Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Truth is a rare concept in the realm of perception but to bring truth to the above comments is my reason for responding. Let me first state that the above “reviewer” is a disgruntled ex-husband who has stalked the previous volunteer through every job in efforts discredited her to Boards, bosses and friends in much this same manner, a manipulation of events and circumstances. A waste of time to anyone who knows this remarkable, generous woman.

The positive reviewer is indeed, this woman, a volunteer who has given countless hours to an organization dear to her heart and a year ago left a well paying job to give a year to G.A.L.A. through the AmeriCorps VISTA program in an attempt to work in an environment that nourished her soul instead of her bank account.

The money trail of G.A.L.A. is completely transparent and I will address the misperceptions of truth as stated above, by paragraph.

G.A.L.A. was not reluctant to provide info, it was in the process of finding out just how this info should be provided. I, as Treasurer was made aware of the request and proceeded to find out the best course of action to fulfill it. Our CPA informed us of the Guidestar requirement and we proceeded to complete that process.

Since its inception in 2007 Josh Arnold has worked tirelessly to bring the idea of G.A.L.A. to a place of recognition and sustainability. Everyone needs money to do what they do but in the first years Josh took nothing, worked 2 or 3 jobs and gave G.A.L.A. all his extra time.

In 2007 the total income for GALA was $2376.00. There was no monies give to anyone from this meager amount.

In 2008 the total Income was $17,000 of which $12,000 was given as two grants to help build the structure of the idea of G.A.L.A.. $1000 of that was given to Josh and no monies were received by any other person for services.

In 2009 the total income was $4197.00 as we were still building the organization from the year previous grants. Josh received $1810 this year as he continued to pour 30 + hours a week into the development of G.A.L.A. while working 2 other jobs.

In 2010 the total income was $54893.00 of which $42,000 was grants.

All of the above donors were fully aware of the need for Josh to receive a salary in order to devote 100% into development of the Sustain-A Raiser program on a National level. In 2010 Josh received $20,499.00 and was his first year on payroll. The 20% referenced to in the previous comments were monies received by Josh before payroll was possible. No monies have been paid to other Board Members. This is the year G.A.L.A. finally took off and I am thrilled to say that Josh as it’s tireless Director now receives a salary comparable to the lower end of other NP Directors.

In monies received from the ChangeMakers award, G.A.L.A. invested in a used truck that the board collectively decided was a wise investment for the Sustain-A-Raiser program.

In 2011 The Solar-Raiser project was hardly what was implied by the previous responder. It is true that G.A.L.A.’s first project was on his parents’ home, but that was a conscious choice as it was their first installation and who better to use as the kinks were worked out! 100% of the project was funded by the homeowners and all labor was volunteer. The way the program works is volunteers “pay it forward” and after helping with other installations they in turn are ready to have G.A.L.A. coordinate their own. The monies received from that grant were used to purchases a Solar Path Finder among other things needed to start the great program. What a great use of $5000! There have been 3 solar installations thus far, income for G.A.L.A. and unending affordable possibilities for local homeowners.

And my favorite part of the response is this: Yes the Treasurer, me, Josh’s mother all one in the same was the perfect choice. Not only do I have 30 years of For Profit accounting experience, (and I admit the NP has been a learning curve) but there would be no one harder on keeping the ED current, accountable, frugal and task oriented than myself. I welcome any investigation by the Attorney General’s Office as G.A.L.A.’s books, transparency and mission are pure, admirable and the possibilities for sustainable community development very exciting! At the same token, my intension has always been to institute prudent fiduciary habits and protocals and at the point G.A.L.A.'s Board feels confident in its financial mangement, step down as Treasurer. We are approaching that transition time and seeking volunteers with NP financial mangement experience to step up to replace me.


Perception is a slippery thing, I hope I have shed some light on the vision, details and efforts of GALA and corrected a manipulated perception based on only numbers with no background information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

The previous reviewer is not a volunteer as claimed – but is really the co-founder, co-director, board member and employee.
If you want to see GALA's true priorities - you need to follow the money trail. GALA refused to send me a copy of their tax forms or post them on their website and
facebook page - but the Attorney General’s office was kind enough to direct me to www.guidestar.org, where I soon discovered why GALA was so reluctant to be fiscally transparent and accountable.
On average over the last two years of GALA’s expenditures – they have racked up an appalling overhead rate of over 90%!!!! Of that – the single biggest priority is a salary to the Director Josh Arnold of over 40% of expenditures. Another 20% or more went to unnamed “contractors” – at least one of whom appears to be a Board member. Only about 8% of their donations actually go to the programs that they use to claim non-profit status. It would appear that the thing GALA most wants to “sustain” is itself.
While they are willing to use free labor for their programs – most seem geared towards making a profit for the Director. Compost bins that used to be sold through the Town of Wolfeboro for $20 are now sold through GALA for $52. Taxpayers support a VISTA volunteer to do things like write grant applications for more money and sell $3 smoothies at a farmers market while also claiming that GALA is “fighting poverty”. Whose poverty are we fighting? What a scam!
In 2010 Josh Arnold lobbied hard for national recognition (and more money) for his “Sustain-a-raiser” program through the Changemakers Award. Despite taking a $5000 prize and raising another $10,000 for the program – the tax forms reveal that by years end they had only really spent a pathetic $288 on what he calls their “signature program”. That is just shameful.
In 2011 they sought a $5000 grant for what their application called “The Solar Retrofit Training Program”. For some odd reason there seems to be no other public mention of this program on their website or in their literature before or since. But after receiving the grant money – the first thing they did was put a solar system on Josh’s parent’s house. Oh yes, did I forget to mention that the GALA treasurer is Josh’s mother?
I believe that this alleged “non-profit” should be fully investigated by the NH Attorney General’s Office and criminal charges should be brought if appropriate. At the very least, they seem to be taking grant money away from legitimate non-profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Every year I find myself growing through the diversity of GALA programs in which to volunteer and participate. With a mixture of astonishment, bemusement and delight, I witness my skill set expand to encompass growing my own food; composting; installing solar panels, rain barrels and solar dryers; and making butter, ice cream and preserves. I am learning to make more informed choices about the food that I eat, the energy I consume, the corporations I do business with, the organizations I’ll support, the causes that I’ll act upon and the future I want to help create.
These are just some of the ways in which I can walk the talk of GALA's mission to translate sustainability education into local action that practical, effective and fun! In the process of this growth and learning, a connection to community and family (my peeps!) has been organically nurtured, and is now blossoming into sharing and guiding with others... Life does not get any richer than this - thank you GALA!!

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

April 9, 2012

Earth week 2010 was a week long community event pack with great ways to learn about lessing your global footprint and sustainability by acting locally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers