Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 16, 2012

I have been with Furry Kids for about 1 1/2 years now and it has been an awesome experience! The volunteers are all very professional and knowledgeable about the rescues they have. They are all very "... more

August 22, 2013

I have been a Volunteer/Foster Mom for Furry Kids for several years now. I don't work a "regular" job due to health reasons, and being involved with this organization has been a BLESSING!! The LOVE and CARE for the animals that is shown by EVERYONE in the group is AWESOME. From the President/Founder of the group all the way down to the Volunteers. We are comprised of mainly Foster homes and have 1 small kennel. Everyone in the group gives 110% into their care, love and helping to raise funds to support the rescue. We are a Non-Profit Organization and depend solely on our dedicated volunteers, fosters and loyal supporters. We have NO paid employees, The volunteers spend their personal time finding FUREVER HOMES for the animals in our program and then go back out to rescue more homeless and desperate animals. As an ALL-Volunteer rescue, we do not have a building for potential adopters to come and meet the animals in our program; we bring the animals to them.
We hold adoption events each Saturday at Lee's Summit Missouri PetCo. Each event requires we physiclly set up an environment that is comfortable not only for the animals we bring out, but also for the potential adopters that come to meet them.
Our group has operated over the past years with funding from friends, family and supporters to pay for veterinary costs, boarding, transportation and food for our rescued animals. The adoption fees we charge go toward recovering a portion of the cost of veterinary care, as you can imagine the fees can not cover all the costs incurred. Donations are small and every penny is used to care for and save these loving pets.
Our organization believes that all animals deserve respect and should be treated with dignity in all circumstances. We strive to have all people share this philosophy, creating a healthier and kinder community for humans and animals alike..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2012

I have been with Furry Kids for about 1 1/2 years now and it has been an awesome experience! The volunteers are all very professional and knowledgeable about the rescues they have. They are all very "hands on" when it comes to working with all the animals. I believe that having our animals in foster homes as opposed to being housed in a shelter gives them (the animals) and us (the volunteers) more one on one time making our animals more socialized and ready to enter a forever home. We are able to see how the animals interact with our family members a well as our own animals. We at Furry Kids have a mission to bring loving families and needy animals together in order to build a healthy bond and a lasting/loving friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Ego's are left at the door with Furry Kids Refuge, as volunteer's are too busy with placing, grooming, training, and loving the "Furry Kids". This is the most unified group I've ever seen! Last summer, a foster got loose and no less than 4 of us "hit" the Independence Animal Shelter to find him and/or spent hours driving around the area the pup was lost ---needless to say we found him. Have never seen a "kid" placed for adoption that wasn't "ready to go", meaning happy and healthy when adopted...nor heard of an animal being turned away. This group is dedicated to the protection and care of these little "refugees" and all of us take this very seriously...Foster care with this group seems very, very special too...these "babies" adore their foster Mom's and Dad's. I am very proud to be a member and hope to do more in the future (meaning fostering)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 27, 2012

more

January 27, 2012

I was honored to become a volunteer of Furry Kids Refuge this year. I have never known a group to work so hard and never complain. I have seen many, many dogs & cats brought back to good health and the group work their tails off at fundraisers to pay the vet bills, and never complain. I have seen this group foster many dogs & cats, sometimes for months, some more difficult than others, and never complain. I have seen this group come to adoption events every week, set up many cages, tables, supplies, and tents, and take it all down and pack it up that night, and never complain. I have seen the pure joy on the faces of each volunteer when they have found the perfect home for one of their dogs or cats, and their have been many, many of them. I am proud and honored to be a member of Furry Kids Refuge.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012

more

January 26, 2012

I have been fostering dogs with Furry Kids Refuge for 5 years. Some of these dogs required many months (and extensive veterinary care) to heal their physical and emotional wounds. But Furry Kids Refuge and their dedicated volunteers never give up on them, and it is so rewarding (and amazing) to see these dogs blossom when given what most of us consider the basics (food, affection and necessary veterinary care). And pictures, emails, phone calls and/or visits from the our former fosters and their "forever families" spur you to take in another dog who just needs to be loved ... and has so much love to give in return.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I have been lucky enough to be a foster mom with Furry Kids' Refuge for over a year now. I have loved every minute of it! The other volunteers, board members, and foster parents are all wonderful and loving people who truly care about the well-being of the animals. I have worked with other rescue groups before but this group exceeds them all. Even while the number of homeless animals seem to keep climbing (and adoption rates may slow down), FKR continues to do their best to help each animal in need. The adoption process is very fair as are the adoption fees because each animal is spay/neutered, heartworm tested (FIV/ Feline Leukemia tested in cats), microchipped and vaccinated before going to their forever home! I'm very proud to continue to be a foster mom for this group!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012

more

January 16, 2012

I have been a foster parent with Furry Kids for about a year now. It started when I adopted a furry kid at their Saturday adoptions at Petco. I was so impressed with the love and dedication all the people involved displayed that I signed up tho foster. It has been a wonderful experience. Everyones main concern is the health and well being of all the animals. There is no facilaty so all the Kids are fostered and have a home environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2012

more

January 16, 2012

Furry Kids' Refuge takes such good care of the animals in their care. They are no-kill, so if an animal needs time to get healthy either physically or emotionally/socially, they give the animal that time - as long as it takes. This is truly an awesome group that I'm proud to be part of.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012

more

January 12, 2012

Furry Kids' Refuge is not a shelter and has no paid employees. They are staffed by an all volunteer team who have jobs, families, and pets of their own. Yet they still manage to save hundreds of homeless and unwanted animals, providing them with the love and care needed, and eventually, a forever home. I have volunteered with Furry Kids since 2008 and I am proud to be associated with this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers