Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Write A Review
October 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 5, 2013

We fostered kittens in our home for five years and loved every minute of it... ended up adopting three of them. We had taken in a very pregnant mother, adopted her and two of her little babies, who w... more

October 6, 2014

My son and I took in one pregnant cat to foster, adopted her and two of her kittens... then fostered kitties for five years. Our favorites were the tiny bottle babies, motherless extremely young kittens who benefitted from tons of cuddling and mothering. I loved that I could speak for them detailing each personality on the card above the adoption cage. Whenever we had a bonded pair, two little ones that were extremely close, it was so reassuring to know that they would be adopted together. People would always ask me how I could possibly let them go to be adopted... it was easy when I knew how carefully they would be matched with their new forever family, so they would always be spoiled and loved.
September 5, 2013

We fostered kittens in our home for five years and loved every minute of it... ended up adopting three of them. We had taken in a very pregnant mother, adopted her and two of her little babies, who were closely bonded siblings. People always ask me how do you possibly foster them if you have to let them go. It is easy when I know I have treated them with so much love and cuddling that I am confident they will be loved by their new family.
FAF is an amazing organization in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just wish there were more ways to fund it...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our family recently adopted our first cat through FAF. It's been about ten years since I had a cat, so I had asked for some recommendations on what specifically to get for our new cat. Marianne walked me through the store and helped me gather all of the essentials I'd need for our cat, and made sure to let me know what brands our cat was already familiar with. She leant us a cat carrier so we wouldn't have to purchase one right away. I know she truly cares for all of the animals, she spent extra time with the cat we adopted and said "Goodbye" to her, right before she was heading off to rescue another cat's life. Her love and dedication to FAF is apparent and we're so happy to have found our new family member! :)
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We found a litter of kittens at our work. By the time we had a chance to try and catch them, Mama had moved them elsewhere. We found one the next day and a volunteer came and picked her up right away. Over the next couple of days we found the other two, so it was time to catch Mama. The volunteer who helped us brought out a trap and the first (and loudest) kitten and Mama was caught! Our volunteer went far above and beyond the call to rescue "our" kitty family. Thank you so much FAF!
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted our first cat through FAF and were so impressed with the organization that I decided to join as a volunteer. We've since adopted a second cat as well. Marianne sets the tone for this dedicated group of volunteers. She is a tireless advocate for the humane treatment of kittens & cats and goes above and beyond to find forever homes for cats from all sorts of situations. Her work with trap neuter and release and rescuing kittens from feral colonies helps to break the cycle of overpopulation. There are many volunteers who foster kittens and special needs cats until they're ready for adoption. They also help with emergency medical care. All of this is done on a tiny, tiny budget. All because of the love and respect this group has for cats and kittens.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

If I could give to only one non-profit, it would be Friends of the Animals Foundation. Marianne works closely with Pamela and the Feral Cat Spay Neuter Project, and tirelessly gives her time , effort and heart to helping cats. Marianne has always been there for us when we needed traps or advice, and she's so knowledgeable, helpful and supportive. I can't say enough good things about the work she does through this great organization.
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

This is a great organization that really takes care of the cats and kittens who come their way. From feral cats to those turned in due to family hardship, FAF does a great job helping to find new homes for these wonderful animals. They also spend a lot of time doing TNR to keep the over population of feral cats down. I've really enjoyed working with them over the last year.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I learned about Friends of the Animals Foundation through Next to Nature in West Seattle. Last year my family was looking to adopt a cat, and FAF offered their quick, reliable, safe, and knowledgeable services with the best interest of all involved. Even after our adoption was complete, I am still staying involved through their website on facebook, informing me of cats in need of fostering, missing cats in my area, requests, tips, reminders, and encouragement.

It was clear all along that the cats come first, and Marianne and her volunteers will not let anything stop their mission to be a resource and safe haven for cats. I love seeing pictures of all the happy cats and kittens (and the faces of their happy families) as they make their way to forever homes. But I am also so impressed by the network of foster parents and feral support members that work selflessly each and every day. My kitty was one of their many rescued cats, along with her newborn kittens. She has brought such joy to my family now, and we are so grateful we were the ones to connect with that kitten in the pet shop :)
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

FAF has a great group of volunteers. MaryAnne set up the TNR for the strays in my neighborhood, then came back to check on them. They set up "feeding stations" to make sure the cats are taken care of. They even drop off food to those who help feed the stray cats.
September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

A year ago, my family looked to adopt a cat. Friends of Animals provides a vital service for our community. They care for and introduce wonderful animals to the community while asking for nothing in return. Their focus is that these beautiful cats receive the love that they deserve. Friends of Animals just needed to introduce us to Cannoli and we were smitten. They cared for her and her kittens, gave her a comfortable home, gave her a clean bill of health and shared her with West Seattle. We are so fortunate for everything she's brought to our family. Even with a wonky leg and a life that started out on the streets, she is amazingly warm and loving.

I am happy to be able to follow the good work of Friends of Animals and see that many other families have been able to experience a similar joy from adoption that we have. Of course, the lovely cats are the reason but FAF creates all of the right steps in connecting wanting families with animals that would otherwise have worse fates. The tireless work they do to bring deserving cats to loving homes is outstanding. Thank you FAF for not giving up on our Cannoli and giving her the opportunity and platform to recruit her family.
September 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Friends of the Animals Foundation (FAF) has an amazingly dedicated team. Their commitment to the cats they rescue is unsurpassed. They are the most compassionate, dedicated, and knowledgeable group I know of. I have supported FAF for several years now. I have also adopted cats from them. I have been impressed by their dedication to caring for the animals they work with-- in rescuing them when and where others won't; getting them the best medical care; placing them in loving foster homes, and carefully screening prospective adopters. Their commitment to the animals the rescue continues long after they have been adopted. They have even taken back animals that for whatever reason did not work out in adoptive homes and successfully found them new homes. In our case there was a beautiful cat that had had to have a leg amputated. He became injured after rescue (he was a feisty feral) and was deemed by the vet to be too energetic to allow for pins and screws in his leg. The doctors recommended amputation. FAF got him the best medical care, his surgery was successful, and he recovered in a wonderful foster home until he was ready for adoption. We fell in love with him immediately and filled out the application to adopt him. After talking with the FAF volunteers, we were approved to adopt and now have the most amazing cat ever! We remain in touch with the FAF team and they are always excited to see photos and hear what our sweet baby is up to. We encourage anyone we know who is looking to adopt to support FAF and the superlative work they do.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers