Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
96 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
May 7, 2014

more

May 7, 2014

I have worked closely with the Friends of Saguaro National Park as a consultant and partner. The organization is well-run with a top notch executive director and strong board. The Friends are very much aligned with the park in terms of priorities and provide funding for strategic initiatives in education, research and the visitor experience. The National Park Foundation is proud to have worked closely with the Friends on several projects, including new exhibits at the visitor center.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

I worked closely with Friends of Saguaro in the past, and they have always demonstrated a genuine passion for the park and community. Their work with Teacher-Ranger-Teacher and research with the University of Arizona and Saguaro National Park is a testimony to their passion to bring the needs of the park to the awareness of the community. In addition, their volunteer work to fight back buffelgrass was exceptional. Although FOSNP is a smaller organization than that of some of the larger parks - they gathered up to 25-40 volunteers to pull buffelgrass into the early afternoon.

Bob Newtson is a generous person with an exceptional ability to build partnerships with board members and businesses in the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Explore how to build a stronger online presence. Maybe create an online interactive community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

FoSNP is a great group that has provided incredible added value to managing Sagauro National Park's wilderness and wildlife resources. Professional staff, strong ties to the community, and great events.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 22, 2011

I've worked with the Friends of Saguaro National Park almost since their inception - the last nine years, I've been an advisor to their board. They are a group of dedicated supporters who go out of th... more

October 16, 2012

I have worked with the Friends since they started in 1997. They are well-run and efficient, and they make a huge difference by providing support to make Saguaro National Park, outside Tucson, Arizona, one of the best parks in the nation. One of their current projects, studying Gila monster lizards, will contribute greatly to conservation of this sensitive and little-known reptile.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 22, 2011

I've worked with the Friends of Saguaro National Park almost since their inception - the last nine years, I've been an advisor to their board. They are a group of dedicated supporters who go out of their way to raise money to support park programs and allow Saguaro National Park to be the best that it can be. They have supported numerous resource inventories and studies in the park--for example, an in-depth inventory of the Madrona riparian area, studies of black bears, desert tortoises and gila monsters, and a once-a-decade inventory of saguaro cactus plants. They have a very low overhead so I know my money is going into programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Better information about the resources in the park have led to better educational programs and management decisions that protect those resources for future generations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More active involvement of all board members in learning about the park and in planning fund raisers to support park programs.

April 23, 2010

more

April 23, 2010

This organziation has done a wonderful job funding projects that help conserve the Sonoran Desert. They are fiscally responsible, and make every dollar count.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

enthusiastic and helpful

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers