Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
1234.927935
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I had the most wonderful time on the trip. Appsolutly no pressure for me and just a time for me to sit back and relax. Pepper was great at contacting me and keeping me informed on what was going on. I hope I'm able to go on another wonderful trip again with them. Thank you for the awesome time I had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

Freedom Alliance made the difference in the well being of our family when my husband was medivaced from theater. In the two years, 5 surgeries, loss of our family home, and the harrowing Medical reti... more

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

People often ask me to explain the purpose of Freedom Alliance. And my reply is that they help the veterans and servicemembers recover spiritually and mentally from the injury. Our family has been helped by this organization since 2010 when my husband was medevac from Iraq and then moved to Walter Reed after collapsing from injuries received in theater. He was crushed when a building collapsed on him and three other servicemen. There are resources that help deal with the day to day survival of life after injury. I.E. paying the bills, making sure the family has a working vehicle…which I call the critical basic necessities. But then what happens to the veteran and their family? They survive and their whole world is turned upside down. They (and I do mean they the servicemember and their spouse/older kids) become depressed, feel isolated and the lifelong coping begins. Friends and family that used to be able to understand deployment issues or military life , can’t begin to understand where they are coming from life after injury (though if we are lucky there are a few that try really hard to understand and listen and stick around). Freedom Alliance steps in and tries to give back some of the life they lost when they were injured. Having a smiling face visiting you at Walter Reed, going fishing, hunting, on a vacation, out to dinner…all sound insignificant until you realize that these small moments are the only time these veterans and their families get a sense of being human or a sense of belonging and the internal healing can begin. Along with the support of our community, family and friends we have started healing. But that kick start to create new happy memories was given to us by Freedom Alliance with a fishing trip down the Rogue river for my husband a few years back. Fast forward a year or two and we have a 1 ½ year old little girl, my husband has finally been medically retired from the military, we are driving 60-75 minutes one way 3-4 times a week for VA appointments, my mother passes away after a long struggle with non-Hodgkins lymphoma, and we need to move out of yet another rental (because they are selling the house). Having to move so often (especially now with my husband being disabled) is beyond stressful. We know that we need to buy a house and move somewhere closer to a VA hospital to continue his treatment. But now we are on a fixed income and I have quit my job to be his caregiver. Life was a struggle once again. We mentioned our latest problem when we touched base with one of the outreach people at Freedom Alliance and he mentioned to apply for their Heroes to Homeowners program they coordinate with US Bank. Fast forward a little less than a year later and we have relocated to Tucson, Arizona, living in a mortgage free home graciously donated through US bank, Freedom Alliance and Five Brothers. We have a solid foundation for the first time ever. Ever!!! We are 15 minutes from the VA hospital and we now have time to focus on building new spiritual relationships and helping other veterans. Our spiritual and mental healing for our family has truly begun. Thank you Freedom Alliance and all your donors!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have ANY suggestions to make them better. All our interactions have been warm, prompt and understanding,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Freedom Alliance made the difference in the well being of our family when my husband was medivaced from theater. In the two years, 5 surgeries, loss of our family home, and the harrowing Medical retirement process they have provided help with day to day necessities, a well needed fishing trip that helped restore a chunk of my husbands spirit and the knowledge that there are people who care about the soldiers that have fought for our country.So often it is not feasible to add things like a retreat, a nice dinner or a splurge purchase that makes you feel life is a little more bearable. It's these things so many people take for granted that when you are strapped by your budget because of medical procedures, work taken off to be a caretaker, and all the other myriad costs (extra gas, a hotel room, meals outside of the home) that doesn't get done. Freedom Alliance stepped in and bridged a gap that made a huge life transistion that much smoother. They will always have our support!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2014

more

June 25, 2014

This charity to me helps you bond with other veterans who have experienced some of the same things you suffer with. It gives you a chance to be you and not have to put on a front in front of civilians. You are able to talk to one another without being judged. Without this organization I don't know where I'd be. I love pepper he has helped me be myself and most of all in times of need given me his ear when needed the most.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

Freedom Alliance is a FANTASTIC organization that truly goes above and beyond! What they have done for my daughter and I is amazing. The staff that they have is among the best of any I have dealt with, they make your experience and conversations with them truly enjoyable!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I am extremely grateful to the Freedom Alliance Scholarship Fund and its generous supporters, and appreciate this opportunity that is deeply rooted in the military. I am thankful that because of this scholarship, I can attend the college of my choice, Dickinson College, and that my two younger brothers can also attend a four-year college of their choosing.

Though I have received a few other scholarships from other helpful organizations, the one I received from Freedom Alliance has significantly stood out. The staff and supporters do everything they can to make it a personal experience. For example, not only have I received a scholarship, I have gotten birthday cards signed by everyone, and even a care package for finals week while I was at school. I was also invited to and participated in a retreat in Arlington that allowed me to meet a group of other students like myself who have experienced the same loss. The visit being the weekend before father’s day, was an important reminder that we are not alone.

Their hearts are in the right place, and it clearly shows by how much they help and genuinely care for each and every student. It is especially important to me because the reason behind giving the scholarship is to honor my father. Through it, I know that my father’s sacrifice is not forgotten, and there are gracious individuals across the country who also respect and remember him through supporting me by their donations. Freedom Alliance has especially helped me because though my dad was a Marine, the circumstances surrounding his death were a rare case which meant I was denied many forms of government benefits such as the G.I. Bill or David Fry Scholarship. To Freedom Alliance, I am not just another scholarship recipient or statistic, but the daughter of Lieutenant Colonel Robert Zangas. They make me proud to receive this scholarship because of the way it honors my dad.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

I have twice had the opportunity to participate in Freedom Alliance events. The first, on short notice, was a duck hunting trip in early 2014 near Enfield, North Carolina. The event was hosted by a local hunt club, and the participants were mostly combat wounded Marines. With the presence of Pepper Ailor from Freedom Alliance, the event was excellent - beyond what I had originally anticipated. I was then invited to attend the annual fishing trip to Los Suenos, Costa Rica. I met wounded Marines and Army EOD experts who were apprehensive at first as we loaded a flight out of Charlotte, NC. As soon as we arrived at Los Suenos, we were welcomed with open arms by all of the great American patriots who invited us into their condos and onto their fishing yachts for two days of unbelievable fun and fellowship on the yachts catching sailfish. We also went zip-lining and took in a crocodile tour. Everyone had an absolute blast and many of us have become Facebook friends and continue to share our experiences. A special thanks goes out to Pepper Ailor, Gerald and Virginia Lindholm, Rita Scott, and everyone involved with Freedom Alliance – and of course Lt. Col. Oliver North. Thank you again, Pepper, for inviting me. Respectfully, CW4 Jim Herring, US Army Special Forces.
May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

I wasn't expecting to have as much fun as I did. The house that we were in was excellent. The folks of Smith Mountain Lake Striper Club ensured we had a great time and made sure we had lots of fish and helped us to maximize our filets off of the fish. I hope to be able to gin on more of there trips.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There aren't any changes that I can think of. This was excellent.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

I am a medically retired Army EOD tech that went on the 2014 Costa Rica trip which was graciously donated by Freedom Alliance, US and Costa Rican residents, and businesses. I didn't know what exactly to expect, but it is an understatement to say that my expectations were blown away and that I had an amazing time.

First, the generosity of our hosts was simply amazing and greatly appreciated. Enough can't be said about all of them. It was also a blast to be with them, from the pool parties to fishing with them. Their time, dedication, and company did not go unnoticed or unappreciated. It really reminded all of us that people do indeed care, not just about the United States and its service-members in general, but you as an individual.

Second, Freedom Alliance really did well, extremely well, on making a trip like this happen. The people who work with and for FA are outstanding and hardworking individuals that makes it look effortless to us, who receive the benefits of all their hard work. ( *cough cough* Pepper *cough*)

Third, the sum benefit. Beyond the activities that we all enjoyed: such as fishing (which I enjoyed much more than I thought I would), pool parties, and golf; was that the fellow service-members we met during that week. There was such an interesting mix of individuals, but it was great to meet them all. It was great to relax with a few other EOD techs, Marines, and even a few SF guys. It's hard to explain why aspect is important, but Freedom Alliance and their partners gets it.

I don't have enough thanks to give that could ever express how grateful I am, or the great time I had.
This is definitely a trip that I will be telling stories about for an extremely long time.
-Bill Carlson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing I have seen personally would warrant a change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

The opportunity Freedom Alliance provided me is very appreciated. I was injured by an IED in Iraq in 2004, I deployed multiple times after that to Afghanistan and Iraq, because of those deployments my injuries grew worse. I suffer from severe neck and back problems. The trip I went on through Freedom Alliance showed me that I can still do stuff, we did stuff that I would not have even thought of doing (we did a zipline and went fishing for sail fish in the ocean). I would never thought I would do something like that, it was truly amazing. Also the sharing of experiences with other veterans with injuries, and how they are dealing with them and what they are doing was also very helpful. It was definitely a life changing experience, and definitely for the better!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes, it is great just like it is

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Freedom Alliance has been helpng the Navy for years. Thye always give Sailors an opportunity to enjoy the surrounding area of Chicago's finest diners. In addition, they have made donations to worthy causes affiliated with the Navy as well...THANK YOU !!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers