Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
May 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Lourdes Encarnacion and my daughter Angeluna has been going to FYI for 2 years. During her time there she has learned so much! The staff that is supprtive, responsible and teaches the youth how to be a positive role model and leadership skills. FYI as given my daughter opportunities to help people within in the community such as making sleeping bagsbfor the homeless, and volunteering in distributing cans to people in need. This has given my daughter valuable insight on how she can make a difference helping others and learning very early that she has the ability to make a positive change. I truly am very grateful to have an organization that of FYI and will recommend it to anyone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

FYI was my formal introduction into the world of after schools. It is a welcoming, family environment that makes everyone feel as if they belong. There was always room for creativity and growth for both staff and participants. Youth all over the world need organizations such as these that will provide personal attention and foster growth and community awareness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hi my name is Sarai Mercado, and I have been in FYI for 2 years. My experience in FYI has been amazing. FYI as been my second home. FYI helps with what i need and when i need it. If I need help in s subject in school and I come to FYI and tell them they right away help me with what ever I need! I when i enter the FYI building I am filled with joy and happiness. Even on a sad day when I enter the FYI building my mood changes and I am happy when I leave the building. Thank You FYI for being the way you are!!!!!!!!
May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been in Fresh Youth Initiatives for over 3 years now. I have many reason why I still come to FYI. One of the main reasons is because they treat the paricipant likes a family. Another, reason is because I have alot of fun in FYI. A reason I still come to FYI is because I see my friend that don't go to my school. Another reason, is because I enjoy being here.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

my experience started when i was 10 years old and i love it, i never thought that i will love fyi so much. Fyi is a part of my heart and i will never leave fyi because i will feel like i am betraying my family. This is the best program i ever had been. i wish i could spend more years here.!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I been in Fresh Youth Initiatives for 3 years. Its been a pleasure being here. I love coming in everyday because your always welcomed here and its like a family. Ive learned so many things here. We get to experience new things and travel to so many places.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Enmanuel Portes and I have been with for about 7 years now, I originally found out about FYI through my older brother, he introduced me to the program and had always told me about how he had so much fun and had some very amazing experiences. So as soon as I met the age requirement I decided to join the Summer Camp and after school programs, and ever since I have fallen in love with FYI. I continue coming to FYI because whenever I come here I always have a fun time and I really enjoy myself now matter what we do, everything from playing UNO with other participants or just having conversations with the Boys Group. Also I have a fun time doing community service, whenever we do service and people notice our good acts it gives me a very satisfying feeling and lets me feel as though I truly am making a difference to my community.
May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with FYI for 3 years now and I have been enjoying everyday of FYI. FYI has taught me not be shy and to be outspoken. The reason I keep coming to FYI is because if I don't come I feel like I'm leaving my other family. FYI is a big part of my life now. My FYI experience cannot be told in a summary.
May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is my 4th year in Fresh Youth Initiatives i come to FYI because i like when they treat us like family. They help us with our homework,with school and more stuff. They do something that others program don't do like treat us like we were there own son and daughter they tell us the right thing to do not the bad. FYI taught me so many things that helped me get to where i am right now.They like my second family.
April 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

FYI taught me so many lessons that helped me get to where I am today. I learned about humility and being thankful for what I have. I learned that doing good things for others is something that you do for yourself, not because you think it's what is expected of you, or because you expect something in return. I learned that I am important, that what I do really can affect other people's lives. I learned that the world was huge, and that no place is perfect but change is possible and it starts with ME. I also learned what it means to be a leader. Leading isn't about forcing people to follow you, it's about knowing who you are, what you are capable of, and doing it with conviction in order to get others to walk side by side WITH you. FYI made me feel like the sky was the limit. That no one could stop me from doing whatever I wanted but myself. I remember wanting to be a music producer, and having a so much support from FYI. They told me that anything is possible and hard work is what gets you to where you want to be. As I got older I had a new goal of wanting to wear a suit and be like the guys on Wall Street. Using the lessons and skills that I learned from FYI, I started to take my college studies seriously and set a goal of getting into the honors program at Lehman College, and I did it. I strove to maintain a high GPA, and I did it. I strove to be different and do what others thought was too hard by learning another language – Japanese – and I did that too. Then toward the end of college, I was accepted into a competitive internship at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York for the summer. It was a great opportunity, and I knew that if I worked hard enough, and applied everything that I had learned in life thus far, that I could turn my internship into a career. Today I work full time for the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, and I know that without everything I gained from FYI, I would probably find myself in a different situation today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes to FYI

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers