Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

My daughter was struggling to read, fortunately for her the teacher had taken classes at FLC and knew the programs there could help her. We were connected with a tutor and the changes have been amazing! The informational programs give parents the tools to advocate for their children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I teach special education and struggled to find a proglearned about FLram to help my struggling readers. When I learned about FLC, I enrolled in their alphabetic phonics class. I was welcomed by the most loving and caring instructors. Over the years, I have experienced this caring over and over. They are truley an amazing bunch of folks who do great things for the struggling readers of Wichita.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

For over 2 years my 9 year old son struggled to learn to read. Always a confident student and person, we began to see his self confidence decline. Several times I asked his classroom teachers and school administrators if he should be tested. Each time I was told no. However, shortly after he started 3rd grade we were told by his teacher that he was reading below 1st grade level and the school was at a "dead end" in knowing how to work with him. By chance I stumbled onto the Fundamental Learning Center and my son has been diagnosed with dyslexia. Through Alphabetic Phonics intervention tutoring he's now learning the skills needed to become a better reader. His stress and frustration levels have been greatly reduced and his self confidence is being rebuilt. The staff at FLC are extremely knowledgeable and supportive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

My daughter has severe dyslexia, and if it hadn't been for the wonderful teachers trained at Fundamental Learning Center, she would not be reading. The public schools in our city refuse to use the research-based curriculum needed to teach a dyslexic to read. If I had not found Fundamental, I'm not sure what would have happened to her. However, with the right help, she is a successful young woman who recently completed her Associate Degree with a 3.6 gpa! Thank you Fundamental!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

FLC saved my daughter and I from a very awful future. She struggled from the beginning of her eductaion and no one could tell me what was wrong with her...until we found FLC. Then it all made perfect sense. She got the remediation that she needed and went on to do great in school!! I owe FLC my and my daughters life. They truly care about the kids and parents. FLC works tirelessly to help all children become the best they can be. Thank you FLC.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Fundamental Learning Center helped to identify my daughter's learning difference- dyslexia-and helped locate the proper tutoring technique that was necessary to enable her to gain confidence in herself and her ability to learn. FLC enlightened me of the genetic basis of dyslexia. I had my other 3 children tested for dyslexia and was able to get them started with their alphabetic phonics tutoring at an earlier age. The employees are always ready, willing and able to help when any questions or challenges arise!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I love this place! I thought my daughter's school issues were due to large class rooms in the public schools so I switched her to a Christian School where I was paying a ridiculous amount of tuition. After she was not improving even after being in the private school environment for 4 years, I had her tested. She was diagnosed with Dysgraphia and ADHD. When I went to the private school for help, they wanted to charge me $280 per month (on top of tuition already paid) to help her. Being a single mother, I was already making a HUGE sacrifice paying private school tuition, so the additional cost was not possible for me. I did some digging around and a good friend told me about Fundamental Learning Center (FUN LC). When I called them, they were helpful and were able to enroll her in their classes quickly. They are so good, in fact, that the private school I had my daughter in didn't even mention Fundamental LC's services to me even though they had trained all their own special education teachers at FUN LC!! They wanted all the money for themselves, of course. But when I got to FUN LC, I was notified of all the different ways I could pay and the cost was less than half what the private school wanted to charge me! I have since pulled my daughter from that greedy private school. She attends a public school and goes to FUN LC everyday after school for one hour. She has massively improved. Now that I don't have to spend half my paycheck on a greedy private school, I pay FUN LC their full tutoring fee...because I can now afford it AND because they deserve every penny of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

If it wasn't for the Fundamental Learning Center and the wonderful teachers that have been trained in the program, my granddaughter would have been left behind another year in school. I'm truly grateful this agency exists and that there's a program/agency dedicated to help. It's very disturbing that the state or the Wichita school district refuses to acknowledge that dyslexia is a problem for so many kids. It’s also a blessing that the FLC offers summer tutoring to help the kids from becoming dormant over the summer months! My hopes are this agency expands and offers an office on the west side too!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

After several year of searching and struggling to find the cause of my son's extreme difficulties in school, we finally were given the diagnosis of severe dyslexia and dysgraphia. With that diagnosis came the recommendation to go to the Fundamental Learning Center (FLC). Our decision to go there was one of the best decisions we ever made. From the beginning, they have been a steady rock in the turbulent seas of helping a child with a learning difference. When, as a mother full of fears and questions for her child, I first called them, they were compassionate and helpful, taking the time to talk with me and answer my questions. When I decided to take the Literacy Intervention Specialist Training that the Center offers so I could work with my son, I received top-rate training. Even now, as I work full-time helping learning different children, I continue to receive encouragement and support from the FLC. I know that I can take any question that I have about my teaching to them and I will receive the help that I need. My son is now in 5th grade and is reading at grade level. I credit his success to the Fundamental Learning Center. They gave me the encouragement and skills I needed to help him.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter, Brianna, was diagnosed with severe dyslexia and dysgraphia in 2008 due to close communication with her 1st grade teacher. Had I not gotten her tested per his suggestion, she would be failing miserably in school. Her medical diagnosis has provided her a 504 accommodation plan for schooling and I am proud to say that in 2011 she passed the KS State Reading Assessment with a score of 100%.

All children deserve the opportunity to be successful in school, but many go undiagnosed. Brianna hopes all children can get the assistance they need to be as successful as her.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our very large mailers that we have periodically, assemble teacher training crates, or special events. Volunteer