Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.666675
Write A Review
April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

It is very noble to fight for those who can not fight for themselves. I admire the passion of FSO. Their energy and commitment is second to none. They tirelessly continue to educate and inform the population at large about sea otters. Their reach extends beyond California. They have friends and supporters in Canada, the UK and Australia. FSO is open to new ideas and they adopt the latest strategies in marketing and social media to achieve their goals. It is truly wonderful to be a Friend of the Sea Otter!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I grew up next to the Channel Islands in California. Sea Otters used to cavort there in decades past. That's where God placed them and where they thrived. Then came white men and no more otters swam in the Santa Barbara Channel. Now California seeks a law to keep the otters from coming back to the Channel Islands, their natural home. Friends of the Sea Otter takes exception to that and have my full support. Let's stop killing off wildife for our convenience before some unforseen consequence does it to US!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

FSO purchased a remotely operated video camera with supporting solar panels, batteries and auxiliary equipment, including a video server to enable remote monitoring of otters in Elkhorn Slough, California. They have been extremely generous, supportive and understanding when network problems precluded implementation on schedule. All my interactions with FSO have been very positive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

I helped Friends of the Sea Otter by attending several events in the Monterey area and talking to the public about sea otters, their threats, and what people can do to help. I have a background in environmental communication and was happy to help such a worthy cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve the handouts and literature that is disseminated to the public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I was happy to talk about the political problems facing sea otters.

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

Friends of the Sea Otter has been a traditional favorite charity of my family for over a decade. I remember visiting the late Friends of the Sea Otter brick-and-mortar location in Monterey as a child.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 9, 2012

Friends of the Sea Otter has a been and advocate for the southern sea otter since 1967, with congressional testimony dating back to the marine mammal protection act. Currently trying to remove "legal boundaries" to sea otter natural expansion, while ensuring protections against hunting, and further exceptions to their threatened status, FSO continues to rally support and provide the voice for sea otter advocates.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

monitor the health of the sea otter's marine habitat or help track sea otters throughout the Monterey Peninsula. Volunteer