Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
95 Reviews
1234.936845
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 29, 2010

The organization is a wonderful adjunct to the Park and helps provide the margin of excellence federal funding is unable to provide. The organization's Director is an excellent communicator and know... more

May 24, 2014

I consider FOSNP one of the best non-profits I am involved with. The communications to donors from the Executive Director are timely and informative. I feel support for the National Parks is especially critical at a time when government funding is unreliable. The Friends group not only is helping preserve this national asset but it enhances the experience for all park visitors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2010

The organization is a wonderful adjunct to the Park and helps provide the margin of excellence federal funding is unable to provide. The organization's Director is an excellent communicator and knows how to deal with donors respectfully. I have donated both funding and art to be auctioned to support the Friends.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I have thoroughly enjoyed feeling that I have made a difference in enhancing one of our national Parks. Although I leave several thousands miles away from the Park I am committed to the friends group.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very friendly and dedicated to the organization.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help the Park Service rebuild one of the Park visitor's centers. I recently saw such a center funded by private funding in Pecos National Park in New Mexico and it is superb.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 9, 2014

more

May 9, 2014

Friends of Saguaro helps to support the park's education, preservation, and research programs, allowing a level of stewardship that would not be possible without their grants to the park. In addition to supporting curriculum-based environmental programs for local students, they also support youth backpacking programs, wildlife research, community events at the park and in the local community and more. The board and staff (paid staff of only one!) is enthusiastic and dedicated to supporting the park. Thanks for your hard work and support Friends of Saguaro!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

FOSNP helps the park manage its resources which are set aside to preserve and protect for the enjoyment of future generations. FOSNP puts the donated dollars to tangible and realized projects that as a donor can see the effectiveness of FOSNP dollars, as a volunteer can appreciate the support FOSNP gives to programs, and as a visitor can see the improvements/enhancements FOSNP dollars mean to maintaining park facilities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

We first visited Saguaro in 2005 on a cross country motorcycle trip. We have donated to the Friends ever since that time, and have also visited the park two additional times from our home state of Vermont, always impressed with the initiatives they have wisely undertaken to help the park's flora and fauna deal with the combined effects of long-term drought, overuse of local water resources, global climate change, and shortfalls in federal funding. They leave no stone unturned, and their efforts from "Adopt a Saguaro" to fundraising auctions to the encouragement of volunteerism have born fruit. We applaud their initiative and the positive results they have brought. All of us benefit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reach out to donors to fund a student work program, that might include international volunteers supported by local home stays.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

By supporting FRIENDS, we are able to invest in one of Tucson's (and America's) gems, Saguaro National Park. We are so fortunate to have two biotic communities in the Tucson Mountain district and six biotic communities in the Rincon district, both hosting a variety of plants and animals. We make donations yearly and have done so since we moved to Tucson six years ago.
May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

When my husband and I moved to Tucson 7 years ago, we began making donations to Friends of Saguaro National Park - as it supports Tucson's "backyard", which is so important to our community. In the past four years we have made FOSNP our main charitable donation as we have worked with and learned more about how well they handle the money provided to them, and serve such a vital role in maintaining wonderful Saguaro National Park.
May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Twenty years ago my husband and I did not even know that a Suaguaro NM existed. We were looking for a new place to visit and picked Tucson off the map strictly by accident. During our week of camping we were enthralled with the magnificent tall plant that dominated the skyline. We had fun giving personalities to the strange contortions which endures this plant. You have to go to AZ to see these magnificent old giants as they are unique to the state. A few years later we bought a house across the street from the park boundry and soon after it was designated a National Park. We became members of Fsnp about the same time and have been proud to be supporters with our donations. They keep us abreast of their work in maintaining the environment so people can enjoy the trails, wildlife, and desert plants. They also inform us when special projects are being planned. We have adopted saguaros and supported projects over the years. We are older now and cannot walk the trails anymore but we will always look out from our driveways and be thankful that there is a nonprofit taking care of this spectacular scenery and we can still drive through the park and show it to our friends.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

I'm a lifetime resident of the Sonoran desert and protecting that eco rich environment is important for current and future generations. The Friends of Saguaro organization is focused on protecting that eco-system. I thanks them for their dedication and efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Don't change a thing - keep going.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 20, 2013

more

May 20, 2013

As residents of the Pacific Northwest the beauty of the Southwest intrigues us and draws us for yearly visits. Several years ago we picked up a brochure to "Adopt a Cactus" and have enjoyed giving this many times as a gift to friends and family. It is such a novel and creative fundraising idea! Recently I "adopted" desert animals for my grandsons and they are already talking about next year's choice! Our most memorable visit to the park was the year we were able to see the cactus in bloom, and marvel at the diversity of life they support. Thank you for your dedication to such a magical and extrordinary treasure.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013

more

May 18, 2013

I live out of state in Colorado but try to visit Tuscon every yr.I love the area,the huge Saguaro make me happy-yes the indians are right-its a spiritual place--Fosnp does a great job in maintaining anc caring about theNP-they do alot to maintain the trails,monitor animals progress etc.Without Fosnp I dont know how the NP would be supported and maintained,great outfit,very dedicated.They always have my support

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand newsletter--try to get more public support and aware of areas.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers