Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.902445
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

My son was always a good student but struggled with English classes and writing assignments I was aware that he had tracking problems, dysgraphia, and ADD since I have a degree in education. Each year the battle for accommodations in public school got harder. One counselor in middle school even told me to stop asking for accommodations if I expected my son to go to college because he wouldn't get accommodations there. Particularly, some English teachers either did not want to grant accommodations or provide them once the IEP was signed. I truly felt like the educational cards were stacked against us. Initially, I turned to the Fundamental Learning Center, Inc. to ask if they could help me advocate for my sons rights for accommodations. The staff members I spoke with gave me the information and encouragement I needed to persevere in the IEP gauntlet. It was also suggested that it might be helpful to have my son formally evaluated. I was shocked when the results revealed he had dyslexia. How did I, an education major, not recognize he had dyslexia! The answer is, highly intelligent children compensate so well that many educators miss the signs of dyslexia. Also, public school doesn't want to accommodate students who aren't failing. That's why it is imperative that parents with educational concerns seek the kind of qualified, professional help offered by the Fundamental Learning Center, Inc. With their assistance, documentation, and encouragement,I was armed with irrefutable information that enabled me to fight for the necessary accommodations my son was entitled to. Also, the master's level course on teaching language skills that I took at the learning center enabled me to bring him up to grade level and beyond even though I was told he would probably never be able to have the same language skills as his peers. When my son enrolled in college, he was granted every single accommodation we asked for. This would not have happened without the help we received from the learning center. My son made straight A's the last two years of high school. He is now a senior at KU and still making straight A's in engineering. It's a good thing I didn't pay any attention to the idiot public school teacher who said my son was just too lazy to do his assignments. I know many other parents who got tired of fighting the system so they just gave up on I.E.P.s for their child. Without the help of the Fundamental Learning Center, Inc., I might have been one of them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make the Fundamental Learning Center, Inc. bigger. I would also like them to explore the possibility of school certification so students who are struggling in public school could take English courses through them for credit or online through them for credit. This would eliminate the accommodations battle.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter has had trouble in a "traditional" school since Kindergarten. We signed her up for the Right Lab Academy school this summer, and we saw a dramatic difference in her attitude toward school immediately. "It is FUN!" she would say when I would pick her up each day. She is involved in multi-sensory learning all day--which means that she is not sitting at a desk doing worksheets, but moving about and learning with all of her senses. She has had a lot of trouble learning to read, which is why we signed her up, but I feel that the total experience of the school is going to be much more suited to her learning style. We have only had six weeks or so of experience so far, but I am excited to see where the rest of the school year goes and how much she begins to learn and grow with her "peers", of which she sees as her equals. She no longer fears learning or being made fun of because she does not "understand". The other children are learning just like her, and it is difficult for all of them. This makes it a better experience for each of them, as they can grow together in a safe learning place where they are nourished and not put down.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people involved. Our local community does little to serve children with dyslexia and/or ADHD and this organization is trying to get the word out to parents and educators about the reality of these disorders and what they mean for the children who are living with them. They have free seminars to help people to see how this affects all people and our society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I had my daughter evaluated in June, It's Aug. and I have yet to receive her evaluation. I also called and left a message inquiring and have never heard back. I think this is out of the norm because I've heard positive feedback from other parents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better follow up.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

We found out last fall that two of our grandchildren have dyslexia, and my daughter and son-in-law immediately wanted to get them the tutoring they needed. It was decided that I would go get the training to become their tutor. I began the process by taking Reading Readiness at the Fundamental Learning Center last fall. The boys have already made progress, and I'm now very excited to use the further training I got this late winter to begin tutoring them using Alphabetic Phonics. Implementing this multi-sensory approach to learning to read, in a systemic, precept upon precept manner is both a fun and successful way to learn to read. The Fundamental Learning Center is making a big difference in children's lives, both in their present and their future. I feel privileged to be a part of this process in my grandsons' lives, and whomever else I may tutor in the future. Thank you, Fundamental Learning Center; the teachers there are great, helpful, and very encouraging to all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 10, 2014

more

March 10, 2014

The information that I learned at the Fundamental Learning Center has given me a new direction! I have been involved in education for 20 years and have never felt as if I was adequately prepared to teach students to read. With the training I received at the Fundamental Learning Center I will now be able to help all of the students I teach become successful readers. This training should be mandatory for all educators at every level, I wish it hadn't taken me so long to find this organization.
March 10, 2014

more

March 10, 2014

I have been in education for 27 years now. I have attended many conferences, trainings and classes. I have to say this was by far, the most informative, organized, and well taught class I have ever attended. To have this information taught to every educator would be so beneficial for all of our students, not just those with dyslexia. Our instructors are experts in their field and delivered the information in an understandable fashion. Well done Fundamental Learning Center!
Janet Ralston
July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

As a teacher I have experienced many training situations. I have often questioned the validity and necessity of those training experiences. This was NOT the case, however, at Fundamental Learning Center. I received knowledge and tools that I can use immediately in my classroom. It was one of the best educational experiences I have ever had! It will help me to be a better teacher; however, it will do so much more for my students!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

The strategies I learned through my class at the Fundamental learning center will be incredibly valuable for my students. The teachers were so passionate about what they were teaching which transferred to those of us in the class.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

The thrill of watching children being able to actually process what they are reading is such a joy. Education is so important for a person to be healthy. Self esteem and self worth are all a part of being educated. This is so important for everyone in the family. thank you

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Different location

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

Fundamental Learning Center helped me learn how to teach better. With Semple Math, Multi-Sensory Grammar and Spelling and Reading, I have tools that put learning literally into the hands of my students. It is a great place for education!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it available to everyone and add more technology.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our very large mailers that we have periodically, assemble teacher training crates, or special events. Volunteer