Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

AFter watching an insightful and heart-warming introduction to some vounteers of Gallant Few and some brave and truly gallant veterans on a filmed interview, I corresponded with the contact person of The Gallant Few, Karl Monger at their web address. As a nonmilitary citizen I have had much difficulty being able to find ways to show my appreciation to military personnel and their families in a concrete way.
With energy and enthusiasm Karl immediately responded and patiently assisted me in joining the Gallant Few as a volunteer via internet. He has assisted me in accessing volunteers in other states as I make plans to establish a monthly local networking event for veterans here in my home state, CT. This event can be reviewed at the Gallantfew.org under the heading First Saturdays and I am happy to say that I am meeting a general manager at a family owned restaurant in Groton CT tomorrow!
There are many earnest and well intentioned persons who would like to be supportive change agents for our military heroes and I can vouchsake that the Gallant Few is definately one which is making a positive difference. I was glad to become a volunteer because when an organization can do great things with a limited budget...then that organization has shown itself as a strong foundation for me to invest my time and energies in.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

immediate and enthusiastic responses to emails and have been given solid contacts for assistance in reaching my goals. The contacts have been resourceful, generous, courteous and encouraging. In all my experiences the persons involved in this organization have been genuinely focused on the well being of the veterans we would like to encourage and help. I am eager to hear about and see the results of my efforts locally and look forward to making First Saturdays a reality in other locations as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to let as many people in my community know about the efforts being made to promote the well-being of our veterans by this organization and make it possible for The Gallant Few to facilitate efforts by people like me!

October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

I join the Board of GallantFew because I believe in their Mission. I was Wounded in Action in 2007 and know the importance of having a solid transition process.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have I have witnessed several life changing experiences due to peer mentoring.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not at this time

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Saw the good they were doing and wanted to be part of it

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Peer Mentoring through a Service Members transition.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Help every Honorably discharge Veteran.

October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

Having served in Vietnam with Airborne/Rangers I am familiar with the difficulties often faced when returning to civilian life. Gallant Few, under the direction of Karl Monger, is doing a great job in mentoring these returning Warriors and I speak from first hand experience
It is a worthwhile
organization that is doing a worthwhile job in a time of need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

mentoring Vets

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing different

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

nothing

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It made me count my Blessings

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Helpful when needed and grateful for the opportunity

October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

As a former B. Co. 1/75th Ranger, and knowing full well the challenges and struggles our returning veterans face, I can attest to the fine work Karl Monger, Michael Schlitz, Tim Abell and the rest of the Gallant Few organization so unselfishly provides. To offer a healing hand to our returning veterans who have given so much and asked for so little in return brings great credit on Gallant Few, their mission statement, and our Great Nation as a whole. I urge all Americans to take the time to reflect upon what our Freedom is worth, and what it continually costs our veterans on a daily basis.

Mingo Kane, author—Scars of the Prophet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

I served with B Co. 1/75 from 1992-1994 while Ranger Karl Monger was the S3/Operations Officer for the 1st Ranger Battalion.

I came across Karl again last year through a mutual friend and when he told me about Gallant Few and it's mission I knew this was something I had to be a part
of.

I left active duty rather suddenly after a service-connected injury and although my transition worked out fine I sure could have used Gallant Few and the mentorship that's offered. I'm NOT a combat veteran and I don't face any issues as a result of having served in combat, but I'd do whatever I could for one of my brothers that does.

Serving in the Army is noble and honorable but I've never experienced or witnessed a bond between individuals that may have never even met each other before like I have within the Ranger Regiment community and Gallant Few takes that bond even further.

If my efforts are enough to make a difference in just one Rangers life, than it makes it all worth it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I believe there are two sides to the benefits of this organization. There are those being served, being provided with services through the efforts of the Gallant Few team and then there are the benefits that people like me see. As a volunteer I have the opportunity to serve the Ranger community and fellow veterans. I get the chance to "shoulder more than my share of the task, 100% and then some.". What I get out of choosing to be part of this team is immeasurable and you can't put a price tag on it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more volunteers step up and offer to take responsibility for crucial operational tasks so Karl Monger, the Executive Director could free up some time and focus on initiatives to aggressively expand the organization and it's impact.

More feedback...

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Exceptional and it's a great challenge to know the more successful I am at what I do for Gallant Few, the greater impact we can all have.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

They have taken a simple idea, that has become complex and made it work. The network overall has been uplifting not only for myself, but others that I see. Mentoring younger Rangers and others in the SOF community, Karl has helped them get jobs, start a business, connect old friends, helped some navigate the very confusing VA system and kept the proud tradition of taking care of those who have borne the brunt of war.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Organizing gatherings, meeting those at the Care Coalition and attending events in the Tampa area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing. Great people taking care of greater people.

October 29, 2011

more

October 29, 2011

It's not easy to transition from the military back into working, functioning even socializing back into civilian life. Who has seen the horrors that only service can so graciously provide. Who can understand the overwhelming desire to need to be doing something to help make a difference.

When these men and women come home, there is no ticker tape parades, no celebrations for their service, if they come home at all. Navigating your way through the overwhelming paperwork, processing through the Veterans Administration that takes 15 years to get through your claim, having to network to succeed, can at times, for even the most seasoned veteran, be overwhelming.

Having organizations like Gallantfew.org setup to help transitioning veterans, for myself personally has made all the difference, in my ability to find gainful employment. I was lost in the maze of overwhelming government agencies, all telling me incorrect information, without a fellow Ranger buddy as I have always had to guide me through the process.

The Army didn't issue me gear and say "Ok son, good luck, don't get shot" they issued me to a Sergeant, who signed for my life, and had to make a promise to my mother to keep me safe, which haunted him he later told me my entire enlistment. Why should any vet have to leave the service and be treated as I was sadly treated in 1995.

One guide sheet from Ranger Karl Monger, upholding the Ranger standard with helping answer any questions I had along the way, not only giving me simple to follow instruction, with the actual websites directly posted in the order needed to get through.

All FREE, yes read that again, ok Ill write it again, FREE hasn't cost me a dime yet, and so far has saved me $985.00 just alone in online fees.

The processing that I can now get done with my company, has allowed the company to go from stagnant, to opening its first communication with a real potential commercial client, as well within three months will be eligible and bidding on Government Contracts.

Six years of my time has been stalled, because I just found this organization. There isn't enough money or gratitude I could pay back to Ranger Karl Monger or Ranger Tim Abell who introduced me to Karl, my Ranger buddy that had my back.

It is nice for people to tell us they appreciate our service, it feels good, that doesn't feed children, allow for families to live and support their needs. What these veterans have made available to me, will in turn support hundreds of military families, both active and retired. It will allow me to hire veterans for long term careers.

If you haven't visited the Gallantfew.org website, please, I ask you on behalf of the seventeen Rangers I buried during my time in service 1992-1995, ask that you just donate one dollar for each of them.

$17.00 to honor the men who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom, tell them Ranger Baer sent you.

Godspeed.

RLTW

Dotan Baer
Retired Honorably 90% disabled veteran of the 1st 75th Rangers 1992-1995 Bco 1st platoon. If you ever need someone to reach out to, look me up, don't hesitate to call, write, gripe, or send good news.

We all have been where you are about to walk. It takes a proud man to serve his country, honor his family, by risking his life; it takes a smart man, to swallow that pride, reach out for help, before taking yourself down a road, there is no coming back from.

You don't have to walk that road alone, we know, we've been there. Yes, everyone of us, truly understands. Let us teach you now how to move on.

Something I wrote in a letter home to my loved one in 1993 after we lost our Colonel, his RTO, 10 other soldiers that day, just in case I myself didn't survive;

"Live to honor those we lost, prove their sacrifice was worth the cost. Live to give children someone in this world, still left worth looking up to, when they get old. The men that gave their life today, lived better than any I have seen in life, if I shall meet an early grave, at least I can say I've lived today. "

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping me to make the most out of my benefits by leading me step by step through the arduous process of registering and becoming eligible for submitting for Government Contracts. This has opened up an entire job for me and for many veterans that will soon be working those contracts

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get Bill Gates to donate enough to properly launch this organization to allow it to reach as many veterans as is possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Referred by Ranger Tim Abell a close friend.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

It got me working instead of playing video games wondering why I couldn't find a job to match my skillset. It is allowing me to do what I should have been doing 5 years ago but didn't have Gallantfew.org or Ranger Karl Monger to help me. Millions of veterans need this help I am so grateful and feel blessed had the chance to get one person that really directed me to what I could do to get work. It was always there, but without help we will never just find it on our own.

October 28, 2011

more

October 28, 2011

Gallentfew has provided me with both general and specific advise, networking opportunities and transitioning Veteran resources that set my expectations during this process.

Truly an organization of great people, doing great things for the very best reasons.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hearing compelling stories of many facing circumstances similar to mine, with integrity and honor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wave my wand and expose more transitioning Veteran's with this exceptional resource.

October 28, 2011

more

October 28, 2011

Excellent array of practical advice. I can see u will use this in my efforts to advance adaptive sports and innovative therapies. Having organized an nfp lately for related needs, I appreciate what Gallant Few has done so far. They will get my support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2011

more

October 28, 2011

Karl and team are creating an inspiring organization that is committed to taking care of our warriors, past and present. I have personally seen the great efforts the team is making in the Southeast region. Great work guys and thanks for your support. RLTW!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have been working with and mentoring individuals referred to me by the GallantFew. I have assisted several individuals to find employment through my network.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time.

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Review a veterans resume; rehearse a veteran through a job interview; host a First Saturday event Volunteer