Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.955
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

FOA always keeps me up to date with the exciting things happening at Acadia! I look forward to each newsletter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

Friends of Acadia is a top notch organization in every way: it has a clear mission broadly shared by the organization's membership and Board; visionary leadership that listens to the community and its members; collaborates actively with other like-minded nonprofits; works to support Park priorities where appropriate; careful stewards of donations and funds; thoughtful in taking positions and key issues; and knows how to make being active in the organization fun and rewarding. From picking up trash along the roadsides, family fun day, to the annual benefit auction, this is a an exceptionally well-run and effective group.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I have been coming to this amazing place each summer for 33 years. The thing that is most amazing to me is that it hasnt' changed much, only in a positive way, maintaining and improving what is there in the first place. You can feel how much this land is loved and cared for by Friends of Acadia and I have supported them every year in their fine efforts. I first came to Acadia alone, then with my wife, then my children and now my grandchild. I always ask them around now, do you want to go somewhere else? They say NO! We want to always go to Acadia. Thank you FOA for offering people a time to just focus on this beautiful piece of the earth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

Acadia National Park is one of our country's most beautiful national parks and recreation areas. The Friends of Acadia are unlike any group we know of affiliated with a national park. They work hand in hand with the Park, with a large group of volunteers, in maintaining hiking trials and the carriage road paths used by walkers and bikers. They also raise awareness of Acadia, it's history, it's opportunities and needs and conservation efforts. We discovered Acadia nine years ago and it is our favorite vacation destination. The friends of Acadia newsletter keeps us connected with Acadia throughout the year. Through it, we feel at one with the natural beauty and the incredible history of Acadia. In retirement we hope to spend more time in Acadia and become active volunteers with the Friends of Acadia, working side by side with others devoted to working in nature and conserving the beauty of this national park treasure for many generations to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I live in the Acadia National Park area. Friends of Acadia makes the park so much better, and puts on lots of interesting programs to encourage us to use the park. My whole family volunteers with them as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I worked for Friends of Acadia for 16 years, and it was some of the most creative, caring work I've ever done. I loved being a partner to one of America's national parks, with the surrounding communities, and with so many people who care deeply about this place and with the national park promise. It was an experience of shared commitment, concern, and positive hopefulness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

My two kids and I have helped raked the Carriage Road in Acadia National Park and volunteered at different educational stations on Family Fun Day in July. Friends of Acadia thanks all volunteers with a cruise and small dinner every September. But this year was the first time we heard about it and joined the cruise. It was awesome. I have also volunteered with other organizations, but Friends of Acadia is the best so far in terms of how it's organized and how they show their appreciation to volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

Acadia National Park is an American treasure. I have enjoyed hiking and biking and swimming in the park since moving to Mount Desert Island nearly 25 years ago. Friends of Acadia does outstanding work preserving the park, working with volunteers and partners to keep it clean and safe. Bravo!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

What does Friends of Acadia do? A better question would be, what don't they do? My husband and our two dogs and I visit Acadia National Park every year, and even with the difficulties that all the parks are experiencing in the last 15 years in terms of funding, we are continually amazed. The park would definitely not be in such great shape without the support--in terms of money, time, volunteers, scientific endeavors, creative projects, corporate involvement, resources, etc.--of FOA. I look forward each year not only to visiting ANP and the surrounding communities of Mount Desert Island, but I actually crave receiving the FOA Journal in the mail three times a year, along with the superbly produced annual report! FOA creates a community that cares not only about the park, but about nature and youth and peace and education and beauty and ethics--in short, all the things that make us human and make us yearn for a better future. In his book Time and Tide in Acadia, Christopher Camuto writes that, "Some days, walking Acadian summits, soaking up the informed silence of these moubtains, you'll want to bow to everything you see." I would submit that there are times when I visit the wonders of Mount Desert Island, I feel the same sort of reverence for the wonderful folks at Friends of Acadia.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I visit the park each year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest ways for people who don't live in Maine to be more involved with FOA throughout the year.

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

Acadia National Park is a gift to all of us. Last year I started a hiking group and my friends at Friends of Acadia were of great help to me putting the group together. We hiked a total of 48 trails and each time you could see all the great work and energy Friends have done. With the new trail marker and keeping the trails nice. The park is lucky to have them working so hard at keeping it so pretty. So in closing I would like to say, Thank You Friends Of Acadia for being here.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping with the "Hike the Book" hiking club.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers