Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.959185
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Friends of Acadia makes a huge difference in restoring and maintaining the beautiful trails and vistas of Acadia NP and keeping it accessible to increasing numbers of visitors. I have visited this park for fifty years and I see every time how Friends of Acadia has preserved and enhanced its beauty.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

Friends of Acadia - in many ways - is the backbone of Acadia National Park.
While our national park system was designed for everyone
it is through the hard work of FOA
that each individual genuinely feels that connection!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

Everywhere on the trails of Acadia National Park you see evidence of their work, from trail maintenance to involving youth. They help supplement park service budget at a time of uncertain funding. Every national park should have a friend like the Friends of Acadia.
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

We love everything about Acadia National Park and support the great efforts of Friends of Acadia who preserve the Park and surrounding area, in all it's various forms from carriage/hiking/biking trail's infrastructure, to it's plant life, and wildlife to it's water and air quality. Friends of Acadia organization works with many other preservation organizations, the towns in the region and local land owners to find way to keep the park and surrounding area as pristine as possible for generations to come. Their new mission is encouraging young people to explore and enjoy the wonders and benefits of the park and outdoor activities. Visit Acadia National Park, see the beauty, feel serenity and you will want to join with Friends of Acadia and their support their great mission!
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

Friends of Acadia does wonders to improve and protect Acadia National Park, involve and benefit the communities that surround the park, and promote and nurture volunteerism near and far.
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The work they do in and for the park is so essential to keeping it attractive and usable for visitors, plus, they make a lot of information available to help people find their way around the park and to find interesting things to do in the park that will suit them. Besides, Acadia is an awesome park! Also, their fundraising outreach is tasteful, respectful and informative.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

FoA continues to build on its amazing track record of success in galvanizing support for Acadia National Park, one of this nations most beautiful places. My interactions with the staff have always been top notch. I have always enjoyed the events and activities in which I am able to participate. It's a great nonprofit doing great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

FOA always keeps me up to date with the exciting things happening at Acadia! I look forward to each newsletter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

What does Friends of Acadia do? A better question would be, what don't they do? My husband and our two dogs and I visit Acadia National Park every year, and even with the difficulties that all the parks are experiencing in the last 15 years in terms of funding, we are continually amazed. The park would definitely not be in such great shape without the support--in terms of money, time, volunteers, scientific endeavors, creative projects, corporate involvement, resources, etc.--of FOA. I look forward each year not only to visiting ANP and the surrounding communities of Mount Desert Island, but I actually crave receiving the FOA Journal in the mail three times a year, along with the superbly produced annual report! FOA creates a community that cares not only about the park, but about nature and youth and peace and education and beauty and ethics--in short, all the things that make us human and make us yearn for a better future. In his book Time and Tide in Acadia, Christopher Camuto writes that, "Some days, walking Acadian summits, soaking up the informed silence of these moubtains, you'll want to bow to everything you see." I would submit that there are times when I visit the wonders of Mount Desert Island, I feel the same sort of reverence for the wonderful folks at Friends of Acadia.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I visit the park each year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest ways for people who don't live in Maine to be more involved with FOA throughout the year.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

Acadia National Park is a gift to all of us. Last year I started a hiking group and my friends at Friends of Acadia were of great help to me putting the group together. We hiked a total of 48 trails and each time you could see all the great work and energy Friends have done. With the new trail marker and keeping the trails nice. The park is lucky to have them working so hard at keeping it so pretty. So in closing I would like to say, Thank You Friends Of Acadia for being here.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping with the "Hike the Book" hiking club.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers