Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 10, 2012

more

June 10, 2012

I have served Fristers as a volunteer for 4 years now. Each year I have served in a variety of positions. Driver, Meal provider, Table leader, Speaker, and Case Manager. My role as Case Manager propelled me to a place of influence that was able to listen to each mom's story of need and provide information as well as compassion to help project them into a healthier lifestyle. it was in this position I realized the deep struggles these young mothers face. They live in our neighborhoods, shop at our stores and play in our parks, but they have their own culture which needs to be addressed and realigned. I love serving these girls, and working with the volunteers. Every single week I leave with tremendous joy knowing I am doing a valuable work. This year we graduated a group of moms that have been with us since the beginning. They are ready to move out into the world with great expectation. What an honor to know where they have come from, and what we have done to help them. Their testimonies are ours as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

more

June 9, 2012

Fristers is an organization that guides, nurtures, and offers life training courses for young teen moms.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

I have enjoyed each part of Fristers I've been a volunteer in! I have provided meals for the Moms, decorations for special events, watched the babies and toddlers during the program and hosted special events in my home. I have seen lives changed through this program. These young Moms experience love, acceptance and encouragement to help them be better Moms and people in society. To be able to change the cycle in their own families so that they can give their children a better life and future. Some of these girls have found Fristers to be the family they never had. The weekly meetings provide a time of learning, encouragement, a safe place to share without judgment. These young moms are truly being empowered from the inside out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012

more

June 8, 2012

Fristers is an amazing group for young Moms of all walks of life to meet and be encouraged as women, mothers, and role models. The benefit of growing into a balanced woman through the carefully selected weekly topics done at Fristers grows these young Moms in four important areas of their life: spiritually, emotionally, mentally, and physically, resulting in a balanced woman enabled & empowered to nurture and care for their own child(ren). Fristers is such a valuable program and personally, it is not only rewarding to volunteer and share this journey with the young Moms that attend, but it is also a personal reward to continue to grow as a Mom myself - as woman and Mother. I strongly encourage young Moms to attend and gain strength, guidance, and growth through Fristers. I also invite Moms that have a heart to lead and share to volunteer alongside us to see all the the "good" we can achieve when we serve & grow together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first started at Fristers as an intern last Fall then I began driving the girls to Mariners in the Spring. Fristers is a great program for empowering young moms and providing a support base for them and their children. Fristers not only helps the moms and children but it helps those who volunteer each week become a better person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I have been a part of FRISTERS for almost 1yr. I have had many ups and downs, but this program not only empowers young woman to be a better moms and to go for the goals that we have set for each other I have a four yr old that love the program but is too active to say he least, the program refered me to different places where I was able to get him the help he needs and they have been verry helpful and for this I am VERRY GREATFULL & THANKFULL. AT FRISTERS Not only was I welcomed With open arms I was not juged by how I dressed looked or how I lived.I am not a verry inthusisastic about it at first but then I saw how much they cared for My children and my self I wanted to keep going back oh and let me not forget the classes or lectures that are given by different people from all walks of life are so Great that I would not have expirienced them on my own the fact that they teach you how to take care of your kids by being patient and why they cry and knowing how to approach the situation is a priceless tool I also like how Experts from the bussiness field come in and Teach us how to dress and behave at job interviews great information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I recently served as the Business Administrative intern at the Fristers office, located in Newport Beach. I also spent time at the Fristers program in both Irvine and Santa Ana. I have nothing but amazing things to say about Fristers! The program is so wonderful. Fristers brings teen mothers the opportunity to encourage and empower one another, giving them a safe place and a group of exceptional individuals to call their home and family. Many of the teen moms that Fristers services are struggling, both physically, emotionally, mentally, and are in a great need of resources. So many of these teen mothers come from poverty, broken families, dangerous relationships, etc. The program that Fristers offers for these girls is truly a life-changing opportunity to every teen mother that steps through the door. Fristers works extremely hard every single week to coordinate rides for mothers without transportation, provide meals for both mothers and children, free childcare services, guest speakers with powerful, encouraging messages, and so many other resources. Fristers is unlike any other non-profit program in existence, today. Fristers is truly an inspiring organization, full of wonderful people that are simply looking to make a positive difference in the lives of teen mothers and their children here in Southern California.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

I have had the amazing opportunity to serve as Fristers' videographer for the last few years. I have video taped numerous meeting sessions and seen, both personally and through the camera's eye, the amazing impact this organization is having on young women's lives. I have also served as a driver, and a speaker, which has enriched my perspective of the young women served by Fristers. I know that this organziation is making a difference to young women who might not otherwise receive the support, resources and love they get from Fristers. Fristers addresses the needs of these young moms and I have no doubt that investing in the lives of the women will have the rippple effect of improving the lives of their children and of generations to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2012

more

June 7, 2012

My Mom was only 18 when I was born and I wish she had found a place like Fristers, her life and my childhood could have been so much better, much pain and heartbreak could have been avoided. She did not have good parenting skills, was really immature, lonley and did not know how to deal with a baby and how to better her own life. Being a volunteer for 3 seasons I can truly say the support and empoverment the young Moms experience at Fristers is truly life transforming. They find love and acceptance and gain a sense of worse for their soul and joy! All the teaching lessons a geared to equip them for life with a child and growing as women. Being young and having a baby can be overwhelming in many ways but with Fristers they really have a way better chance to improve their lives and with this the lives of their children. Fristers rocks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at Fristers that has an opportunity to work with the girls. They are inspired by the information, acitvities and programs they participate in. I see empowered young women involved in this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help children learn their letters and numbers; help celebrate moms birthdays by bringing in a birthday cake or cupcakes; mentor a mom Volunteer