Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

My husband and I became a therapy team for Gabriel's Angels a year ago after we went to a breakfast and learned about the remarkable things this organization did to help break the cycle of violence by interacting with children by just visiting them with our dogs and becoming their friends. As soon as we walk in the door everyweek at the Boys & Girls Club he puts a smile on everyone’s face and he’s greeted like a “Rock Star” and they all swarm around him and give him hugs and then he starts putting out his paw for everyone to shake.

We have now truly seen the difference in the way children act and behave when Dakota’s there and we now are a part of those stories that Pam had shared with us the first year we came here. We’ve had kids that were very shy and hiding behind the pillows to now being the first one in the room and helping us bring out the supplies from our bag. When we sit down in a circle we have one girl that loves to lay down by Dakota and he always proceeds to snuggle over by her and lays his head on her chest – I think he knows she needs some extra loving. We know Dakota loves to visit the kids just as much as the kids love to see him because he'll go pull his vest from the bg and lay it on the floor for us to see. He was a rescue dog and I believe he's paying it forward by being a good friend to all our kids we visit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

A few short months ago I joined the marketing committee of Gabriel's Angels. I arrived having worked at or for some [arguably] some of the great companies in the world, from Kraft General Foods where I got my start in marketing to U.S. Trust where I was chief marketing officer. I spent nearly 20 years at Marketing Corporation of America as president division and working along side people with big brains and great ideas. We had big clients. Global clients. I've "rubbed elbows" with titans of industry from John Reed at Citi to Michael Eisner at Disney and witnessed them at work. Working with Pam Gaber, founder of Gabriel's Angel's, her crew and the volunteer teams is as exhilarating as any assignment I've experienced during my career. Recently, my wife and I, along with 1,100 other close friends and family recently attended a breakfast to "Unleash the Love" we all have for this incredible charity. To say the very least, it was a moving experience. We laughed, we cried, we celebrated. The healing pet therapy that these "Angels" bring to over 115 agencies and 13,000 at-risk children is nothing short of remarkable. I am in awe of the dedication and passion each and every person associated with this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have worked for many non-profits in the valley, I have been so impressed with Pam Gaber and her Gabriels Angels. Learning about pet theraphy and it's effect on children has been rewarding and emotional. Working with such a top notch organization has made my role so much easier, I applaud ll they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Overall, such an amazing group of people and charity. To see the type of impact they have on the community, children and just everyone they touch with the pet therapy teams is exactly why I became involved. Pam is also an amazing CEO and person that truly cares about the mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

As a social worker in a prior career I have seen first hand the devastating effects violence, drugs and abuse can have on children. I am also a dog lover and know how amazing and therapeutic an animals attention can be. Gabriel's Angels so effectively puts the two together and helps children overcome obstacles you and I can not even begin to think about. I believe in the work they do, I see how dedicated Pam and her staff are. I am honored to be able to help them continue their mission in any way I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

While I do not have therapy dogs myself, I volunteer at Gabriel's Angels to help them with administrative tasks. The work they do is extraordinary - touching at-risk children's lives every day. The work they do now has a huge impact on the adults these children will grow to become. By working with therapy animals, kids learn about empathy, love and trust, enabling them to lead caring, loving lives instead of one's that continue the cycle of abuse to which they've been exposed. Gabriel's Angels currently help 13,000 children a year. That's 13,000 hearts and lives every year that have been touched by these angels. I am honored to help them in my small way, knowing I am helping to truly change children's lives for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2011

more

April 30, 2011

Once you meet anyone associated with Gabriel's Angels you are hooked! I have the pleasure of working first hand with Pam Gaber, Founder/CEO as she will be the "Celebrate" keynote speaker for the Tempe Chamber of Commerce Women in Business Conference and Trade Show this year. Pam contributes to the community in so many ways and we truly appreciate her sharing her time and talent with us. Her true gift is the wonderful organization that she, along with staff, board of directors and volunteers, has created to change the lives of children and adults.

I proud to be a part of this great organization and look forward to being more involved in the future!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing!

April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

There are many Children and Family non-profit organizations, but the combination of having pets involved with the teaching of children through Gabriel’s Angels is what makes this Non Profit organization so extraordinary.
My wife and I (Pam & Joe) were fortunate in Feb of 2010 to receive our
Golden Retriever, Dakota. Dakota is a “rescued dog” from an Arizona based golden rescue organization. We knew right away that he was a very special animal with a very special, loving disposition. We were then invited to attend the breakfast for Gabriel’s Angels in May 2010. We both attended and learned more about the remarkable work and benefits that Gabriel’s Angels provides to children that are at risk from many emotional and behavioral factors. It was from this breakfast meeting that we committed to ourselves and Dakota that we would become part of the Gabriel’s’ Angel’s therapy team. Together the three of us engaged in the training of Dakota, the certification program as a therapy dog, and the necessary approval process within Gabriel’s Angels. Our diligence and commitment has paid off as we are now an official member of this remarkable organization and actively involved in helping young children at a local Boys and Girls club. What a remarkable and satisfying journey this has been and we look forward to a long term commitment in helping young children through the Gabriel’s Angels program and the passion it has for Arizona communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Therapy Team

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, Pam Gaber and her staff are remarkable

April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

Helping children and helping animals has always been my passion. Gabriel's Angels does both. By using therapy teams ( many of the dogs are rescues) Gabriel's is able to bring love, trust and empathy back to abused and neglected children. The gentle nature of the dogs bring a beautiful, gentle bond that might never have been possible to these poor children.If you've ever felt the warm nuzzle of a dog, or seen the excitement they feel when you greet them or had the chance to hug a dog after a hard day then you know the magic dogs can bring. Imagine what a child feels when Gabriel's Angels arrive, the rush of love they may have suppressed for years, the warmth in their heart they may never have known or the sheer joy a waggy tail can bring.
Gabriel's helps to heal the heart, mind and souls of these inncocent children. I cannot image anything that is more important or more valuable. I am a supporter for life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

From both testimonials, stories and form being involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd place a Gabriel's Angels in every city in our country

April 28, 2011

more

April 28, 2011

Started volunteering with Gabriel's Angels as a mother daughter team with National Charity League. Loved it so got a golden retriever puppy to train to be a therapy team. Guinnes turned a year old and we were certified and ready to go helping kids. We have served 3 different places in the last 2 years and ready to start our 4th working with teenage girls.
Guinness loves his work and so do I!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Love working with Gabriel's Angels, very fulfilling and lots of blessings making a difference with your own dog!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Love this organization, recomend everyone that has a great dog to be a therapy team and if you want to be a helping hand to a team if you don't have a dog that is wonderful too!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers