Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

Even before Freedom Waters was a nonprofit I called Deb Frenkel to get information about Adapted Sailing because we wanted to start a program in Traverse City Michigan. I saw her passion and heart to reach out to those who needed that extra encouragement or adaptation to be successful. She worked with me endlessly, by phone, to help structure the program and get the boats we needed. She listened to me cry from discouragement, but NEVER gave up on me. Here we are 4 years later with 5 boats and a program that has helped hundreds of children and adults enjoy the water, and achieve independence through sailing. I've watched FWF grow and I am amazed at what the leadership and volunteers have accomplished. Our program is now reaching out to other communities, and passing the torch that Freedom Waters gave us. Barbara Hutchens, Traverse City Michigan

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2012

more

December 13, 2012

I have volunteered for FreedomWaters Foundation several times, and every outing or event runs smoothly and is well organized.It's usually "the smiles on the faces"of the participants that confirm the efficacy of something as simple as a couple of hours in a boat on the water. The enthusiasm of the founder, Debra Frenkel and the volunteers is truly contagious, and among the volunteers there is an almost reluctant admission that, in working with those labeled disabled, and the kids fighting cancer, it's the volunteers who feel the most blessed after an outing. One of my most memorable expeiences with FWF occurred at a disabled sailing event, watching a blind man sail. I wish FWF success and growth in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012

more

December 12, 2012

I would personally like to thank Freedom Waters Foundation... They recently invited my family on a day of deep sea fishing with Captain Bill Wilson and Debby Fenkle..."WE HAD A BLAST". tHIS IS a wonderful foundation that helps childrens with all circumstances, and I am truly thankful to have been apart of it. Sincerely Denise, Shawn, Cody and Dillon Simmons

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2012

more

December 12, 2012

I am truly lucky to be a part of Freedom Waters Foundation; this amazing organization and the people within it have changed my life. During my first volunteer meeting in fall of 2011 I began to hear the passionate testimonies given by volunteers, board members, and participants about what they loved about FWF. I became inspired to be a part of it and dove right in. As of January 2012 I was hired part time as an employee and began to help set up the programs and events for the year. Freedom Waters Foundation has given me the opportunity to provide a day of fun, healing, and joy to individuals' and their families' lives. To see the camaraderie of a group come together from everyone from a child with a life threatening illness, a person with a disability, their family, the boat crew, and the FWF representative(s) is truly astounding. Freedom Waters Foundation offers the environment and opportunity for everyone to come together and share the love, understanding, and acceptance that makes this world a beautiful place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2012

more

December 11, 2012

I've had a great experience with Freedom Waters Foundation, first as a program participant, and also as a volunteer. My daughter has special needs, and we were invited to go on an outing hosted by Cruise Naples. It was a great experience that we both enjoyed. We were blessed with the opportunity to go on another outing the following year, and everyone was just as friendly and accommodating as the first time. What I like most is the way everyone makes us feel welcome. After being on the boat as a program participant, I became a FWF volunteer. As a volunteer, I enjoy helping out with small tasks like writing notecards or checking guests in at the registration table. Or simply being a part of the team that makes the trip a welcoming, fun and safe boating experience for other families. If I can make someone else feel welcome and appreciated by sharing a smile or sending a card in the mail, then my time as a volunteer was well-spent. And the FWF team always makes ME feel appreciated, even for performing the simplest of tasks. Its like a big family, and each time I go to FWF outings I have opportunities for socializing with people I enjoy and for making new friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us coordinate our boat outings; help in the office; assist in fundraising; volunteer in our special events; be a mentor; be a FWF boat host; donate time on your vessel to share with others. Volunteer