Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.816335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

It was a great experience working with Free Press to raise awareness among Hawai'i senators on the Net Neutrality issue.

Free Press made it easy for regular people like myself to get in touch with my Senator's senior political advisors. Free Press held a short telephone call to discuss
the issue, scheduled a meeting date/time/location and gave me a link to a short, well-written overview of the issue which the political staff appreciated receiving. They also put me in touch with several other folks who care about the same issue so we could share our stories and assist each other when meeting with the political staff.

Both Senator's policy advisors said this was the first time they had directly encountered the Net Neutrality issue. So it raised their awareness and made it more likely they could advise the Senator appropriately about the nuances of the issue when it comes up for Congressional action.

This is how representative democracy is supposed to work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For the first time in a long time, I have no suggestions for improvement. Free Press is first class.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I participated (mostly by listening) in a conference call in which the challenge to net neutrality was discussed and some of the things that can be done. While, I did know most of the information presented, I did pick up a few new pieces of knowledge. The moderator, Alice Crim, was well prepared and knew her 'stuff.' I believe that this organization is heading in the right direction and is true to its mission statement.
Without a free press and net neutrality, we might as well pack in this 'Great Experiment' known as the United States. The ideals on which this country was founded are under attack from all sides. An open, free and neutral internet is simply the best tool that we have for fighting to keep the dream alive. So, I am interested in seeing what else this organization can come up with to spread the word, especially to the to-date uninformed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know enough to change it greatly. If or when finances permit, conferences might be better - and hold interest further - if presented live, on line - with or without phone assist. I must answer the questions below on the slightly conservative side because I am involved in other organizations, so participation and donations are problematic. If I were starting over, I would be more inclined to participate here , but can only stretch myself so thin.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Free Press 'Media Reform Daily' email is my cornerstone to understanding the media landscape in this country today. Technically informed and tuned to social justice, this organization deserves acclaim and support!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Triple their funding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Free Press (@freepress) is a staple and go-to resource for current information. I respect their thoughtful perspective and willingness to share unbiased news, unaffected by corporate influence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More venues for public access to FreePress.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Two great speakers who completed each other nicely. I felt privileged to be able to get this live presentation in Boston. While there are a multitude of single issue worthy organizations, I feel Free Press has the right approach to deal at the root level with the problems American society is currently facing and that their efforts are likely to benefit all of the other causes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I am only a new viewer of this resource so my knowledge is limited. However what interaction I have had has been insightful - enlightening - um. I truly appreciate the ability to access information that otherwise might not be available so readily. Thank you. Miss Justine Bruce@missjustine39

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure at this time

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Since its inception, the Free Press organization has been a vital source of educating, training, and assistance for existing and upcoming citizen journalists nationwide, especially through its National Conference for Media Reform meetings. Our media organization—Global Voices for Justice—and I owe a great gratitude to this organization to helping us understand the nation and local issues regarding the workings of media, especially in the field of radio and video. Free Press organization has become the watchdog and whistle blower for the Right of people to have access to public airwaves, and if we all understood this idea, the nation as a whole would be in a much better situation. Definitely, its through the work of Free Press that the citizens’ concerns regarding communication devices—cell phone and Internet-- and media—radio, TV, and cable-- have gradually become an integral part of considerations leading to establishing policies that affects our lives.
Mansoor Sabbagh,
director of Global Voices for Justice

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

These people do amazing work bringing truth and justice back into American society. The NCMR conference was one of the most incredible experience of my life and revolutionized my two sons' thinking. We came away connected, empowered, knowing what needs to be done to make positive social change happen and understanding that the time to act is now. Everyone in the world should have a Free Press in their lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Free Press afforded me the opportunity to attend the 2011 National Conference on Media Reform. This opportunity reignited the activist in me and opened my eyes and ears.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Free Press is an invaluable organization to anyone working in the area of media literacy. I attended the National Conference for Media Reform in 2011 and what I learned there made it possible for me to work more effectively with my community college students. The conference was so rich - and addressed many areas of media reform. I know I have the next one on my calendar!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a meeting with your member of Congress and local activists to discuss your concerns about media and technology issues Volunteer