas presents for Holiday of Hope, organize warehouses, make dinners for group homes, and many more opportunities Volunteer