Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.79715
Write A Review
March 17, 2015

more

March 17, 2015

I am an independent US journalist. I've written at Huffington Post, Daily Kos, etc. Freedom of the press is a major focus of my journalism. (http://muckrack.com/mark-taylor-canfield/portfolio)

I have found Free Press to be a great resource for information regarding press freedom and
media democracy. Recently I served as a member of a delegation on net neutrality that visited US Senator Maria Cantwell's office. The delegation was organized by Free Press.

NOTE: According to the Reporters Without Borders 2015 World Press Freedom Index report, the United States has dropped to 49th in the world in terms of freedom of the press. (http://rsf.org)
We can do much better than this!

Free Press is one group that is taking on the challenge of promoting media democracy and I must applaud them for providing journalists like me with important information and updates. They deserve your support!
March 7, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

For a few weeks, I was involved in Free Press via email list and didn't know truly what the organization was all about. I knew the cause that they were fighting, and I was definitely in support of them.

There was a conference call this past week for anyone who wanted to join, and I was
blown away. The knowledge base, the consideration, and the overall professionalism of Free Press, makes me want to get even more involved. It seems like with so many people supporting the cause that a lot of people would go unnoticed, but I feel like Free Press is willing to give any person with passion a chance to change the fight.

Thank You!!!
March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been impressed with the professionalism and clarity of this organization. They helped communicate the truth about what ISPs were trying to do in a clear way. I appreciated that all of their emails that referenced news or research included links to the item sited. I attended a teleconference the other day that was professionally facilitated and provided excellent information about where the Free Press thinks the fight will go next.
March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you Mary Alice, though I didn't get to comment yesterday it was good to see so many people from across America. It's a great thing that you/we have accomplished but I for one know this battle far from over.

No one spoke of how an open internet is a gateway for the little guy and
entrepreneurship. Microsoft, Apple, Google, Facebook all started from nothing. Tax payers helped pay for its creation and we need to keep it for everyone.

As I listened the other thing that came to me is how accessible members Free Press were to me and I assume others. I've had conversations over the years through twitter, mainly with Tim Karr. He was friendly and not dismissive. It was refreshing.

Maybe in the future there can be an open discussion/comments and opinions from the callers/posters. I've done a few "Group Discussions" and it's surprising what you can learn from other's experiences.

I'm always in awe of those special persons that give their time to make our world better.

Thank you again.

Robert L. I
March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Free Press goes above and beyond to remain dedicated to educating and updating the connected public to the issues affecting communication and connectivity in our country. I was impressed that they offered a teleconference for the public to join and thought their speakers provided worthwhile perspectives and commentary.
March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I learned of Free Press from their campaign to uphold real Net Neutrality. I participated in a recent call and I was impressed by their honesty and commitment to fighting for the rights of average people. They are a very inclusive and down-to-earth group that are not afraid to take on the lobbyist groups in Washington. While most of us complain and suffer defeat after defeat, they take action and make their voices heard. They are truly worth our support.

- Daniel Canales
Houston, TX
March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I did not appreciate the severity of the threat to Internet freedom. I've always taken it for granted. Free Press made me very aware of what I might lose and continue to lose. In particular, because I realize how vital a role the Internet plays in places where there is very little freedom. We need this resource to be free of discrimination, tampering and censorship.
March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

The work that Free Press is doing cannot be understated. In this world of corporate rule they are showing everyone that with determination we can make government work for us.
March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Very professional group. I really appreciated the conference call Free Press put together with other organizations fighting for Net Neutrality. So often we only interact with nonprofits through email and social media. It was nice to hear their voices and even be given an opportunity to comment and ask questions.
March 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I've been following them with respect to the net neutrality debate. From what I have seen they do a lot of work in coordinating people into action. They recently had a phone conference open to the public in which they outlined their process in times ahead. Especially on how to fight congressional pushes to try to pass laws overriding FCC's recent decision.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a meeting with your member of Congress and local activists to discuss your concerns about media and technology issues Volunteer