Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I moved to the Bay Area from New Jersey in 2011, and I was happy to discover all the festivals San Francisco had to offer. At first I watched movies with local film groups/clubs, but that got expensive pretty quickly. Someone informed me I could volunteer for festivals and watch movies for free, and as chance would have it, the next festival coming up was Frameline. I signed up to volunteer right away, even though I lived down in Menlo Park at the time.

VOLUNTEER ORIENTATION:
I went to the volunteer orientation, and I was a little nervous because, to be honest, I didn't know if I would have the skills to be a volunteer. But, everything went well once I was at the orientation. It was actually pretty calming to see that some people were also a little nervous and awkward as I was about volunteering for the time and being in a room of 150-200 people. Many of the volunteers were brand new, some had been there for a few years, while there were even people who had been there for 20+ years. There were people of all ages--well, all above 18...I think--gender, sexual orientation, race, background, and any other category I forgot to mention. Anyway, everyone seemed happy to be there, and it turned into a sort of social event. Plus, we got a free festival t-shirt at the end!

VOLUNTEERING DURING FESTIVAL:
The work was pretty easy, and there were several different departments we could sign up to volunteer with. It was done online, so I just signed up for the shift I wanted. Of course, some movies' shifts were filled up right away, so I just had to select from the ones that were available. I mainly did theater operations, some of its positions were ticket taking, ushering, line control, and balloting. For different shifts, I did different things. Anyway, they all involved working for a bit, and then I would sit in to watch the movie that was playing. Other than watching the movies, the best part of the festival for me was socializing with the other volunteers. Like I said, I was new to San Francisco at the time, so I enjoyed making new friends and acquaintances. And now, I look forward to see many of the same face at Frameline and other festivals.

VOLUNTEER PARTY:
Do not MISS this party, it is almost as good as watching LGBT movies for free. There is an open bar, I think the last two years they had pizza--I wasn't around to attend the 2011 party--there are random goodies (stuffed ponies!), and raffle prizes.

Pro TIPS: Don't panic about the pizza, there's plenty for everyone. People are like wild animals when they see free food. I think I lost an arm in the bustle. Also, save your unused movie vouchers, you can use them as raffle tickets. Of the five film festivals I've been volunteering at, Frameline gives out the most prizes and the coolest ones. Seriously, half of the volunteer party is spent on giving away raffle prizes.

Again, the party is a great opportunity to mingle with Frameline employees and volunteers, so I'm surprised the user "dedicatedvol" had a bad experience. I too am a gay male, and I didn't witness any discrimination regarding shifts. How can they discriminate if we're the ones who choose in advance and online the shifts we want to work for? Additionally, the festival this year was in the last 10 days of June, yet that review was posted on June 1, which means he didn't volunteer for the festival this year.

Anyway, my experience in 2011 was great, so I volunteered again in 2012. I found out that they were looking for interns, so I applied and got an internship in the volunteer coordination department that year. Another intern (female, but also a college student like me) and I had a lot of fun interning, volunteering and just helping out in every way we could.

This year I was able to intern again, but in the distribution department. It was mainly office work, but I also got to help out during the festival. And like I mentioned previously, it was great seeing a lot of volunteers I had met in previous years.

Overall, I would love to work with Frameline eventually (and have one of my movies/shorts show at the festival). Everyone is super friendly, accepting and only a few people said "Oh, you're from New Joisey" to me, but I think that's just a San Francisco thing to do. By the way, no one in New Jersey pronounces it Joisey!!


-Anand

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give out real ponies instead of those stuffed ones. C'mon, you can do it. I believe in you (and the ponies).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for Frameline for 5 years now, enjoying the community and lightness during the festival. It changes The City, everyone seems to be in "vacation mood". The training ("orientation") we receive is the most "PC" I have ever enjoyed for any organization I volunteer for (several film festivals and also the San Francisco Bicycle Coalition). I very much support and enjoy the "zero waste" approach they promote. Unlike "dedicatedvol", I have *never* experienced any unjust or unequal treatment. Our superiors ("Captains" and "house managers") take our punctuality, openness, experience, excitement and willingness into consideration when assigning tasks. That's only fair, I think. I have never ever experienced any "gender bias" - which would be so absurd for this community, anyway.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't really think of any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

Frameline review on great non profits.org. 8-27-13

Frameline is amazing! As an avid film enthusiast and a lesbian, I was immediately drawn to Frameline and have been a strong supporter and member since I moved to SF in the mid-90s. Frameline's mission is to change the world through the
power of queer cinema. The organization lives and breathes this mantra and lives up to it in every sense.

Frameline's annual flagship LGBT film festival keeps getting better and better, if that's even possible. It's the oldest and largest LGBT film festival in the world. Frameline37 in June 2013 included 240 films from 29 countries, including 14 first time features and a spotlight on queer Asian films. The festival tagline was "films bring us together". Yes, they do and Frameline continues to do so in creating a remarkable community experience at the annual festival. The multitude of filmmakers in attendance always rave about Frameline from the stage during their Q&A. I couldn't agree more. The 400+ volunteers under the dedicated and talented leadership of the executive director and partnership with staff are the life of the well-run festival. The access to filmmakers and actors/actresses during the festival adds immensely to the festival experience. Last but certainly not least, the broad and rich depth and breadth of the programming at the festival is truly amazing and leaves me wanting more when the 11-day festival draws to a close.

The executive director and senior staff are incredible in every sense and continue to propel the organization forward. Their dedication and passion in running Frameline is apparent in everything they do.

Additionally, Frameline has an extensive year round program, including Frameline Voices (App with free LGBT films, which has over 1 million views from every country) and Youth in Motion supporting LGBTQA students through film.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013

more

June 1, 2013

They get 80%+ gay male volunteers and take them for granted. They give the paid position to females with few exceptions. They ask female volunteers to be the team captains, bosses, with few exceptions. They take away prized volunteer positions from on time male volunteers if a female volunteer shows up late but wants that job.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a panel of filmmakers to decide which gay male films would be selected for screening instead of allowing the director to be sole decision maker on gay male films to be screened. Get a director who doesn't have to read the same line on a piece of paper every interview Stop allowing the female operations manager from practicing employment discrimination against male job applicants. Stop taking the volunteers for granted even though they get so many people offering to be volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers