Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.333335
Write A Review
January 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 10, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Friends of Cats is a safe, loving,warm shelter for pre-owned and lost cats to live until they find good , permanent homes. I've been a board member, since 1993. I found F.O.C. by their excellent newsletter CATTALES!
Since joining, I found a big love of mine is handicapped cats. I've had many
handicapped animals live with me. One special one was Duchess who walked in a walker and visited many human handicapped groups.
She was on local television news and was on Hard Copy.

Board members,shelter workers and guests have a special love for our cats. Much time and money is spent to make cats feel wanted-safe-healthy and happy.

People and cats have many personalities. I have seen where it all works out for the cats!

After all, this shelter over 70 years old is still finding homes and taking great care of cats.
Come give our cats a hug!
December 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Amazing no kill shelter in San Diego county. I adopted my cat from there years ago and staff was friendly and helpful. Love to help out with shelters like this that care so much for animals.
October 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 6, 2014

In 2009 when elected to the board, I saw an opportunity to help a grassroots organization that existed for over 80 years, take the next step to growth. With the election of an active board of unpaid volunteers, we were able to improve the shelter facilities, implement sound financial planning, interact with the small awesome staff, and bring the organization into a more modern role with social media. Each improvement was reviewed to insure it helped the cats directly and supported our mission to provide a caring place for unwanted cats without using Euthanasia. I was relieved personally to find a place that would take my cat in case I was unable to care for her in a program called "Future Care", a unique program to eliminate our fears that no one would be there for our pets when we are no longer here. Future Care cats enjoy a whole new life without their owners in an air conditioned retreat with lots of love and care and live separate from the adoptable cats, who also live in large open areas indoors and are cared for by a small efficient staff. Each year the board is elected by the large membership. I hope to be reelected and if not, to continue to be part of an organization where donations to a smoothly run, financially sound non profit have a direct impact of nearly 300 cats. PS: There is a website with a webcam to watch the cats. Lovely to look at the happy healthy cats any time!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Friends of Cats, Inc. is a not- for- profit, private, no- kill animal shelter and sanctuary. The goal is to find homes for all of the cats, but if a cat is deemed to not be adoptable, it is not euthanized (unless it is terminally ill and suffering).

I have been on the Board of Directors
since 2010. We are a diverse group of people that all have something unique to contribute to Friends of Cats, Inc.

The Board of Directors is very proud of our current staff (both paid and volunteer), who work hard to provide wonderful, loving care to our resident felines. They take time to "match" families and kitties (resulting in a lot less being returned due to not being a good fit with the family). They also work hard providing overall maintenance of the shelter.

Friends of Cats, Inc. has gone through many changes since I became a Board Member, and we continue to strive to improve our shelter.

Friends of Cats, Inc. can always use support, whether you become a member, donate money, make in-kind donations, and/or volunteer your time.

Thank you for considering us, and feel free to contact the shelter if you have questions or comments.
July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I worked with this agency for over 10 years and found over the years that no matter how hard the staff tried to bring the place forward and connect it to other agencies in the area, some of the long term board members always seemed to be afraid of advancement and hindered the shelters chances at gaining a positive reputation in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of the Hogans and the DeGurses on the board. The Hogans have been around way too long and should never be allowed to sit on the board again. When the Hogans overstayed their terms on the board, they just had the term limits re-written to their personal preferences and personal advantage.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Friends of Cats is the largest no-kill and life-care sanctuary for cats in the greater San Diego area. Currently about half of the cats are adoptable and the remaining cats have a home for life at Friends of Cats due to health conditions or other issues that prevent their being adopted. Friends of Cats relies totally on donor support. The board of directors are all volunteers and the staff is augmented by many volunteers who help keep the cats happy and ready for adoption. Like other rescue organizations, Friends of Cats struggles with making ends meet financially. Currently the expenses of supporting almost 300 cats is putting a strain on available funds. If you care about cats, this is the sanctuary that is worthy of your support. Visit the website: www.friendsofcats.org and become a friend of Friends of Cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers