Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
1234.974365
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 1, 2012

I was an unwed mother at the age of 17 when I gave birth to my daughter. I felt very ashamed, judged and shunned by my church which, was very conservative. I didn't understand then why I made some o... more

October 31, 2014

I became involved in Frister's about 3 years ago after I began attending Mariner's Church in 2009. I was a teen mom and I felt my experience would help others understand things that took me years to figure out on my own. I enjoy spending time with the girls and encouraging them to be the best they can be and really help them focus on their future and not dwell on their past. It's amazing to see the progress some of these girls make and really change their trajectory in life. Frister's gives these girls hope and guidance to help them become women God intended them to be.
June 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was an unwed mother at the age of 17 when I gave birth to my daughter. I felt very ashamed, judged and shunned by my church which, was very conservative. I didn't understand then why I made some of the choices I made that impacted my life immensely until years later. I wanted to help girls like me not feel so alone. I wanted to be apart of something that would encourage, nurture and empower a young mom to be more than a statistic. To love her and know life is not over and she does have a chance to live a life of grace, truth and beauty. I wish I had FRISTER'S when I was in that situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

The time, care, thought, effort, and love that the Fristers team devotes to their program is remarkable. Their efforts are positively changing the lives of this and the next generation and I am blessed to have the opportunity serve and call myself a part of the team.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Fristers which translates to Friends & Sisters! I have been involved with this amazing organization since its inception and have watched the transformation of the young single mothers and their children who have joined our program. They are loved from the moment they walk through our doors, given hope, understanding, love, and the tools to succeed. This program has and will continue to change lives!!! If you now of young teen mom who is in need of support, this is the only program of its kind!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Fristers is absolutely amazing! As a volunteer, I see first hand how Fristers is improving the lives of each mom and child that comes through the door. They are committed to helping each individual with any problem they might face, by providing resources and endless amounts of social support and acceptance. They truly care about these moms and kids.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Fristers is changing lives! I've seen it in the girls who come back week after week, year after year. They are confident, outgoing, better mothers, and more independent. As a childcare volunteer for the past 5 years, I've also witnessed change in their children. The kids who were once shy, misbehaved, or scared to leave their mothers have morphed into kids who can't wait to play with their friends, who say a prayer and sit nicely at dinner, and who are excited to learn numbers and colors and letters! Fristers has changed me, too, encouraging me to be more patient, kind, and understanding of other people. I love being a part of this organization and I look forward to it each week!
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 10, 2012

Fristers is one of the most amazing ministries I've ever come across. What Fristers provides for teen moms is life changing and I feel so blessed to be a part of it. I've seen first hand changes takin... more

October 30, 2014

There aren't enough wonderful words that can describe Fristers. I've been volunteering for 5 years now and just can't get enough of the love that is so evident each time I'm surrounded by fellow Fristers. God is at work in this ministry and it's a beautiful thing to watch the lives of these young moms and children being transformed from the inside out.
June 10, 2012

Fristers is one of the most amazing ministries I've ever come across. What Fristers provides for teen moms is life changing and I feel so blessed to be a part of it. I've seen first hand changes taking place in the lives of the young moms we serve each week. I've seen girls come to know the Lord and find hope in their future because of it. I see the girls faces light up each week as they enter the room and enjoy an evening free of their responsibilities as a mom and just enjoy time with others and bettering themselves as young adults and moms. I love every moment of my time with my Fristers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer and supporter of Fristers since it began. I wanted to serve at my church. I love being a mom and my children were grown so Fristers seemed like a good fit for me. I showed up 7 years ago (actually when I started, we were called Club Mom) and have been coming every Wednesday night since. There are so many things I love about Fristers but the best part is seeing the girls walk into the room and know that they are in a safe place where they will get a hug, a smile, a good meal, a laugh, encouragement and all the resources they need to move forward. It is really powerful to see life change and it is happening with these girls. I've seen it because I've been there for so long and it is thrilling.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

If I had to sum up Fristers in one word I would say it is empowering! So much love and care goes into every detail for these teen mothers. On any given night across six different locations volunteers and professionals come together to set up the meeting room, provide transportation, serve a warm meal, and of course provide resources to these young women so that they can be better students, mothers, and employees all at once. This program is run and staffed and interned by those that care. The young women who come every week to learn and grow want to be the best mothers they can be. I am so grateful to get to be apart of a program that provides such love and support.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

Fristers is a safe, supportive, and challenging club for teen moms. It's amazing to see the young girls come in, with so many struggles, then watch them conquer them one at a time, until they have grown into beautiful, self-sufficient women.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Being able to be a part of Fristers, has been the best thing I have done with my life other than my Family.

Fristers, stands for Friends and Sisters. Fristers helps empower women, ages 13-24 who are pregant or have children, to become the best person and mother they can be.


From the first moment I saw Fristers in action I knew this is where I want to be! These young Ladies are brave, inspiring, eager to learn and each Beautiful from the inside out!

They come evey week to learn and have community with each other and The volunteers!
I am blessed to be a part of each of their lives and watch them grow into the women that God made them to be!

Thank you Fristers!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help children learn their letters and numbers; help celebrate moms birthdays by bringing in a birthday cake or cupcakes; mentor a mom Volunteer