Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Established in 1971, RSVP has given adults over 55 a chance to "give back" with more than 150k of volunteer hours in 2012. The agency coordinators offer candidates a diverse range of activities which make a measurable impact while serving within their communities. The activities include calling & visiting homebound seniors, refurbishing computers that benefit the financially challenged as well as training to be a presenter for a worthwhile program called Living Healthy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization has been actively making so many corner cutting changes with diminishing funding. Getting the word out about how very valuable this agency is to the community could ONLY benefit the mission with more funding sources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

RSVP is a wonderful not-for-profit. They provide very capable volunteers to give their services at over 150 not-for-profit agencies throughout Suffolk County. Without this, many agencies would not exist and would not be able to bring their invaluable services to the people of Suffolk County. RSVP also provides many of it's own programs and services to enhance the lives of seniors on Long Island. For instance, their Telephone Reassurance Program provides a daily phone call to homebound, and sometimes isolated, seniors. In many cases, this is the only contact a senior will receive on that day. Providing all of its services free of charge, RSVP is truly a gift to the community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I've known RSVP for their good works for many years. They helped me get a daily phone call for my elderly aunt throught their Telephone Reassurance Program. Then when a student of mine was in desperate need of getting a computer for homework assignments, RSVP provided a refurnished one from their Community Computer Connections Program. All the RSVP volunteers seem like they are enjoying themselves as much as the people they are serving. GO RSVP!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Accept sniors under 55. Make 50 the begining of "senior", instead of 55.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I volunteer at RSVP in Smithtown and find the staff friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. They try to fit the person with their interests. They participate in many worthy causes to make the volunteering experience satisfying.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I live in the Smithtown area and always hear wonderful things about the work of RSVP. I donated my "old" computer to them so they could refurbish it and give it a second life by giving it to a low-income family in Nassau or Suffolk counties. Keeping seniors involved keeps them here in our area which is so important for everyone: the children they interact with, the seniors themselves to stay focused and involved and the organizations they assist with their manpower through their volunteerism. Keep up the GREAT work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Certainly get them more funding-healthy seniors is a great cause!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

RSVP is a dedicated organization to helping seniors stay active. They provide excellent services, programs and resources to the seniors of Suffolk County. Everybody should experience for themselves an exciting opportunity to either volunteer or take advantage of this excellent organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

RSVP matches volunteers with volunteer opportunities, and in doing so provides retired persons with meaningful (volunteer) jobs while saving the organizations they work for hundreds of thousands of dollars.
The greatest benefit is to the volunteer. I have seen older relatives become depressed
after retirement, and I have also seen active seniors living happy, fulfilled lives. The best cure for the boredom and subsequent depression of seniors is to let retired professionals perform a valued service.
RSVP facilitated just this, and very successfully.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with RSVP of Suffolk began in 2006. For three months I had been searching (unsuccessfully) for a not-for-profit which would sponsor a program to provide free computers to low-income families on Long Island. A mutual friend introduced me to Pegi Orsino, the Executive Director of RSVP. After some serious probing, Pegi enthusiastically endorsed the concept and we set up the Community Computer Connections Program (CCCP) for which RSVP provided financial resources, office space, support personnel, professional contacts and, most important, a group of dedicated volunteers. In seven years, a group of volunteers (now grown to over 40) has provided over 2800 computers to low-income families and individuals. Pegi and her staff have been unwavering in support of CCCP and its volunteers.

I have been involved in many volunteer activities over my adult years (I am 79) and have never found an organization as dedicated as RSVP in providing meaningful volunteer opportunities for seniors. This is a resource which I believe is greatly underutilized these days. RSVP Suffolk deserves special recognition for its effectiveness in advancing its mission on Long Island.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer for RSVP and deliver and install computers to those that cannot afford to buy their own. Our clients are most appreciative and cannot thank us enough for allowing them to have a computer and connect with the world. Many have gotten jobs through the use of a computer. There is much satisfaction in seeing how the people are so thankful. I also tutor, giving lessons to seniors at 2 senior centers. RSVP has made a difference, through the volunteer program, in peoples' lives and should be commended for making this possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is run very well and is well organized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

RSVP Suffolk County services many disadvantaged people in Suffolk and Nassau County. My group refurbishes and distributes computers to those in financial distress. We try to ensure that all needy persons have access to the web, with the rich source of information. Our clients use email to communicate with friends and relatives. A great group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers