Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.902445
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

FCL changes lives. Both of my boys have dyslexia and without FLC’s assistance – well, I’d be up the proverbial creek without a paddle. Thank-you FLC for all that you do.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

They know their stuff! Our son was identified by his 2nd grade teacher as possibly being dyslexic. She suggested we have our son tested at the Fundamental Learning Center to confirm/deny her suspicions. He was tested by Dr. Brian Stone at the Center. He was found to be severly dyslexic and dysgraphic. Dr. Stone's report, though, was a true turning point for our child's self-esteem. Dr. Stone identified our son's learning differences but he also identified the brilliant spacial awareness and problem-solving skills our son posesses (these traits aren't measured on standardized testing.) We feel so fortunate that our son's teacher was trained to identify dyslexia after taking classes at the Center. I can't imagine where he would be now self-esteem-wise and academically if we would have continued down the traditional learning road. Our son has benefitted from summer sessions with the Center (he refers to it as the "Fun Center" because he had such a great experience at the Center) and several years of after-school help by tutors trained through the Center. We've also taken advantage of seminars such as the "Dyslexic Techies" series which helped to make us aware of technological helps for dyslexic students. Our son is now a 7th grader with nearly all A's in a traditional school setting. I want to stress the critical roll the Center has played in our son's academic success and improved self-esteem. Thank you.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

The FLC is such an amazing resource for those who struggle with reading. They offer a wide variety of help and the staff goes to great lengths and self sacrifice out of their compassion for people. FLC helped define the problems my son was having and offered several different options to get him the assistance he needed. I opted to do the training to help him myself and have found the classes to be engaging and the program to be exactly what he needed. I have been impressed with how hard all the staff works for the benefit of the people they serve.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

They are so fabulous (as are all their former and current employees), I still commute between Wichita and San Diego. Words cannot express our gratitude!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has had trouble in a "traditional" school since Kindergarten. We signed her up for the Right Lab Academy school this summer, and we saw a dramatic difference in her attitude toward school immediately. "It is FUN!" she would say when I would pick her up each day. She is involved in multi-sensory learning all day--which means that she is not sitting at a desk doing worksheets, but moving about and learning with all of her senses. She has had a lot of trouble learning to read, which is why we signed her up, but I feel that the total experience of the school is going to be much more suited to her learning style. We have only had six weeks or so of experience so far, but I am excited to see where the rest of the school year goes and how much she begins to learn and grow with her "peers", of which she sees as her equals. She no longer fears learning or being made fun of because she does not "understand". The other children are learning just like her, and it is difficult for all of them. This makes it a better experience for each of them, as they can grow together in a safe learning place where they are nourished and not put down.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people involved. Our local community does little to serve children with dyslexia and/or ADHD and this organization is trying to get the word out to parents and educators about the reality of these disorders and what they mean for the children who are living with them. They have free seminars to help people to see how this affects all people and our society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I had my daughter evaluated in June, It's Aug. and I have yet to receive her evaluation. I also called and left a message inquiring and have never heard back. I think this is out of the norm because I've heard positive feedback from other parents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better follow up.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

We found out last fall that two of our grandchildren have dyslexia, and my daughter and son-in-law immediately wanted to get them the tutoring they needed. It was decided that I would go get the training to become their tutor. I began the process by taking Reading Readiness at the Fundamental Learning Center last fall. The boys have already made progress, and I'm now very excited to use the further training I got this late winter to begin tutoring them using Alphabetic Phonics. Implementing this multi-sensory approach to learning to read, in a systemic, precept upon precept manner is both a fun and successful way to learn to read. The Fundamental Learning Center is making a big difference in children's lives, both in their present and their future. I feel privileged to be a part of this process in my grandsons' lives, and whomever else I may tutor in the future. Thank you, Fundamental Learning Center; the teachers there are great, helpful, and very encouraging to all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 10, 2014

more

March 10, 2014

The information that I learned at the Fundamental Learning Center has given me a new direction! I have been involved in education for 20 years and have never felt as if I was adequately prepared to teach students to read. With the training I received at the Fundamental Learning Center I will now be able to help all of the students I teach become successful readers. This training should be mandatory for all educators at every level, I wish it hadn't taken me so long to find this organization.
March 10, 2014

more

March 10, 2014

I have been in education for 27 years now. I have attended many conferences, trainings and classes. I have to say this was by far, the most informative, organized, and well taught class I have ever attended. To have this information taught to every educator would be so beneficial for all of our students, not just those with dyslexia. Our instructors are experts in their field and delivered the information in an understandable fashion. Well done Fundamental Learning Center!
Janet Ralston
July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

The thrill of watching children being able to actually process what they are reading is such a joy. Education is so important for a person to be healthy. Self esteem and self worth are all a part of being educated. This is so important for everyone in the family. thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Different location

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our very large mailers that we have periodically, assemble teacher training crates, or special events. Volunteer