Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I had the privilege to work as an Advisor on a visionary project FOFF were attempting to fund. I was deeply impressed with the teamwork, positive energy, community building, and professionalism this group brought to the table. As a consumer who votes with my dollar and truly cares about the quality of my food, I am eager to support such an important organization as Friends of Family Farmers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As small farmers for over 15 years, when we heard of this group we thought, "finally!" Finally there is an advocate for small scale, direct-market farmers who are concerned about protecting our Earth, the importance of local food systems and the long-term viability of farmers. The Farm Bureau essentially ignored us & didn't take us seriously, and they certainly didn't represent us at the state legislature. Friends of Family Farmers works for those of us who tend the land as well as the growing population of folks who want to know the source of their food and to know it was grown with love and care. We are extremely grateful for the work of FoFF.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

It's mission. There aren't any other organizations out there like this, focused on small & medium sized family farmers.

May 2, 2012

more

May 2, 2012

This organization plays a vital role connecting people and ideas back to the land. They truly are Friends of Family Farmers!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

This organization does a great job of connecting people and organizations. I love the InFarmation workshops they hold. I've learned a lot from attending. Thanks, FoFF!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

Newspaper headlines about Mad Cow Disease, eColi outbreaks, food product recalls, factory farming, inhumane treatment of animals, "pink slime" ground beef used in school lunches attest to the serious problems in the US food supply today. Friends of Family Farmers advocates for Oregon's small farmers producing food in a healthy and environmentally responsible manner. Along the way, it works to educate eaters about the myriad challenges to farming and to a safe food supply. FoFF goes to the Capitol to lobby for legislation that is making an impact on the food we eat and the rules that govern agriculture in the state. It has carved out an important role to play at a time when the US food system is in need of drastic reform and family farmers face huge challenges.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 1, 2012

more

May 1, 2012

Friends of Family Farmers does SO much for local communities that it is difficult to know where to begin. One VERY successful project was changing the Oregon law for jam/jelly-making & pickle-making. These items are now MUCH more accessible at Farmer's markets because of the efforts of FoFF. They also supported the founding of an Oregon State Bank last year in Salem. This would have helped not only family farmers but also small, local businesses. I am sure that they will continue with this effort next year. Their monthly newsletters provide information on upcoming events and links to various "farmer friendly" sites. Someone recently told me that FoFF was a national organization because it is so well-run and making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

As an individual who was raised and now own a family farm; it is so exciting to have an organization that is helping us have our voices heard in Oregon! Friends of Family Farmers, thank you for helping law makers see the perspective of farming from the small farm community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

Friends of Family Farmers embodies a method of community building in which culture, food and connection are pivotal. This practice is incredibly important to the well being of all communities, and each month at the InFARMation event that they host, I see it changing our local community for the better. As a volunteer, I have never felt so supported and personally enriched by a non-profit. The community connections that I have found through FoFF have changed my life, I would be lost without these women and the greater community that they have built.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

Friends of Family Farmers (FoFF) has grown to be the state's largest organization representing family-scale agriculture in Oregon. The FoFF staff is a team of organized, creative and passionate people who are driven to ensure that family farmers can remain economically viable while not compromising the environment, the welfare of the animals or the quality of lives for their neighbors. I am honored and humbled to be part of such an amazing team of people. I believe that the climate for family farmers in Oregon is a better as a direct result of the work of this great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

April 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We’re all stakeholders in food and agriculture policy. And Friends of Family Farmers is a grassroots organization that takes food responsibility seriously. Comprised of food advocates, concerned citizens and farmers, the non-profit works to foster an approach to agriculture that not only respects the land, but also treats animals humanely and sustains local communities.
Friends of Family Farmers supports regulations to prevent the environmentally unsound practices of corporate farms. It promotes sensible policies and environmentally responsible regulations that allow Oregon’s family farmers to run successful enterprises while providing safe, fresh and nutritious food for all Oregonians.
The organization protects socially responsible and sustainable family scale agriculture, and offers its services to communities desiring to organize and advance socially responsible farming or build healthy local food systems.
Most food travels long distances to reach our tables. Friends of Family Farmers encourages food shopping closer to home. The practice of eating food grown close to home minimizes our carbon footprint while supporting local food sources and revitalizing the local community.
Hundreds of farmers leave the land every week. This loss forecasts a bleak local food future. Friends of Family Farmers serves as a conduit and advisor to young farmers seeking to be good stewards of the land. And staff and volunteers provide educational meetings, classes and programs promoting consumer awareness of important land use, environmental and economic issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Do outreach at a farmers market