Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.769235
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

Volunteering with Furever Friends Rescue has been a wonderful experience. Shari, Nancy & Amber are all passionate about the mission. I was a little nervous about volunteering for animal rescue, afraid it would be too sad, but instead it is a happy, fun experience. I enjoy the varied tasks and the time to interact with the animals. Each of the volunteers I've met are very dedicated and seem to enjoy their time volunteering, also. It's very rewarding to be a part of helping these animals find homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes that I know of at this time.l

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

Furever friends is an awesome place to volunteer ! The Ladies in charge are so nice and easy to be around. They make sure you know how much they appreciate your help with the pups and cats! For me being able to take the dogs for walks and see those tails waggin is all I need to put a smile on my face. Believe me it will make your day to spend some time at Furever Friends. Come have some fun!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

I have had the opportunity to meet both Shari and Nancy of Furever Friends on several occasions. Their care and concern for the animals they take in is amazing. I have been to their facility multiple times, and I cannot get over how clean it ALWAYS is. Anytime you walk in you are welcomed with a warm hello, and you can just tell how well cared for the animals are. Furever Friends is a blessing to our community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I started volunteering at FFR about a year ago, walking dogs and cleaning kennels on a quiet Friday evening shift. It was hard work but therapeutic after a long week at the office. My impression then was that the volunteer training was well done, the other volunteers were friendly, and the animals were well cared-for.

In the last few months, I have trained for a few more responsibilities. This experience has allowed me to see some other aspects of FFR. I have learned how to be an adoption counselor and interact with the public (I've placed three cats and a dog so far!). I have also helped with some of the administrative support work, setting up folders of information for adopters and assisting with the website.

The changes to my responsibilities have also changed my perspective on this rescue. I have been peripherally involved with rescues for about 10 years (mostly organizing events and raising funds), so I have had many opportunities to see how rescues operate. FFR impresses me. They have a vision that supports the community, rather than just protecting a specific breed. They are also extremely conscientious in the care of the animals, far beyond what I understood with those evening dog walks and mess cleanups. FFR has made special emphasis to correct medical issues that others would have not attempted to fix. Their response to these animals is handled with the utmost urgency, as was clear when I visited one recent evening to take photos of a new cat. I discovered a wound on her, texted a photo, and she was picked up for a visit to the emergency vet 15 minutes later. I'm not sure how many other volunteer organizations would respond that way.

I started volunteering at FFR because I felt bad that my boyfriend had volunteered for the organizers in the past and then didn't step up when they formed FFR. It seemed like a nice thing to do. Now, a year later, I feel like I'm making a real difference in my community and for these animals. I couldn't imagine ever giving it up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see more volunteers join. It can be hectic for a staff of one to three to perform all the animal care activities and spend time with visitors and potential adopters. More volunteers, longer hours, more opportunities to place animals...it would have a great outcome.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013

more

June 1, 2013

The Furever Friends rescue staff at the Petco on Baseline are so rude. We have been there three times to look at the dogs. The first time we went I put my hand on the cage and was told that is not permitted. I completely understand that and have made it a point to not touch since. Today we took my little nieces and a nephew in. I wanted to see if the dog would be compatible with kids for when they come over. The dog was excited and happy to see people. It was barking and jumping up and down. So my nephew was giggling and jumped up and down with the dog trying to play with it. One of staff members stepped in front of the cage (that is how far away we were - enough for an adult to fit between the child and the cage) and started getting in our face and pointing her finger telling us that he can't do that. I was also told that the kids were not respectful to the animals. So my question is this - how are you ever going to let the animals find a good home if no one can even attempt to interact with them?? Very poor judgment on the staff's part - one for not allowing anyone to interact with them and to scold someone's child.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Learn people skills. Allow people to interact with the animals instead of only looking at them as if it were a zoo. The dogs are supposed to become family pets. Not just stared at through a cage.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2012

more

December 9, 2012

Our Family is now Blessed with a new member named CHIP. We had NO intention on adding a new critter to our stable..BUT...we walked into the Adoption area where FUREVER FRIENDS were one great Saturday afternoon and the staff made us feel so welcome that we just had to look. And the next day Chip was in our family for good. They made is so easy to adopt this beautiful boy. The people at FUREVER FRIENDS are amazing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

My sister started volunteering for a small nonprofit startup in Arizona run by three women with only heart, passion and determination. I thought it was your average animal rescue until I began to understand their mission. Anyone who has pets has often worried, "What if something happens to me? What happens to them?" Well, Furever Friends Rescue was born to address that concern. They not only rescue dogs and cats, they give peace of mind to people facing life-altering issues such as entering nursing homes or confronting a life-threatening illness. They remove the burden of worry for the fate of their much beloved 4-legged companions. Furever Friends is there to say, don't worry, we'll take care of them and make sure they find a new warm loving home. That is a huge gift. When I fully understood this, I offered to help and was delighted and honored to become their first board member. I am proud of those three overworked but happy women, and all their committed volunteers. And I am proud to be affiliated with their work. Bravo! Betsy Gude, Director of Development, Council on Foreign Relations, New York, NY

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Furever Friends Rescue is a fabulous organization with caring individuals that not only work hard to save ill-fated dogs and cats in the Phoenix area, but also work hard to bring peace of mind to those who had to relinquish them in the first place due to life’s unexpected events.
As a
volunteer and foster, I have had the opportunity to witness firsthand their dedication and devotion to helping those in need of their talents. Recently, I was able to foster one of their cats and learn its story. This past summer, a man from the Veteran’s Administration contacted Furever Friends about rescuing several cats from a client of his, a Vietnam Veteran in need of medical care; Hospice to be exact. The ladies decided to meet with the man from the VA and see what they could do to help. Upon arriving at home of the veteran, they witnessed the unfortunate conditions the man and his animals had been living in. Nervous, but undaunted these ladies dug in and set about learning what they could of these reclusive pets to determine if they could help. Surveying the animals as best as allowed - all were terrified and in ill health - the ladies of Furever Friends decided to take these cats and do what they could to give them a new life. Once the animals were safely at the Furever Friends adoption center they were finally able to start on their long road to rehabilitation.
After several months of socializing, tenderness and trips to the vet, three guarded felines were finally able the transition info foster care. One Furever Friends volunteer took two of the animals, while I ended up with the third, a spunky orange tabby named Lucky. Despite everything she has been through, Lucky has turned into a very loving animal; accepting affection and gradually letting go of her fear. Although, all three have their ups and downs with trust issues and medical journeys, they continue with their rehab and continue to make progress. All of this was made possible because of the caring nature of Furever Friends Rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Furever Friends Rescue, through the kindess and dedication of Nancy Babos, their founder, reached across the country to help fill a need. On October 31, my family took in a little 4 week old kitten separated from its mother in the cold and roaring winds of the raging storm, Hurricane Sandy on Long Island in New York. "Pumpkin", as we named her, was injured during the storm, most likely by flying debris. Her right eye was ruptured, she had a severe upper respiratory infection, and she was emaciated. While we were glad to nurse her back to health, the idea of keeping her and adding to my current household of 4 cats and tough financial situation seemed unlikely. From across the country in Arizona, Nancy from Furever Friends offered to help find her a home and proper medical care. She diligently made calls and sent emails to local organizations, already overwhelmed by the volume of animals taken in during and in the aftermath of the storm. Nancy made heartfelt pleas on Pumpkin's behalf and arranged for medical assistance for her. I am so grateful for the heart of love shown by Nancy and her fantastic non-profit group. May God forever bless the work that they do and rain blessings upon them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Furever Friends is a professional, well run rescue. Their animals are always clean, healthy, and ready to go to their 'furever' homes!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

In 3 hours a volunteer could feed and walk all our dogs, spend time socializing them, clean the kennel, feed our cats, socialize them, clean their casitas and still have time to speak with the public about adopting one of our pets. Volunteer