Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 17, 2013

more

June 17, 2013

The service provided to educators in our area is unmatched! Thank goodness someone has picked up the torch and is lighting the way for all our amazing children who are wired differently, but have so much amazing-ness to offer. Educating the educators who hold the key to unlock this creativity is nothing short of a miracle. Thank you FLC!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

Unbelievable how much my daughter is finally blossoming! Before Fundamental Learning Center she was shutting down at school and NEVER wanted to go. Her teachers at school are already seeing a positive difference in her! She doesn't seem so frustrated! Thank you so much to Fundamental Learning Center!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 24, 2013

more

April 24, 2013

My daughter is dyslexia and couldn't read before attending the FLC and now she can read.
This is a great place for children needing help with reading or math.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I had the opportunity to work in the same organization with Jeanine Phillips over 10 years ago. Little did I know how it would be a life changing opportunity for me personally. As I continued to admire Jeanine's dedication and persistence to educating parents and the public about dyslexia, I soon found myself seeking, at the time, her newly founded organizations expertise for our own daughter. After successfully attending two years of Montessori Preschool and a year in Montessori Kindergarten in a private school, our daughter entered a traditional setting in First Grade. Within six months of First Grade she began having behavorial and non-compliant issues. We were advised it may be in our best interest to have our daughter tested for learning challenges. Fundamental Learning Center recommended Dr. Brian Stone for testing and our journey began with diagnosis of dyslexia, dysgraphia, and auditory processing issues. We transfered to our hometown public edcuation system in Andover, Kansas and immediately began early intervention as suggested by Dr. Brian Stone and Fundamental Learning Center. Having been exposed to Jeanine Phillips passion and attending various presentations of hers over the years, we probably had a better understanding of what we were faced with than most parents would have had at that time. From putting an R & L on our daughters respective hands as she learned to play basketball; to using coffee beans, sand, markers and paper to make visual props for learning to read and recognize letters; to labeling everything in the house so she could visually see how to spell the object; trace it with her finger; see it; touch it; read it; whatever it took to stimulate her love of learning; we embraced her creative learning style. Today our daughter is a successful 16 year old who enjoys life; embraces others and their differences and loves encouraging her friends to be the best they can be. Our fondest memory of this journey thus far will forever be finding various objects around our farm labeled in magic marker Mom's or Dad's as she determined what belonged to whom. Someone now owns a Dixon lawnmower we sold labeled "Dad's". Thank you Jeanine Phillips and Fundamental Learning Center for pushing for education and understanding of the creative and fascinating ability; Dyslexia. MichelleS

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I wish I could put into words what the Fundamental learning center has done for my 3 sons, all of which have dyslexia and all have been through the Fundamental learning center. They can all read now and are doing fine in school thanks to the Fundamental learning center, but it did not stop there. We had alot of battles with usd 259 and the fundamental learning center was there with us every step of the way. I can tell you that I know my sons would not have made it this far without the help of the Fundamental learning center, report cards with A's all the time. Because the fundamental learning center taught my sons to read when the schools failed to. Thank you Fundamental learning center Thank you

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

My daughter was struggling to read, fortunately for her the teacher had taken classes at FLC and knew the programs there could help her. We were connected with a tutor and the changes have been amazing! The informational programs give parents the tools to advocate for their children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I teach special education and struggled to find a proglearned about FLram to help my struggling readers. When I learned about FLC, I enrolled in their alphabetic phonics class. I was welcomed by the most loving and caring instructors. Over the years, I have experienced this caring over and over. They are truley an amazing bunch of folks who do great things for the struggling readers of Wichita.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

For over 2 years my 9 year old son struggled to learn to read. Always a confident student and person, we began to see his self confidence decline. Several times I asked his classroom teachers and school administrators if he should be tested. Each time I was told no. However, shortly after he started 3rd grade we were told by his teacher that he was reading below 1st grade level and the school was at a "dead end" in knowing how to work with him. By chance I stumbled onto the Fundamental Learning Center and my son has been diagnosed with dyslexia. Through Alphabetic Phonics intervention tutoring he's now learning the skills needed to become a better reader. His stress and frustration levels have been greatly reduced and his self confidence is being rebuilt. The staff at FLC are extremely knowledgeable and supportive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

My daughter has severe dyslexia, and if it hadn't been for the wonderful teachers trained at Fundamental Learning Center, she would not be reading. The public schools in our city refuse to use the research-based curriculum needed to teach a dyslexic to read. If I had not found Fundamental, I'm not sure what would have happened to her. However, with the right help, she is a successful young woman who recently completed her Associate Degree with a 3.6 gpa! Thank you Fundamental!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I had tried different types of homeschool curriculum to help my daughter, but it wasn't until I went through the training to become a Literary Intervention Specialist that I began to understand what her issues were and how I could help her. While I was only able to use the early part of the program with her, I have continued to tutor other children and am amazed at the results. I have seen them go from barely being able to sound out a word to spelling and reading multi-syllable words. It is very rewarding to work with these children using this program and they do not get bored because of the multi-sensory aspect. I tell other parents my regret at not finding the Center earlier and urge them to be pro-active with their children at an early age. The staff at Fundamentals are top-notch and vested in the goal that all children be able to read fluently.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our very large mailers that we have periodically, assemble teacher training crates, or special events. Volunteer