Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.971435
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been on many surgical trips before as a cleft surgeon but the FTS trip to Guatemala was the most organized trip I have ever been on. I am excited to be involved on another mission in the near future

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Free to Smile is an incredible organization that delivers top-notch and life-changing medical care to under-served populations in many areas of the world. The administration, planning and logistics that are behind the delivery of care is meticulous and results in flawless execution of each mission by allowing the clinicians to focus on the patients. Dr. Byron Henry painstakingly mentors and guides team members on trips, creating a congenial and rewarding environment, which is directly reflected in the outstanding team dynamic, function and attitude. This all translates into an efficient, enjoyable and eminently rewarding experience for the individual team members, and produces an optimal environment for delivery of compassionate care. The level of that care is unparalleled, with a variety of procedures being completed, but focused on cleft lip and cleft palate repair. Direct follow-up is maintained through in-country connections to ensure outstanding functional and cosmetic results. The impact that Free To Smile has on these patients is truly profound, and the same can be said for the positive impact on the volunteers. Participation with Free To Smile has been one of the most meaningful things that I have done in my life, and it is unreservedly a truly outstanding organization and deserves to be recognized as a Top-Rated Nonprofit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

After participating in my first mission with Free to Smile in October 2012, I was blown away with the management and planning that allowed the trip to run so smoothly. FTS not only provides free surgical and dental care to their patients, but they partner with local organizations in each region to ensure their patients are looked after once the mission is complete. It was a privilege to work along side the skilled volunteers recruited by FTS. I have never been a part of such a diverse group of individuals with varying professions who were truly able to collaborate together. I am so thankful to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Free to Smile is a tremendous organization. I have volunteered numerous times with other groups and have had great experiences. However, my last trip to Guatemala with Free to Smile was something special. I have never seen a group come together so well and accomplish so much. The Free to Smile leadership is focused, kind, and enthusiastic. They are constantly trying to improve the superb care they already deliver. Their focus on helping children in need, and the sacrifices they make to do this are inspiring. I am grateful to be a part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Awesome Non-profit organization that donates time, treasure and talent to those in need. This organization is changing the lives of many children and adults in various countries. A smile can change the world!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

Wonderful organization providing life-changing procedures to children who otherwise would not have their cleft lips or palates repaired. It was amazing to watch the reactions of the parents the first time they saw their child after surgery. Extremely fun and hardworking group of people and overall very rewarding experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Great group of people, providing a wonderful service!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Volunteering for Free to Smile and traveling to Guatemala was as life changing for me as it was for the children we helped. Children's smiles and lives were transformed in such a short time. A cleft lip and/or palate can be such a minor deformatory but left untreated is a life long disfigurement. Children around the world deserve to smile freely and that is exactly what this amazing non profit provides. I am beyond proud to be apart of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Free to Smile is a wonderful non-profit. It provides life-changing and often times life-saving services for men, women and children in underdeveloped countries all around the world. I am proud to be a part of the work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

As a dentist, we went to Guatemala knowing that we would extract teeth and try to help those in pain. It was so much more however. We not only helped get some very appreciative people out of pain, but we restored and saved many teeth in children and young adults. And the Free to Smile team has a level of organization that allowed us to help as many people as we could. The patients were present at the clinics and there was little downtime. We also had a chance to become immersed in the culture and enjoy the food and country side. It was a great trip and I highly recommend experiencing a mission trip like this. And Free to Smile is a great non profit that facilitates this great experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help organize or host fundraising events, hold a drive to secure needed supplies (see our "wish list" at http://freetosmile.org/wish_list.php), provide office and administrative assistance.