Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

I've had a wonderful experience working with Free Arts for Abused Children and it is a mission I am happy to financially commit to. They provide a wide variety of art services to many communities in Los Angeles and provide a service that is greatly needed.
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

hey in on probation am tryn to find me a place to do my community service at help me please

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help and just do what ever i can to help

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 3, 2013

more

December 3, 2013

Free Arts did an amazing job providing services to our agency and we cannot wait to work with them again. They are truly changing the lives of thousands of kids and they are efficient and hard working. It is truly amazing how much impact they have with such a small staff and it is nothing short of extraordinary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I don't know what is wrong with the organization, but there has been a lot of turnover with the staff and leadership. I gave money at an event they had downtown and wanted to learn more and nobody called me to follow up. I tried reaching their director and was given the run-around. When I finally did make contact I spoke with a woman (forget her name but she had an accent) who didn't seem to know a thing about the whole organization. I would not donate again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find out why their staff don't return phone calls.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

The work done by the staff and volunteers at Free Arts is amazing. I get so much when I give my time to this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

Children are our most precious resource. There minds are fertile and in need of constant nourishment. The Arts help provide a nurturing that these abused children so desperately need to not only to grow but to help heal the wounds and scars that have been inflicted on them.
I have been
involved in a number of different organizations that help children in different ways, they are great organization but the ones that stand out to me are those that effect the mental state of the child and Art does that. It allows the child to express feelings that he or she does not even know they have and thereby releases so much pent up emotion you can at times actually see the child's eyes start to brighten and a little of the pain lifted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with, participated in and donated to several charies for children. I have never seen another one that is so well run. I am currently a Trustee of the Board of Directors of the Hollywood Arts Council. We have an outreach program Project S.O.A.R. It reaching a small population of the children of Hollywood in the elementary schools. We had too great loses. Shauna McClure became the Executive Director of Free Arts for Children. Trevi Fountation also left and became the Community Liason for the Foundation. I am amazed and so proud of all the success events. They have created a production company that is throughout the Los Angeles area. It is wonderful that some many abused children's souls are fed by the arts they have provided. They are heading up a dynamic staff that raising the conscientiousness and fundraising. The programing is so insightful and meaningful to the lives of these children and to our community as a whole. This foundation lets children know that than can make something beautiful and it opens the door to other things they can accomplish in life. The art they create is something permenant in their transitory lives. I truly believe that their programing and community outreach is making a huge difference.
I suggest that you open your hearts and write checks to allow them to reach more children to give them hope. In turn you will recieve the joy of giving and knowing that you too are making a difference.

Tony Clark
Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with this charity this year and held a benefit which raised a little money for them--- they do amazing work in the community with at risk youth who really, really need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

To Whom It May Concern:

I'm been impressed with the professionalism shown by the Free Arts organization in general. I've had some involvement with a few non-profits and my observations are as follows: 1) They are often run by the 'seat of their pants' - not having clearly defined purpose
or goals - and "re-acting" as opposed to "pro-acting;" OR 2) The founders or those in charge do not allow outside input (ie, younger people and new ideas) and continue to run the organization as if their own private company. The result -- limited or NO growth and not changing with the times. AND the organization's effectiveness (which may have been impactful in the beginning) is diminished greatly, and often eventually dies.

Juding from what I've seen over the past year, I do not see Free Arts falling into either of the above situations.

Sincerely,
DM Smith

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2013

more

March 13, 2013

I collaborated with Free Arts for an exhibition.
They generously allowed us to use ALL of their works for the exhibition and provided full support throughout the process. Huge thank you to Director of Development, Audrey, and Community Liaison, Trevi for making such amazing experience
possible.
Great team, great mission and great passion equal great nonprofit!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Lead or facilitate a Free Arts Day, lead two sessions of a PACT (Parents and Children Together with art) Program, or lead 3 sessions of a Weekly Program. Volunteer