Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

This is a small dedicated grass-roots group that works directly to help in the community. Because of this they don't have the high profile visibility of some other organizations,but the work they do to help vulnerable young people get a start on their own can truly make a world of difference to that young person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it a bigger donor base so it can do more good in the community

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As a young Latina Foster Youth there were a lot of situations where I felt alone and almost defeated, but thanks to the Friends of ILSP Scholarship I was able to gain support and overcome my struggles. Thanks to scholarships like this scholarship I am able to look back at my life and see that even though times were hard there were always there people who cared about me. I was truly blessed to be touched by an amazing support and resource.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Friends of SF ILSP makes it possible for foster children to make ends meet as they pursue higher education. There are so much more expenses to consider besides tuition that most people do not consider and that is where Friends makes the magic possible. Students can focus on achieving their education without worrying about where they will live or when they will eat next. In addition, Friends contribute greatly to the emancipated youths by helping them celebrate their Christmas and high school graduations by giving them the appreciation and recognition they deserve. Please help us continue our drive in providing foster youths the opportunity to succeed given their disadvantages growing up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have worked for more than 15 years with families and children involved in the foster care system. Children who leave foster care, as they "age out" of the system need all of the same things that any other youth need: practical, financial and emotional support. However, they are often without families on whom they can depend for these basic needs. This is where ILSP steps in to try to fill in all of those missing parts, as much as possible. ILSP's work is absolutely necessary for foster youth to move ahead successfully into productive adulthood.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Did you ever have to leave home with one black garbage bags for all your things, just cuz you had turned 18? If you were lucky, someone might say... "good luck..." That is most often the story of a foster youth leaving "the system." SFILSP is a program supporting foster youth who must make this transition and FRIENDS raises money and awareness for these incredible youth who face and surmount enormous challenges. Money raised goes to scholarships and other "grants" that support young people who are going to college and need money for books, luggage to get there, and a myriads of other needs for youth struggling to meet the costs of housing, a bed for a child to sleep on, and well just imagine what else... FRIENDS is a sustained by an all volunteer board and monies raised go directly to the foster youth who apply and interview for any grants awarded. This is a fantastic non-profit and I know my donations and their service are making a difference.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

This organization meets youth at a most vulnerable point, and gives them a bridge to cross the chasm of crisis. It has been amazing as a volunteer and donor and former board member to watch how this organization does so much life-changing work with so few resources.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

From day one, Friends of ISLP has been advocating and supporting foster youth in the bay area. This organization is simply fantastic!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Given the number of foster youth who age out of care and end up at best, struggling to at worst, homeless, it's important for the Friends of the SFILSP to exist. The people are on the all-volunteer board are amazing and tireless in their efforts to ensure that the transition to "adulthood" for most of SF's youth is as successful as possible! I love the work of this group and think they are incredible!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

I am glad to know that a great organization exist to help the youth of today. I think it is a wonderful Thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

A passion for foster youth and deep personal connections came together seven years ago to make Friends of SF ILSP a reality. It was my privilege to serve as founding board president. Our goal was to increase opportunities for former foster youth to succeed in school, to find work and to live in safe, stable housing by helping fill the gaps in funding available to them. What means the most to me are the many inspiring young people we supported who did not give up on themselves and stayed true to their dreams in spite of the obstacles - youth with no family, young mothers and fathers, those taking care of grandparents and aunts, youth working hard to become artists, lawyers, writers, car mechanics, accountants, fashion designers, psychologists, musicians, social workers, computer experts, and hairdressers. Often all a youth needed was someone to pay their security deposit to enable them to rent an apartment, to buy a plane ticket to get them to the college in the East where they had earned a full scholarship, to help with tuition, buy books, or even pay a dentist bill. Through the hard work of a small, all volunteer staff, our organization has been able to provide nearly 200 youth with this type of support. More than 30 youth have gone on national college tours and been inspired to continue their education. Numerous youth have attended board sponsored graduation and holiday celebrations. I am fully committed to this organization and, most importantly, our members are fully committed to these amazing youth - doing everything they can to provide that extra support to those who just need a little boost in order to succeed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Please considering volunteering for one of our special committees (such as our fundraising or event planning committee), doing minor administrative tasks, or at one of our special events throughout the year. Please email us for more information!