Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.902445
Write A Review
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

I have been affiliated with Fundamental Learning Center since its beginning. I was the Director of Operations for 18 months and am now serving my second term on the Board. FLC has been and continues to be the answer for so many children who are struggling to learn to read, write and spell. Parents who have sought answers to their children's inability to read, are relieved when they finally get help for their children at FLC.

Last year, FLC "upped the ante" to provided much-needed service to struggling readers when it opened "Right Academy", a school for these students. This initiative continues to gain momentum as the school's enrollment tripled this year.

I intend to stay connected to FLC as long as I'm physically and mentally able.

Brownsugar1414
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I agreed to come on the Board of Directors of the Fundamental Learning Center, Inc., Wichita, KS in January 2014. I had very little knowledge of the work of the corporation but after learning of their mission, I agreed to a 3 year term on the Board. I was informed that I would need to serve on one committee. After three months, I found myself on four committees, Executive, Finance, Governance, and Facilities Development. I chair the Facilities Development Committee.

During this short period of time, I have found that Jeanine Phillips, Executive Director has an enormous passion to serve the 5-8 year old children that are dyslexic and have a severe problem of reading, writing, and spelling. That passion has been very addictive to her staff as they too are highly committed to serve these young people. The teaching staff also are committed to training teachers, from the public and private schools, to teach young children in their own classrooms.

The majority of the Board of Directors are Mothers or Fathers of dyslexic children. I bring a different prospective to the Board in that I was Vice President for Administration and Finance at Wichita State University for 45 years and Senior Vice President for another 5 years prior to my retirement. Given my 50 years as an administrator I have experienced various degrees of passion for individual performances and I would place the FLC staff at the top of the class for the passion that is shown for their respective assignments. Without reservation, I would request the highest rating possible for this organization.

Roger D. Lowe, Father, Grandfather, Great Grandfather, and
Vice President Emeritus
Wichita State University
Home 316.634.2060
Cell 316.644.9408
roger.lowe@wichita.edu
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

FCL changes lives. Both of my boys have dyslexia and without FLC’s assistance – well, I’d be up the proverbial creek without a paddle. Thank-you FLC for all that you do.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

They know their stuff! Our son was identified by his 2nd grade teacher as possibly being dyslexic. She suggested we have our son tested at the Fundamental Learning Center to confirm/deny her suspicions. He was tested by Dr. Brian Stone at the Center. He was found to be severly dyslexic and dysgraphic. Dr. Stone's report, though, was a true turning point for our child's self-esteem. Dr. Stone identified our son's learning differences but he also identified the brilliant spacial awareness and problem-solving skills our son posesses (these traits aren't measured on standardized testing.) We feel so fortunate that our son's teacher was trained to identify dyslexia after taking classes at the Center. I can't imagine where he would be now self-esteem-wise and academically if we would have continued down the traditional learning road. Our son has benefitted from summer sessions with the Center (he refers to it as the "Fun Center" because he had such a great experience at the Center) and several years of after-school help by tutors trained through the Center. We've also taken advantage of seminars such as the "Dyslexic Techies" series which helped to make us aware of technological helps for dyslexic students. Our son is now a 7th grader with nearly all A's in a traditional school setting. I want to stress the critical roll the Center has played in our son's academic success and improved self-esteem. Thank you.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

I have been on the board of Fundamental Learning Center for five years now and my passion for teaching children with dyslexia to read continues to grow. My own educational background is both teaching and school psychology. I taught for several years before starting a long career as a school psychologist. I worked both positions within our local public school district where these special children continue to fail in the acquisition of even basic reading skills. The methods of instruction taught to teachers at Fundamental Learning Center are very solid and grounded in research. The survival of this organization is critical. Much work has been done, but much work still lies ahead. These children are our future. We cannot fail them.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

The FLC is such an amazing resource for those who struggle with reading. They offer a wide variety of help and the staff goes to great lengths and self sacrifice out of their compassion for people. FLC helped define the problems my son was having and offered several different options to get him the assistance he needed. I opted to do the training to help him myself and have found the classes to be engaging and the program to be exactly what he needed. I have been impressed with how hard all the staff works for the benefit of the people they serve.
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

I was trained as a reading therapist by the founder of Fundamental Learning Center. I used that training to work with language learning different students (mainly dyslexic) for 17 years. The thrill of seeing a non-reader become a reader by using the Orton-Gillingham based program that FLC offers is immeasurable. The founder and director of FLC is a truly dedicated and tireless advocate for children struggling to read, write and spell. Fundamental Learning Center is definitely an oasis in a desert of
misguided reading instruction techniques.


August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

I took classes at FLC to be able to tutor my grandson. The instructors at FLC are excellent and very committed to helping each and every one perform to the highest level possible. After two years my grandson is reading at his grade-level and has an excellent vocabulary!
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

This is a great resource! Individuals that feel lost or alone while trying to help their child or student with dyslexia should come here.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

They are so fabulous (as are all their former and current employees), I still commute between Wichita and San Diego. Words cannot express our gratitude!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with our very large mailers that we have periodically, assemble teacher training crates, or special events. Volunteer