Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.923815
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

We had the pleasure of coming in contact with Freedom Alliance in December of 2012 when they contacted WWBN-E to help some families with Christmas, Pepper and his wife came to our home and totally went over the top. Our daughter still remembers Pepper and his wife; till this day she will grab her favorite blanket and remind us "Pepper gave me this blanket!"
My husband has had a couple trips with Freedom Alliance and every time he's came home all he could talk about is what great people he was with and what a great time he had. This past weekend we had the pleasure of attending the couples retreat at David and Rita Scott's place. I have never walked into anyone's home and felt right at home the way they made us feel! We had a blast and was able to get to know other couples that are/have been in the same situations we have faced. We can not express our gratitude enough to these amazing people, who we know feel are like family. To Freedom Alliance, David and Rita, Pepper, and everyone else involved we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for giving us the most wonderful, relaxing, stress-free weekend we've ever had.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

Freedom Alliance has managed to take us to a structured event but allow us the leeway to not feel overwhelmed and rushed. The trip to Florida to fish a spectacular tournament was amazing in itself but the time allowed to get some good conversations going amongst my fellow wounded vets was highly beneficial. Pepper, from Freedom Alliance, was genuinely a great guy that truly cared about the cause. His obvious desire to paint a stress free environment was felt. The Freedom Alliance trip was one of those life memories and can't be forgotten.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That is truly a difficult question as I cannot come up with anything that needs to be addressed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

My name is Dan Burgess and I was invited to be part of the 2nd Grouper Grapple this passed weekend in Fort Myers, FL. I was with seven other warriors and had one of the most life changing events in a long time. Freedom Alliance places wounded warriors together and friendships are made almost instantly and ones that will last a life time. They also take the pressure off of you for a couple of days and puts you in a peace of mind as you talk with your other brothers and learn from each other. Freedom Alliance has been the best piece of my life along with my family to help me recover from army injuries both physically and mentally. Thank you for the time to relax and spend time with my family of brother.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes. This is a class act organization. I just wish others would be more like them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 12, 2014

I went out to smith mountain lake with the smith mountain lake striper club and pepper with freedom alliance and it was one of the best fishing experiences of my life. I am so happy and greatful for t... more

August 19, 2014

I had the chance to be invited to the grouper grapple down in Fort Myers Fl this past weekend. It was an amazing time and cannot say thank you enough for the opportunity to join so a fine event full of patriotic people. The way we we're treated was amazing to say the least. The people and hospitality was every where and was offered by everyone especially my good friend Pepper Ailor and Brian Peachey. With those two men logistically putting together the best weekend I have had in a long time. It really lifted my spirits and brought all of us wounded warriors close together. Thank you so much from myself and my family. Respectfully Sgt Sean Simmonds

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing they are making a huge difference in the lives of hundreds if not more wounded warriors from all branches. They are helping them transition and get back to doing things they love and that is a very important thing in there lives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 12, 2014

I went out to smith mountain lake with the smith mountain lake striper club and pepper with freedom alliance and it was one of the best fishing experiences of my life. I am so happy and greatful for the chance to come out to this event. The weekend was so peaceful and was amazing to get out on the water with some fellow veterans and active duty marines and sailors to share stories and get that "therapy" doctors and base sorts and cannot give you. The house was amazing and pepper took awesome care of us. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the chance of a life time to get out and meet some great heart felt people who just want to give back and get to know us. It was something I will never for forget. Semper FI Sgt Sean Simmonds
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

my name is John Bentley I'm a 25 Year old USMC Ret. wounded Warrior and I just went to the 2nd annual Grouper Grapple with Freedom Alliance, it was a life changing event, usually after my accident in Afghanistan i would keep to my self and stay at home most of the time but this organization got me back with my brothers for a real life event that was awesome. All we did was talk to each other and fish all day and meet some of the best people around that all they want to do is help out wounded veterans. Freedom Alliance is by far one of the best organizations i have dealt with. and they let me know about other events coming up that i would have never known about before. thank you Pepper for a amazing trip.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

there is really nothing i would change about this great organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I had the most wonderful time on the trip. Appsolutly no pressure for me and just a time for me to sit back and relax. Pepper was great at contacting me and keeping me informed on what was going on. I hope I'm able to go on another wonderful trip again with them. Thank you for the awesome time I had.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

Freedom Alliance made the difference in the well being of our family when my husband was medivaced from theater. In the two years, 5 surgeries, loss of our family home, and the harrowing Medical reti... more

July 7, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

People often ask me to explain the purpose of Freedom Alliance. And my reply is that they help the veterans and servicemembers recover spiritually and mentally from the injury. Our family has been helped by this organization since 2010 when my husband was medevac from Iraq and then moved to Walter Reed after collapsing from injuries received in theater. He was crushed when a building collapsed on him and three other servicemen. There are resources that help deal with the day to day survival of life after injury. I.E. paying the bills, making sure the family has a working vehicle…which I call the critical basic necessities. But then what happens to the veteran and their family? They survive and their whole world is turned upside down. They (and I do mean they the servicemember and their spouse/older kids) become depressed, feel isolated and the lifelong coping begins. Friends and family that used to be able to understand deployment issues or military life , can’t begin to understand where they are coming from life after injury (though if we are lucky there are a few that try really hard to understand and listen and stick around). Freedom Alliance steps in and tries to give back some of the life they lost when they were injured. Having a smiling face visiting you at Walter Reed, going fishing, hunting, on a vacation, out to dinner…all sound insignificant until you realize that these small moments are the only time these veterans and their families get a sense of being human or a sense of belonging and the internal healing can begin. Along with the support of our community, family and friends we have started healing. But that kick start to create new happy memories was given to us by Freedom Alliance with a fishing trip down the Rogue river for my husband a few years back. Fast forward a year or two and we have a 1 ½ year old little girl, my husband has finally been medically retired from the military, we are driving 60-75 minutes one way 3-4 times a week for VA appointments, my mother passes away after a long struggle with non-Hodgkins lymphoma, and we need to move out of yet another rental (because they are selling the house). Having to move so often (especially now with my husband being disabled) is beyond stressful. We know that we need to buy a house and move somewhere closer to a VA hospital to continue his treatment. But now we are on a fixed income and I have quit my job to be his caregiver. Life was a struggle once again. We mentioned our latest problem when we touched base with one of the outreach people at Freedom Alliance and he mentioned to apply for their Heroes to Homeowners program they coordinate with US Bank. Fast forward a little less than a year later and we have relocated to Tucson, Arizona, living in a mortgage free home graciously donated through US bank, Freedom Alliance and Five Brothers. We have a solid foundation for the first time ever. Ever!!! We are 15 minutes from the VA hospital and we now have time to focus on building new spiritual relationships and helping other veterans. Our spiritual and mental healing for our family has truly begun. Thank you Freedom Alliance and all your donors!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't have ANY suggestions to make them better. All our interactions have been warm, prompt and understanding,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Freedom Alliance made the difference in the well being of our family when my husband was medivaced from theater. In the two years, 5 surgeries, loss of our family home, and the harrowing Medical retirement process they have provided help with day to day necessities, a well needed fishing trip that helped restore a chunk of my husbands spirit and the knowledge that there are people who care about the soldiers that have fought for our country.So often it is not feasible to add things like a retreat, a nice dinner or a splurge purchase that makes you feel life is a little more bearable. It's these things so many people take for granted that when you are strapped by your budget because of medical procedures, work taken off to be a caretaker, and all the other myriad costs (extra gas, a hotel room, meals outside of the home) that doesn't get done. Freedom Alliance stepped in and bridged a gap that made a huge life transistion that much smoother. They will always have our support!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2014

more

June 25, 2014

This charity to me helps you bond with other veterans who have experienced some of the same things you suffer with. It gives you a chance to be you and not have to put on a front in front of civilians. You are able to talk to one another without being judged. Without this organization I don't know where I'd be. I love pepper he has helped me be myself and most of all in times of need given me his ear when needed the most.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

Freedom Alliance is a FANTASTIC organization that truly goes above and beyond! What they have done for my daughter and I is amazing. The staff that they have is among the best of any I have dealt with, they make your experience and conversations with them truly enjoyable!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I am extremely grateful to the Freedom Alliance Scholarship Fund and its generous supporters, and appreciate this opportunity that is deeply rooted in the military. I am thankful that because of this scholarship, I can attend the college of my choice, Dickinson College, and that my two younger brothers can also attend a four-year college of their choosing.

Though I have received a few other scholarships from other helpful organizations, the one I received from Freedom Alliance has significantly stood out. The staff and supporters do everything they can to make it a personal experience. For example, not only have I received a scholarship, I have gotten birthday cards signed by everyone, and even a care package for finals week while I was at school. I was also invited to and participated in a retreat in Arlington that allowed me to meet a group of other students like myself who have experienced the same loss. The visit being the weekend before father’s day, was an important reminder that we are not alone.

Their hearts are in the right place, and it clearly shows by how much they help and genuinely care for each and every student. It is especially important to me because the reason behind giving the scholarship is to honor my father. Through it, I know that my father’s sacrifice is not forgotten, and there are gracious individuals across the country who also respect and remember him through supporting me by their donations. Freedom Alliance has especially helped me because though my dad was a Marine, the circumstances surrounding his death were a rare case which meant I was denied many forms of government benefits such as the G.I. Bill or David Fry Scholarship. To Freedom Alliance, I am not just another scholarship recipient or statistic, but the daughter of Lieutenant Colonel Robert Zangas. They make me proud to receive this scholarship because of the way it honors my dad.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers