Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.804355
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Freepress found a great way to include voices of all ages at the "save the internet," rally in Los Angeles on July 23, 2014. President Obama landed in the high school directly a cross from us and it was held in a park with high traffic and visibility. What an excellent experience...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Great as it is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 27, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

It was a great experience working with Free Press to raise awareness among Hawai'i senators on the Net Neutrality issue.

Free Press made it easy for regular people like myself to get in touch with my Senator's senior political advisors. Free Press held a short telephone call to discuss
the issue, scheduled a meeting date/time/location and gave me a link to a short, well-written overview of the issue which the political staff appreciated receiving. They also put me in touch with several other folks who care about the same issue so we could share our stories and assist each other when meeting with the political staff.

Both Senator's policy advisors said this was the first time they had directly encountered the Net Neutrality issue. So it raised their awareness and made it more likely they could advise the Senator appropriately about the nuances of the issue when it comes up for Congressional action.

This is how representative democracy is supposed to work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For the first time in a long time, I have no suggestions for improvement. Free Press is first class.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I participated (mostly by listening) in a conference call in which the challenge to net neutrality was discussed and some of the things that can be done. While, I did know most of the information presented, I did pick up a few new pieces of knowledge. The moderator, Alice Crim, was well prepared and knew her 'stuff.' I believe that this organization is heading in the right direction and is true to its mission statement.
Without a free press and net neutrality, we might as well pack in this 'Great Experiment' known as the United States. The ideals on which this country was founded are under attack from all sides. An open, free and neutral internet is simply the best tool that we have for fighting to keep the dream alive. So, I am interested in seeing what else this organization can come up with to spread the word, especially to the to-date uninformed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know enough to change it greatly. If or when finances permit, conferences might be better - and hold interest further - if presented live, on line - with or without phone assist. I must answer the questions below on the slightly conservative side because I am involved in other organizations, so participation and donations are problematic. If I were starting over, I would be more inclined to participate here , but can only stretch myself so thin.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I very much appreciated the news I got from Free Press e-mails. It mattered even more to me when they gave me detailed information on a topic very important to me, and gave me the chance be part of a group talking to my Senator's staff on the topic.

The Free Press staff were extremely
well organized and put together a good group of people to speak on various issues. I felt we made a strong impression on the Senator's staff, and am grateful for Free Press's expertise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Free Press has been a constant source of support for the Democracy and Media Literacy course I teach at Andover High School in Andover, Massachusetts. The vast resources and presentations that Free Press has provided or directed me to are invaluable. Our course would not be the twelve year success that it is. Free Press has played an integral role in graduating hundreds of active, well-informed and engage citizens.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I rely on Free Press to help keep me up-to-date on current media policy questions. I have also attended two of the "National Conference(s) on Media Reform," sponsored by Free Press, and have found them to be extremely informative, energizing, and very well organized. I give a monthly donation to this group, and am planning to up the amount because I am so pleased with their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more money to be able to do more of what they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Free Press 'Media Reform Daily' email is my cornerstone to understanding the media landscape in this country today. Technically informed and tuned to social justice, this organization deserves acclaim and support!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Triple their funding!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Free Press lives up to it's mission, "..powerful nationwide movement to change media and technology policies, promote the public interest and strengthen democracy." I live in the SF Bay Area and follow their research closely - a wonderful resource!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The work of Free Press is more important than ever. In a world of huge money in politics, media consolidation, and government spying, it's imperative to have an organization that advocates for diverse media and Internet freedom. And as the media landscape changes, I appreciate that Free Press sheds light on the safety of the journalists who are so necessary for our democracy. Thanks for all of your work, Free Press!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Free Press (@freepress) is a staple and go-to resource for current information. I respect their thoughtful perspective and willingness to share unbiased news, unaffected by corporate influence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More venues for public access to FreePress.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a meeting with your member of Congress and local activists to discuss your concerns about media and technology issues Volunteer