Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

We've been winter volunteers at Loxahatchee NWR for three different years now, and have also volunteered at several other National Wildlife Refuges, and have never seen a more active, dedicated Friends Group. Their involvement with the community is unsurpassed, at least in our experience. Most impressive! It's one reason we're coming back for one more winter's volunteering.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't see a need for change right now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I visited Loxahatchee Wildlife Refuge for years before learning about the volunteer program. I immediately volunteered and soon found myself on the Board. The Refuge provides so many opportunities to enjoy nature and wildlife. The bird walks and canoe trail were always my favorite things to do but now there is so much more. Education is a big part, with information provided by the Refuge and the Friends group. It's a wonderful environment for children to learn to love nature.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

Shortly after becoming a resident of Palm Beach County in 1998, I learned of the Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge by attending an art exhibit there by artist Clyde Butcher. That led me to become a member of the Friends of the Arthur R. Marshall Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge. There was so much to learn about the Everglades from this membership and its programs. After drifting away from being active while maintaining membership, I am again active and surprise!! I am not only back, but on the Board whose members sincerely do try to make a difference at this wonderful place the Refuge.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I started as a volunteer canoe guide and gift shop worker. Before I knew it I was on the BOD. The Refuge is a beautiful place and the money we raise helps enhance the programs that are offered to the general public.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013

more

August 1, 2013

I also started out as a visitor. Friends invited me to come with them on everglades day years ago and it was an experience I never forgot. Later visits had me meeting alligators, birds, turtles and many other creatures.
A photo meetup showed me there were Bobcats on the refuge and after
several fruitless tries on the Marsh Trail, I took a hike around the Cypress Trail and had a close encounter of the best kind resulting in several great photos.
You can sit and watch, hike the trails, bicycle the levy, or paddle the canoe trail.
I am now a volunteer and member of the Friends of The Arthur R Marshall Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge and take great joy in sharing the wonder of this outstanding facility.
The Friends sponsor many activities in cooperation with other groups, operate and maintain the Gift shop and plan and fund improvements to the Refuge. They are active participants in the operation of the Refuge on a daily basis and in close cooperation with the Arthur R Marshall Foundation.
The Friends provide guides for walking and canoe tours and educational sessions.
The Friends also help to maintain the Access Road into the Refuge by adopting this portion of Lee Road.
The Friends have created much informational literature that is available at the visitors center that describe the refuge and many of its activities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more advertising.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013

more

August 1, 2013

I started as a visitor, returning again and again to this amazing refuge. Truly experiencing nature as it unfolds and evolves. Volunteers, programs, exhibits, and activities are so varied and interesting each visit is a unique experience. Kayak, canoe, hike, go birding; you become one with the Everglades. Super experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Lead a nature walk, work in our gift shop, make phone calls, write thank-you notes, pull weeds from our butterfly garden, help us with our luncheon, find sponsors for our calendar ads, you name it! Volunteer