Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

I'm Fristers Child-care director and I love my job! I started off as an intern awhile back and was asked if I would like to volunteer and run the day-cares while the mom's attended the program. SInce I enjoyed it so much as an intern I gladly accepted the position. While we have the children in the day care we feed them dinner, always have an activitiy for them to engage in and myself as well as other volunteers play and interact with the children in other ways such as reading or just listening to them talk. I think this program is a wonderful program to help moms become more educated in taking care of their children. I believe it makes them stronger women, more educated women, and it helps them believe in themselves. I think that Fristers helps the moms become very well rounded women and helps them have a bigger brighter future. I volunteer at fristers all 3days and I love when 5:45 comes around and it's time to attend the program. I think this is a wonderful program for all moms who need some guideance, love and friendship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2012

more

June 2, 2012

I have been volunteering with Fristers for 7 years. The goal of the organization is to empower teen moms to be better parents and to improve their lives. The girls receive classes on parenting, instructions on how to interview for a job, how to set goals for themselves, how to improve their self esteem. They are mentored and loved each week-they are feed, their children are cared for and fed as well. I have enjoyed working with this group and have seen the results. Lives have been changed. Many of the girls have completed their GED, enrolled in college, obtained jobs and improved their parenting skills. Watching them grow and improve their lives has been a joy to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

This non-profit organization is geared towards empowering young mothers for life. Providing parenting education, personal growth, and hope for a bright future. I have volunteered with Fristers for 10 years and have served in various capacities. I was a teen mother and I wish that there was a program like this when I was a struggling single teen parent. I made so many mistakes and felt alone daily. I became depressed and angry. I was lost as a teen mom and my child suffered with me. I had needs beyond food and shelter, I had emotional needs. I needed support, encouragement, unconditional love, understanding, wisdom, and parenting education. Fristers provides all of this plus resources for food, shelter, education ect.. It's the most amazing experience to be able to help a teen mom get plugged into this program and see thier lives transform. This program is a gift.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

I was an unwed mother at the age of 17 when I gave birth to my daughter. I felt very ashamed, judged and shunned by my church which, was very conservative. I didn't understand then why I made some of the choices I made that impacted my life immensely until years later. I wanted to help girls like me not feel so alone. I wanted to be apart of something that would encourage, nurture and empower a young mom to be more than a statistic. To love her and know life is not over and she does have a chance to live a life of grace, truth and beauty. I wish I had FRISTER'S when I was in that situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2012

more

June 1, 2012

This is such an amazing organization! I was in intern here through Cal State Fullerton spring of 2012. Anyone would be lucky to volunteer, intern, or even be involved in the program. Not only do i feel that this organization can help students like myself get ready to work with kids hands on, but it is also a wonderful chance for other young moms to meet people who know there struggles first hand. I have recommended to many of my young friends with children to start this program. Friends and sisters for life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

Fristers has been life changing for me. I started going in January of 2011 when my son was five months old and have been going ever since. I met great people and have a fun time every week. I learn lots of new skills. For example, I learned about how to deal with temper tantrums and good nutrition. I feel confident to be a young mom and I know that I am not alone. I have lost my previous friends that I had before I got pregnant but Fristers has allowed me to make new friends. Fristers provides childcare which allows me to go without worrying about who will babysit my son. I feel good that he is getting social interaction too. I love the new friends that I met there. Fristers has given me the confidence to speak to high school students around the area about being a young mom. I always feel uplifted when I come home from Fristers. I can't wait for September to go every Wednesday but I am looking forward to the awesome summer activities that they are having. Fristers is an amazing program and I highly recommend it to other young moms. It also seems like a great place to volunteer. I am so thankful for all those that helped start Fristers and those that are helping it keep going.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

I volunteered with the infants at Frister's and absolutely loved working with the children. This expierence was completely life changing because I got to see a different view. i had a great time each week and always looked forward to coming and helping out every week.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I was excited to come each week to help take care of the children. I felt happy every week and also felt like I was helping out the mother's by just giving them somme time off to take for themselves.

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

"Fristers" my life has changed thanks to this program not only me but my family! it has shown me how to be a better mom and believe in myself. fristers empowered me to be a better person gave me a lift to go back to school and set up goals in my life. Thank you sooo much for this program i can hardly wait for wednesdays to come and be there . Thanks You and God Bless, Carol Payan

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012

more

May 31, 2012

Fristers has completely changed my life! Made me the womean i am today and a better mother to my son! They have given me support and cofidence! I have made so many friends there! Without fristers i dont know where i would be today!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help children learn their letters and numbers; help celebrate moms birthdays by bringing in a birthday cake or cupcakes; mentor a mom Volunteer