Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.892865
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

The Free Clinic of Southwest Washington is not an organization that I would have ever imagined myself needing. I have always had great jobs with sufficient medical and dental insurance and have enjoyed reasonably good health.

Sometimes life throws you some curve balls and sometimes life
just throws you completely off of the cart.

The Free Clinic of Southwest Washington and its endless crew of selfless volunteers has been a very bright spot in some very challenging times. I did not think people like this existed any longer. When you're dealing with difficult circumstances as it is and then cannot afford health or dental care, there are very few resources available that can or will help.

My first encounter with the Free Clinic of Southwest Washington was in December of 2012. I was not able to afford my prescriptions refills and they were able to fill a one month supply for me. Shortly after that I was called and scheduled for their dental clinic. This service took a little longer to get in to see someone but once I was evaluated and set up with a treatment plan, I was invited to dental appointments.

I participated in the Adult Dental Day at the Clark County Skills Center in April 2013. I had four bottom front teeth taken care of. This was no small feat as the teeth had significant cavities and they were getting close to needing root canals. The dentist and the team spent a couple of hours on me and saved four teeth from needing unaffordable and UN-obtainable root canals and crowns. I will add that these were FRONT bottom teeth on a woman who makes presentations and deals with people for my livelihood.

On August 29, 2013 I was scheduled again through the Oral Health Initiative to have TWO broken and root canal-ed crowns removed. Kaiser Dental was the community partner that covered this procedure.

I got a call last week that another local dentist and partner with the Oral Health Initiative will be calling me soon to schedule some fillings on FRONT TOP teeth this time.

Despite challenging economic circumstances and some personal resource challenges, the Free Clinic of Southwest Washington and ALL of their volunteers have always made me feel respected and cared for but the most touching and intangible gift they give is the gift of restoring a persons dignity.

I may be in a temporarily challenging situation right now, but when I am back on my feet (and that will preferable be soon and in the greatest pair of stilettos your have ever seen) this organization is on the top of my priority list to give back to as well as their community partners.

I may not have cash right now, but I will tell you that this group of tireless, selfless, truly generous volunteers have made a HUGE deposit for good in The Bank of Karma!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...include some other under resourced services that would enhance the services they already provide.. For example Mental Health. Community Center Northwest offers 6 months of free mental health counseling for members of the community who cannot afford or cannot obtain services elsewhere. Also, perhaps partner with local food resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

This clinic is the most touching and educating place not only to patients but to myself. When I first started volunteering at this clinic, I did not expect to be so influenced by all the people around me and touched by how we serve the uninsured patients in our community. The doctors, volunteers, and staff go above and beyond expectations to help everyone around them while making sure tasks get done and then some. This is a very organized, dependable, and excellent organization looking to provide health care for children and adults who are unable to access services. Though there are many patients in need of medical/dental care, the Free Clinic of Southwest Washington do their best to provide treatment and information to people in need. I am continuously amazed about the staff and volunteers at this clinic on their process of treating patients, improving wait time, and having concern for each patient that walks through their door. This is all done while providing a welcoming environment to all entering the clinic. Not only did this clinic help me realize how many individuals in my local community need our help, but how one person can make a difference in many patients lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I am very proud of the amazing service the Free Clinic provides to the uninsured of Southwest Washington. It is a great experience to have had the opportunity to get to know those who are directly invovled in the mission of the Free Clinic. Their compassion and dedication is very inspiring. The Free Clinic really does make a difference in the lives of people... not only those they serve, but also those who share their time and talent to provide the care that is needed. Thank you to all the amazing volunteers and the very supportive community of Clark County.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Having my annual check, I mentioned I might have a UTI. My doctor told me how much the lab work would cost me since I did not have regular insurance. My mouth drop and she then recommended the Free Clinic of SW, Wa. The wait was nominal for the service and the people were polite and very helpful. I highly recommend anyone donate to their great cause any way they can. Thank You

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The Free Clinic of SW Washington serves the community in an organized, dependable and kind way. Patient care is provided by volunteers who commit to a schedule of providing their time. Although resources are in short supply they are used with prudence and care. As a volunteer, I find this sign that hangs in my exam room to be inspiring each week: "Volunteering is the ultimate exercise in democracy. You vote in elections once a year, but when you volunteer, you vote every day about the kind of community you want to live in." I vote by volunteering at the Free Clinic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

special thanks to all this people that volunteer in any way to helping others, you guys are the best. Thank you for being so caring about other human beings that arent that wealthy, or that are in need. Thank you for all your help and care. May God bless you and all your plans

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

This clinic is always PACKED. And no wonder, as there are tens of thousands of uninsured residents of Clark County in dire need of health care, who can't afford the $300 it costs to walk through the door of an urgent care clinic or ER. I have volunteered at this clinic for 10 years - from back before I was a CNA-in-training to the medical provider I am today - and I've watched with pride as I've seen the Free Clinic's services expand to meet the needs of Clark County citizens. We started off as an urgent care-type clinic, dispensing antibiotics and other acute care medications for basic ear infections, sprained ankles etc... now we have a weekly diabetes clinic, dental services, weekly preventative health screenings, full casting, and a great variety of specialists (orthopedists, nephrologists, endocrinologists, etc.) who can help patients manage their chronic health conditions. I can honestly say that Clark County is healthier because of this clinic, and I'm so proud to be a part of it!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012

more

September 12, 2012

I have served on the Board of the Free Clinic for many years, and have also worked at the Clinic a a volunteer. This is a remarkable organization that leverages the dollars we have through thousands of donated volunteer hours, donated pharmaseuticals, and other item for our patients. The executive director and staff are top notch, and both staff and volunteers treat the patients with care and respect. The Free Clinic is financially sound, so that we can ensure that we can always provide services to memers of our community who are uninsured.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

The Free Clinic of SW WA is an absolutely fabulous organization. The services they provide to the community are invaluable. They not only help the unsinsured by providing compassionate quality medical and dental care at no cost they also provide services to local school districts and education on healthcare to the community they serve. They are a well-run organization that values and makes the most of every dollar they receive and volunteer hour donated. You truly make a difference in people's lives by donating to this organization...whether it is money or time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

I work with Project Access which connects patients to specialists in the community willing to donate services to our patients. It is incredibly meaningful to help patients enroll in a program that changes the quality of their lives for the better. It makes me thankful to live in a community of such caring people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers