Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.931035
Write A Review
June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I am extremely grateful to the Freedom Alliance Scholarship Fund and its generous supporters, and appreciate this opportunity that is deeply rooted in the military. I am thankful that because of this scholarship, I can attend the college of my choice, Dickinson College, and that my two younger brothers can also attend a four-year college of their choosing.

Though I have received a few other scholarships from other helpful organizations, the one I received from Freedom Alliance has significantly stood out. The staff and supporters do everything they can to make it a personal experience. For example, not only have I received a scholarship, I have gotten birthday cards signed by everyone, and even a care package for finals week while I was at school. I was also invited to and participated in a retreat in Arlington that allowed me to meet a group of other students like myself who have experienced the same loss. The visit being the weekend before father’s day, was an important reminder that we are not alone.

Their hearts are in the right place, and it clearly shows by how much they help and genuinely care for each and every student. It is especially important to me because the reason behind giving the scholarship is to honor my father. Through it, I know that my father’s sacrifice is not forgotten, and there are gracious individuals across the country who also respect and remember him through supporting me by their donations. Freedom Alliance has especially helped me because though my dad was a Marine, the circumstances surrounding his death were a rare case which meant I was denied many forms of government benefits such as the G.I. Bill or David Fry Scholarship. To Freedom Alliance, I am not just another scholarship recipient or statistic, but the daughter of Lieutenant Colonel Robert Zangas. They make me proud to receive this scholarship because of the way it honors my dad.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014

more

May 21, 2014

I have twice had the opportunity to participate in Freedom Alliance events. The first, on short notice, was a duck hunting trip in early 2014 near Enfield, North Carolina. The event was hosted by a local hunt club, and the participants were mostly combat wounded Marines. With the presence of Pepper Ailor from Freedom Alliance, the event was excellent - beyond what I had originally anticipated. I was then invited to attend the annual fishing trip to Los Suenos, Costa Rica. I met wounded Marines and Army EOD experts who were apprehensive at first as we loaded a flight out of Charlotte, NC. As soon as we arrived at Los Suenos, we were welcomed with open arms by all of the great American patriots who invited us into their condos and onto their fishing yachts for two days of unbelievable fun and fellowship on the yachts catching sailfish. We also went zip-lining and took in a crocodile tour. Everyone had an absolute blast and many of us have become Facebook friends and continue to share our experiences. A special thanks goes out to Pepper Ailor, Gerald and Virginia Lindholm, Rita Scott, and everyone involved with Freedom Alliance – and of course Lt. Col. Oliver North. Thank you again, Pepper, for inviting me. Respectfully, CW4 Jim Herring, US Army Special Forces.
May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

I wasn't expecting to have as much fun as I did. The house that we were in was excellent. The folks of Smith Mountain Lake Striper Club ensured we had a great time and made sure we had lots of fish and helped us to maximize our filets off of the fish. I hope to be able to gin on more of there trips.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There aren't any changes that I can think of. This was excellent.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014

more

May 14, 2014

I am a medically retired Army EOD tech that went on the 2014 Costa Rica trip which was graciously donated by Freedom Alliance, US and Costa Rican residents, and businesses. I didn't know what exactly to expect, but it is an understatement to say that my expectations were blown away and that I had an amazing time.

First, the generosity of our hosts was simply amazing and greatly appreciated. Enough can't be said about all of them. It was also a blast to be with them, from the pool parties to fishing with them. Their time, dedication, and company did not go unnoticed or unappreciated. It really reminded all of us that people do indeed care, not just about the United States and its service-members in general, but you as an individual.

Second, Freedom Alliance really did well, extremely well, on making a trip like this happen. The people who work with and for FA are outstanding and hardworking individuals that makes it look effortless to us, who receive the benefits of all their hard work. ( *cough cough* Pepper *cough*)

Third, the sum benefit. Beyond the activities that we all enjoyed: such as fishing (which I enjoyed much more than I thought I would), pool parties, and golf; was that the fellow service-members we met during that week. There was such an interesting mix of individuals, but it was great to meet them all. It was great to relax with a few other EOD techs, Marines, and even a few SF guys. It's hard to explain why aspect is important, but Freedom Alliance and their partners gets it.

I don't have enough thanks to give that could ever express how grateful I am, or the great time I had.
This is definitely a trip that I will be telling stories about for an extremely long time.
-Bill Carlson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing I have seen personally would warrant a change.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

The opportunity Freedom Alliance provided me is very appreciated. I was injured by an IED in Iraq in 2004, I deployed multiple times after that to Afghanistan and Iraq, because of those deployments my injuries grew worse. I suffer from severe neck and back problems. The trip I went on through Freedom Alliance showed me that I can still do stuff, we did stuff that I would not have even thought of doing (we did a zipline and went fishing for sail fish in the ocean). I would never thought I would do something like that, it was truly amazing. Also the sharing of experiences with other veterans with injuries, and how they are dealing with them and what they are doing was also very helpful. It was definitely a life changing experience, and definitely for the better!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes, it is great just like it is

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

Freedom Alliance has been helpng the Navy for years. Thye always give Sailors an opportunity to enjoy the surrounding area of Chicago's finest diners. In addition, they have made donations to worthy causes affiliated with the Navy as well...THANK YOU !!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Freedom Alliance provides me and my fellow Wounded Warrior Caregivers a chance to relax and build our network of support. Freedom Alliance allows us to get together in a non-hospital setting and be ourselves, not "Sgt. Whoever's spouse."

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

The folks at Freedom Alliance came to Fort Riley and were very professional and gracious in their support of wounded warriors. Alicia went out of her way to include everyone and even opened a slot or two up for extra warriors at a dinner she hosted. We all had a wonderful time away and for a moment the cares and concerns were washed away with laughter and good food. Thank you again for all you do and have done!
MAJ Dave Foust

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More events in the Midwest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

Freedom Alliance has been there for my family and I throughout my experience as a soldier, wounded warrior and veteran. The people who work for this organization are some of the most devoted caring people you will ever meet and they put 100% of their effort and resources into helping our servicemen and veterans. I can not thank them enough for being there to help me as I was transitioning from the service to retirement!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing! This is a wonderful group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Our organization, Orange County Navy League, has partnered with Freedom Alliance on Sailor of the Year support in San Diego. It is without a doubt one of the most valuable non-profits serving the men and women of our military. The support that they provide to service members and their families can not be matched.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers