Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.824565
Write A Review
November 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been on the board of around a dozen nonprofit organizations over the past 25 years. There is no doubt that Free Press is the best managed and organized group I have overseen. The waste factor is all but nonexistent. Every penny is spent like it has a manhole cover attached to it. Planning is taken seriously and strictly adhered to, allowing for necessary flexibility. Consequently the group has proven far more effective than scores of other groups that have equal or larger annual budgets. It is all about taking care of the work at hand and leaving the theatrics to others.
October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This group works very hard at trying to make sure we get news that is truthful and they are working very hard on net neutrality.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was quite surprised that Free Press has such a small group of people who effectively take on national problems and concerns.
They are working hard to fight for internet freedom that is to the public interest, yet it is a shame that most of the public is still not aware of their efforts or
not much at all. They should get whole a lot more support and attention for what they are doing.
Looking at the webpage, I am really impressed by their staff's experience and abilities. They must be a top organization with exciting mission to draw so many excellent young people to work there.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Free Press is doing some of the most important work in our day to make sure that the virtual public space of the internet remains free, democratic, and accessible to all. Their success is everyone's success. Great work!
October 30, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I first discovered Free Press about 10 years ago when I was working to get women's voices and opinions more widely included in the mainstream media, and found the organization to be an ally in seeking increased diversity in the media. I also worked with them in urging the Federal Elections Commission to block the increasing consolidation of the media that was resulting in a concentration of opinions and limiting the expression of opposing views.

As a proud board member of the organization for several years, I believe that Free Press' effective nationwide campaigns have been indispensable in building public demand to keep the internet "free and open" and to expand public media and independent journalism. What an effective and important organization!
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am continually amazed at how innovative Free Press is. They are amazing organizers who know how to build popular support for change. The work they're doing right now to save Net Neutrality and protect free expression online is so important. I'm honored to support this organization.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of working with Free Press extensively in the winter of 2013/14, leading a whole scale internal review around how they engaged their supporters in their work, and then an organizational transformation to become more effective at doing so.

They asked smart questions, did
the work to find out what was working and what needed to change, and didn't shy away from the tough decisions required to renew their organization and focus on the future.

Free Press always has been and through this continual renewal will continue to reside at the forefront of global activism with their powerful online program, vision for true supporter engagement, and strongly collaborative and network oriented role they play in broader movements. Definitely a worthy organization and one I was proud to help support.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been donating to Free Press for over 10 years. They are a quality organization that does quality work for real impact. Free Press is organizing people for real change and helping craft policies for a media system that serves people not profits. They are the best.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I worked this past summer as a Policy Intern at the Free Press Washington, DC, office, under the direct supervision of Joe Torres. I can truly say that it was one of the most complete, enriching, nurturing, enlightening and enjoyable experiences of my entire life. From day one, we (the interns) were treated with a lot of respect and enthusiasm. The entire staff, even the ones in Florence, made us feel really welcomed! In terms of workload, there was always something new and interesting to do. From doing research and writing memos at the office, to holding signs in a demonstration in front of the FCC, to suiting up for meetings at the Hill. It was an eight week adventure! And it helped to reaffirm my desire for pursuing a career in where I can merge my legal and my communications background while doing public interest work. The only negative aspect of the entire experience was having to say good bye to such an amazing team. Working at Free Press was with no doubt an experience that I will always cherish, and will forever carry in my heart. Thanks!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find more resources that could help the organization to expand its size and outreach. I truly believe that the work that Free Press does for this nation is more than important, its critical and necessary. That is why I believe that there should be some type of an effort for trying to open more offices around US, and to hire more people from diverse fields, so that their cause could be more fast and effectively accomplished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I worked as a media action intern at Free Press in the Florence office this summer, helping to organize in-district meetings with Senators and other events around the issue of Net Neutrality. The training we got was better and more practical than many of my classes and I learned many excellent skills that I will use going forward. I felt that the work I did was meaningful and useful and it confirmed my plan to work in a mission-driven non-profit when I graduate. In addition, the staff at Free Press are smart, dedicated, and passionate about what they do and they treat each other with respect. I've worked in a lot of different places and Free Press is extremely high-functioning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Having supervised interns myself, I know it's hard to keep them busy every minute, but I felt a bit under-utilized at times. As far as overall, I'd create a bigger lunch room/common area to foster more social interaction between staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Organize a meeting with your member of Congress and local activists to discuss your concerns about media and technology issues Volunteer