Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

Fristers is an amazing group for young Moms of all walks of life to meet and be encouraged as women, mothers, and role models. The benefit of growing into a balanced woman through the carefully selected weekly topics done at Fristers grows these young Moms in four important areas of their life: spiritually, emotionally, mentally, and physically, resulting in a balanced woman enabled & empowered to nurture and care for their own child(ren). Fristers is such a valuable program and personally, it is not only rewarding to volunteer and share this journey with the young Moms that attend, but it is also a personal reward to continue to grow as a Mom myself - as woman and Mother. I strongly encourage young Moms to attend and gain strength, guidance, and growth through Fristers. I also invite Moms that have a heart to lead and share to volunteer alongside us to see all the the "good" we can achieve when we serve & grow together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first started at Fristers as an intern last Fall then I began driving the girls to Mariners in the Spring. Fristers is a great program for empowering young moms and providing a support base for them and their children. Fristers not only helps the moms and children but it helps those who volunteer each week become a better person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I recently served as the Business Administrative intern at the Fristers office, located in Newport Beach. I also spent time at the Fristers program in both Irvine and Santa Ana. I have nothing but amazing things to say about Fristers! The program is so wonderful. Fristers brings teen mothers the opportunity to encourage and empower one another, giving them a safe place and a group of exceptional individuals to call their home and family. Many of the teen moms that Fristers services are struggling, both physically, emotionally, mentally, and are in a great need of resources. So many of these teen mothers come from poverty, broken families, dangerous relationships, etc. The program that Fristers offers for these girls is truly a life-changing opportunity to every teen mother that steps through the door. Fristers works extremely hard every single week to coordinate rides for mothers without transportation, provide meals for both mothers and children, free childcare services, guest speakers with powerful, encouraging messages, and so many other resources. Fristers is unlike any other non-profit program in existence, today. Fristers is truly an inspiring organization, full of wonderful people that are simply looking to make a positive difference in the lives of teen mothers and their children here in Southern California.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I have had the amazing opportunity to serve as Fristers' videographer for the last few years. I have video taped numerous meeting sessions and seen, both personally and through the camera's eye, the amazing impact this organization is having on young women's lives. I have also served as a driver, and a speaker, which has enriched my perspective of the young women served by Fristers. I know that this organziation is making a difference to young women who might not otherwise receive the support, resources and love they get from Fristers. Fristers addresses the needs of these young moms and I have no doubt that investing in the lives of the women will have the rippple effect of improving the lives of their children and of generations to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

My Mom was only 18 when I was born and I wish she had found a place like Fristers, her life and my childhood could have been so much better, much pain and heartbreak could have been avoided. She did not have good parenting skills, was really immature, lonley and did not know how to deal with a baby and how to better her own life. Being a volunteer for 3 seasons I can truly say the support and empoverment the young Moms experience at Fristers is truly life transforming. They find love and acceptance and gain a sense of worse for their soul and joy! All the teaching lessons a geared to equip them for life with a child and growing as women. Being young and having a baby can be overwhelming in many ways but with Fristers they really have a way better chance to improve their lives and with this the lives of their children. Fristers rocks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at Fristers that has an opportunity to work with the girls. They are inspired by the information, acitvities and programs they participate in. I see empowered young women involved in this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

I'm Fristers Child-care director and I love my job! I started off as an intern awhile back and was asked if I would like to volunteer and run the day-cares while the mom's attended the program. SInce I enjoyed it so much as an intern I gladly accepted the position. While we have the children in the day care we feed them dinner, always have an activitiy for them to engage in and myself as well as other volunteers play and interact with the children in other ways such as reading or just listening to them talk. I think this program is a wonderful program to help moms become more educated in taking care of their children. I believe it makes them stronger women, more educated women, and it helps them believe in themselves. I think that Fristers helps the moms become very well rounded women and helps them have a bigger brighter future. I volunteer at fristers all 3days and I love when 5:45 comes around and it's time to attend the program. I think this is a wonderful program for all moms who need some guideance, love and friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

I have been volunteering with Fristers for 7 years. The goal of the organization is to empower teen moms to be better parents and to improve their lives. The girls receive classes on parenting, instructions on how to interview for a job, how to set goals for themselves, how to improve their self esteem. They are mentored and loved each week-they are feed, their children are cared for and fed as well. I have enjoyed working with this group and have seen the results. Lives have been changed. Many of the girls have completed their GED, enrolled in college, obtained jobs and improved their parenting skills. Watching them grow and improve their lives has been a joy to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

This non-profit organization is geared towards empowering young mothers for life. Providing parenting education, personal growth, and hope for a bright future. I have volunteered with Fristers for 10 years and have served in various capacities. I was a teen mother and I wish that there was a program like this when I was a struggling single teen parent. I made so many mistakes and felt alone daily. I became depressed and angry. I was lost as a teen mom and my child suffered with me. I had needs beyond food and shelter, I had emotional needs. I needed support, encouragement, unconditional love, understanding, wisdom, and parenting education. Fristers provides all of this plus resources for food, shelter, education ect.. It's the most amazing experience to be able to help a teen mom get plugged into this program and see thier lives transform. This program is a gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I was an unwed mother at the age of 17 when I gave birth to my daughter. I felt very ashamed, judged and shunned by my church which, was very conservative. I didn't understand then why I made some of the choices I made that impacted my life immensely until years later. I wanted to help girls like me not feel so alone. I wanted to be apart of something that would encourage, nurture and empower a young mom to be more than a statistic. To love her and know life is not over and she does have a chance to live a life of grace, truth and beauty. I wish I had FRISTER'S when I was in that situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help children learn their letters and numbers; help celebrate moms birthdays by bringing in a birthday cake or cupcakes; mentor a mom Volunteer