Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 6, 2014

I absolutely love Future For Kids! I originally started with the non-profit organization as an intern and then continued as a volunteer. I can tell you each one of their employees, board members and volunteers truly care about serving their mission and helping at risk children through academics, athletics and ethics. I was able to work directly with their mission at community centers and also volunteered and assisted in the planning of some of their largest annual events like sports camps and the Monday Night VIP Football Party. I enjoyed all the years I spent volunteering with Future For Kids. I met some amazing people and was thrilled to make a difference in even just one child's life. I'm happy to see they are still pushing strong for this great mission!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Volunteering with youth at Future for KIDS has been amazing! I have really connected with a small group of girls, and each week when I volunteer I look forward to seeing them and catching up on what they have been up to. I find it rewarding to work with kids on homework. You explain concepts to kids in a different way than their teacher and you watch them have an "a-ha" moment where they suddenly get it, and you know that you have contributed to their success. I especially love coming back each semester and the kids remember me and are excited to see me.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I've never felt connected or valued as a volunteer until I started serving with Future for KIDS. They do an amazing job of making you part of the team and connecting you to the resources you need. Each of the women that run it remember your name and information and do all that they can to help you succeed both with the organization and in your own life. They truly exemplify what it means to be a professional in the field. They're able to combine that professionalism with their passion to help kids and young adults into an unstoppable powerhouse of action. They love what they do and it makes you want to do the best that you can to help them in their mission. Truly an amazing organization.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

Future for KIDS is an amazing organization! As a current mentor and intern, I am learning so much every day I spend in the office and out in the field. The other volunteer mentors I have worked with are great people and are so dedicated to the organization. The youth participants show up every week with smiles from ear-to-ear... A true testament to how amazing Future for KIDS is!
July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I absolutely love this nonprofit. I have volunteered for them in every area, from the office to out on the field. It is run by the most hardworking and dedicated women I have ever met and their passion is evident from the moment you step through the door.

If you are looking for an
organization that educates and inspires children then you have found it.

Future for KIDS is so unique in that it focuses on improving each child's skills in not only academics but in their ethical reasoning and in their athletic abilities as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

My great experience with Future for Kids started from an internship program back in 2012. My heart and drive has always been inspired to give, help and reach out. Future for Kids had opened that door in which allowed me to accomplish what my heart had desired all along. As an intern I had the pleasure to work with an amazing group of staff, several after school programs in different pockets of the community, and numerous fundraising events. The opportunity to be a part of this non-profit organization is a rewarding experience and my service to give back is well cherished.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring this program to every school! The focuses of FFK programs are fundamental and vital to our youth. Bringing education, life skills, fitness/sports, mentorship, leadership is the essence of LIFE for everyone and to encourage this in a MACRO level is the IDEAL social need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

My first encounter with FFK was with a volunteer group for homeless children and their families. This group was invited to the FFK summer camp in 2012, and I was a chaperone. From the first time we stepped on the field at ASU, there was nothing but excitement and fun. Each station was filled with sport equipment, volunteers, and even professional and collegiate athletes. The children had an awesome time and I knew on that day that I wanted to be apart of this organization. I was able to speak with Madonna at the camp, and not even 2 months later, I was beginning as a mentor at one of the FFK sites. The program that semester was phenomenal and touched all three of the core values so perfectly. Academics, Athletics, and Ethics were daily topics and I was able to be involved by using these values to create fun and new experiences for the kids. Because of the impact that the kids and the staff had on me that fall, I applied to be an intern for my last semester of my undergraduate career in the spring of 2013. I was able to further touch each child that I worked with before and give the new ones at different sites tools become successful, educated, and fit individuals. I had the privilege to see children become empowered by the services that FFK provides and will serve with them as long as I am able to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2011

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2011

Being an intern for Future for KIDS has been one of the best experiences I have ever had. During my time at Future for KIDS I was able to learn a lot of event planning skills and techniques that have ... more

October 31, 2011

Being a mentor at the Children's First Academy has brought a lot of joy into my life. I have a set group of 10 kids every week that I mentor and feel that I have really bonded with them and I can see how far these kids have come since the first day we started. The Discover Your Future program that Future for KIDS has makes a huge impact on both the community and these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 12, 2011

Being an intern for Future for KIDS has been one of the best experiences I have ever had. During my time at Future for KIDS I was able to learn a lot of event planning skills and techniques that have extended beyond my time at Future for KIDS. Madonna and Rod have taught me more than just how to be a great event planner, they have helped me learn and grow in my personal life as well. This experience was unlike any other and I am very fortunate to have had the opportunity to be an intern at FFK. Future for KIDS has truly does an amazing job and I cannot wait to see the company grow and help out more kids in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've experienced the results in the kids. They love having peer mentors come and spend an afternoon with them teaching them about nutrition and doing exercise. Everytime I walked in their faces would light up and they would always ask me what they were doing that day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything about this organization. They are a well oiled machine. Everyone works together to fundraise and put on great events to help those in need.

September 14, 2011

more

September 14, 2011

I was blessed to be given the opportunity to intern at Future for KIDS in the spring of 2010. It was a life changing experience that caused me to pursue a career in the nonprofit sector. Although I was only with Future for KIDS for a short six months, I was able to learn everything I needed to know about a successful nonprofit organization. I learned fund development through assisting with silent auctions, golf tournaments, and various special events. Myself and another intern even got to design and implement our own charity event that involved Arizona State's student body, which turned out to be extremely successful! Being able to work hands-on with the kids at the after-school programs allowed me to see exactly who we were helping and how much these children benefited from our efforts. Future for KIDS is a special family where all staff, board members, and volunteers are very dedicated and passionate about our mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw results of this organization when mentoring at our partner sites. It was exciting to see all of our behind the scenes efforts pay off at the mentorship programs. The kids were so ecstatic to learn, interact, and most importantly make a healthy snack! Their smiles forever changed me, and remind me what life is all about!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

CHANGE NOTHING!!! This organization has everything together! They do everything in their power to further their mission and goals.

April 19, 2011

more

April 19, 2011

Future for KIDS is an amazing non-profit. I am lucky enough to be a mentor as well as an intern this semester (Spring 2011). As an intern I have learned so much about how non-profits operate and I have also been a part of the planning of the 2011 Sports Camp! Reaching out to future partners and getting the community involved has been very fulfilling. I think it is amazing that so many sponsors support this organization and make it possible to host a FREE sports camp for at-risk youth.

As a mentor to the children Future for KIDS serves, I have been blessed to get know the kids we work to support. At the Discover your Future program that I mentor at on Tuesdays I have formed relationships with the kids and have such a good time interacting with them, teaching them about health and fitness and encouraging them to always do their best and be the best person they can be.

Future for KIDS does it all right. I am so lucky to help serve the mission!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

mentoring. Each child really pays attention to the messages we send and they are always telling me what they did for exercise the previous week and/or how they ate their vegetables. I can really see that the kids enjoy the consistency of mentorship and are always trying improve in their skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more locations of the Discover Your Future program!

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers