Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
January 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Front Range Equine Rescue does a lot to help horses in need. But what may be more important is that they do a lot to educate people about proper horse care, offer incentives to stop backyard breeding and assistance for euthanasia. These programs do so much extra to help end the problem of horse abuse and neglect.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an equine veterinarian and I have had a lot of experience with many equine rescues over the last 15 years. Front Range Equine Rescue has been consistently ethical, dependable, and diligent in their mission to stop the abuse and neglect of horses. They take in these amazing creatures that have been wronged by humans and work with other equine professionals to evaluate their health and quality of life. A plan is then made for each of them. Many get to live out their lives at this rescue with excellent care, compassion and a clean environment. Some of these horses require expensive medication to be healthy or sound, and Hillary always says to me "If that's what this horse needs, that is what this horse gets." Some of these horses are rehabilitated and placed in forever homes. Unfortunately, some of them are just given the humane euthanasia that they have needed for a long time...a gift given to them by people they just met. This is a mission that is amazing and rewarding, yet heart-wrenching and difficult. I respect them immensely and their work is so appreciated in our community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2012

more

January 22, 2012

I work extensively in the animal welfare and animal law field, and Front Range Equine Rescue is one of those amazing nonprofits that focuses its mission and direction, and knows what it is about and what it wants to do. Its work in rescue, in advocacy, and in education are some of the best out there. And it combines all of that action work with the most important work of all -- saving, fostering and adopting out individual horses in need. The save the neglected and fight to stop the abuses of horses around America. And one of the really great aspects of Front Range is its willingness to work with other groups, and its ability to get along with all reasonable players and positions. All around, I can't give Front Range a higher rating or say more about the group except they are the best!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering for FRER in 1998. I learned a great deal about horse care, auctons, breeding,abuse and neglect by working with the horses and with HIlary Wood, the founder. Our family got involved by fostering horses at our house. We were taught natural horseman techniques so we could be rehabilitating horses while they were here. My daughter had a place to volunteer from age 6-today. She won a scholarship by volunteering so many hours through Kohl's Kids Who Care. We now run horse camps in the summer to teach FRER's mission to the children: to stop the neglect and abuse of horses through education. This non-profit not only benefits local horses but reaches out to horses across our country as well aas the wild herds being rounded up. We partner with The Cloud Foundation on many horse related issues. Presently we are focusing on the inhumane practice of horse slaughter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Front Range Equine Rescue goes beyond taking horses out of abusive and neglectful situations. They work further by rehabilitating and retraining them to better their chances of being successful in new homes. It is also important that Front Range shares education regarding horse slaughter and have a support for the wild horse campaign. Equally as important to all the above, Front Range Equine Rescue has for owner assistance programs. Stop-the-backyard breeder, Trails end, Fire/disaster evacuation and horse owner assistance.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an equine veterinarian that has worked with Front Range Equine Rescue for several years. FRER provides an exemplary level of care to each of the many horses that come to the rescue. Horses arriving at the rescue in poor condition receive excellent dietary and veterinary care to return them to health. Front Range addresses physical and behavioral issues in order to give the horses the best possible quality of life and chance of a good life in a new adoptive home. A great deal of time, money, and energy is dedicated giving each horse the best possible chance at a comfortable life. Each horse is thoroughly evaluated by veterinarians and professional trainers. Physical problems are addressed with several modes of therapy – special shoeing or trimming, Legend injections, chiropractic, acupuncture, dentistry, etc. Each horse is handled regularly and professional training, as appropriate for each horse’s physical limitations, ensures the horse’s mental well-being and adoptability.
Front Range Equine Rescue also provides several outreach programs to benefit horses. Front Range hosts a number of owner-education programs, from an Equine Education Day to day camps for future generations of horse owners. In addition, Front Range provides financial assistance programs for castrations and humane euthanasia.
I am proud to be associated with Front Range Equine Rescue. This organization has a well-deserved excellent reputation and helps many horses and horse owners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved off and on as a volunteer in several roles as well as a temporary foster facility since their early days. I am consistantly impressed with the genuine caring and professionalism of this group to not only help save as many neglected and abused horses as they responsibly can, but also on their quest to educate people on proper care and understanding of the animals. This includes initiating several proactive programs to help reduce the impact of backyard breeding and unnecessary slaughter. Any horse lucky enough to find themselves rescued by FRER is guaranteed to be given the best of health and nutritional care and placed into a well matched home. Any time I have visited their facility it has been very clean and safely organized, and the horses have plenty of room for exercise and grazing. I have several friends who have adopted rescue horses, and it is just amazing how these animals seem to know and appreciate the second chance they have been given for a better life. The resulting bonds are heart warming indeed! This is a first class organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at Front Range rescue every week for many years now, plus I have fostered two of the rescue horses at my own barn. I have always been very, very impressed with the ethics and care of the horses. I have seen other rescue facilities that were very under par on both ethics and care. Hilary who manages the Front Range Rescue does an excellant job of keeping the facility clean in every respect. She has a great volunteer crew who clean stalls and freshen water twice a day. The horses are very well fed and have excellant shelter. I am mostly impressed with her constant medical care of all of the horses. She has many professionals working with them, and these horses come in with multiple health and physical issues. They are givien immediate attention with whatever they need. At the same time, I respect her ability to let a horse be put down if it has unsurmountable problems and suffering. She always has the best interest of the horse in mind, and does not need to go to heroic lengths to keep them alive if pain and suffering cannot be relieved. I am also very impressed with her standards for adopting a horse out. Certain criteria have to be met and Front Range follows up on all adopotions. Even foster homes, such as mine, have her constant attention for medical issues, food and supplies. Hilary is very accessable whether you are adopting, fostering, or volunteering. She also works to restore behaviour and rideability with the horses by the trainers who work with them. Safety is a major issue. Actually I can't say enough about this organization and its management. Even if hard pressed, I could not think of any critcism. It really is a model to be put out there for how to manage a horse rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Front Range Equine Rescue was started in 1997 and has helped thousands of horses with its rescue and special program work. Countless other horses benefit from its national educational work with regard to educating the public about horse abuse/neglect, proper horse care, owner responsibility, a strong anti-slaughter campaign and save the wild horses campaign. Innovative programs reflect this organization's mission to end the abuse/neglect of horses. In 2002, a "stop the backyard breeder" program was launched to provide partial reimbursement for gelding stud colts/stallions. In 2007, a "trails end" program was initiated to provide partial reimbursement for humane euthanasia when necessary. In 2010, Front Range reached out to responsible horse owners (on a local/regional level) with horse owner assistance programs funded by grants. These programs offer a one-time assist to responsible owners facing financial difficulty with either hay/feed or basic vet care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a professional horse trainer and I have worked with several rescues over the past 10 years--including serving on the Board of Directors for another horse rescue, which is now closed. I have worked directly with FRER since March of 2006. I started out helping train and assess a few horses at a time and this grew into my becoming their Adoption and Training Coordinator in late 2007. In 2010, I was asked to join the Board of Directors. I have been directly involved in many aspects of the work FRER does including fundraising, educational events, the rescue and rehabilitation of abused and neglected horses, and the hay and owner assistance programs they offer, FRER is very dedicated to the care of each horse they bring in as well as offering many different programs, many of which are offered on a national level. They have been running a very successful Stop the Backyard Breeder program for many years which helps with a portion of the cost of having a stud gelded, as well as a Trails End program which offers help with euthanasia for a horse. FRER also offers owners assistance with hay costs in these difficult economic times. Along with these programs, FRER is a strong advocate for ending horse slaughter and for preserving America's wild horses. I am proud to part of such am amazing horse rescue and I highly recommend FRER to anyone I know that is looking for a horse to adopt a horse, horse owners that need assistance with gelding or euthanasia or anyone looking for a non-profit to donate or volunteer with. Front Range Equine Rescue has far exceeded my expectations of what a horse can be--and they are not done developing new ways to help the horses!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers