Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.740745
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Fount of Mercy has been a part of my life for many years. I met the women who started it at our church and have been excited watching their dreams come to reality ever since. They continue to grow and spread their reach for inspiring and enabling widows in amazing ways. They do the work that I wish I have always done myself. They take the idea and do it. When so many of us aren't able to or don't believe we can. This organization literally works wonders! I am happy to be able to support financially when I can and spread the word far and wide. Fount of Mercy is truly a fount of empowerment and help for all that come to its waters!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Fount of Mercy is a unique and powerful organization. I love that they are structured to support and empower grassroots organizations-- that's a really sensitive approach to community development. I love that Fount is forward-thinking and always looking for new ways to serve the community. For example, they've just launched their hand-batiked scarf projects and are now able to employ artisans full-time. Love these guys!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm really not sure! From my perspective, they're doing a great job!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Have been privileged to be a part of Fount of Mercy from its inception. Not only do I support and believe in their efforts in Uganda, I know one of the founders, her convictions and her passion. I will continue to support this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been a donor to this organization since 2007. The work they are doing directly impacts lives in Uganda, and they serve the people there with sincerity, compassion, and determination. Thank you, Fount of Mercy!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

Fount of Mercy is a amazing organization. I have been keeping up with their progress since my daughter was a volunteer with them three summers ago. I am very impressed by the work they do in Uganda and the skills they teach their clients. I know of very few organizations that actually teach occupational AND business skills. My daughter volunteered for "Sewing Hope" a skill group under Fount of Mercy. She was able to teach tailoring to her students. Tailoring is a very specific skill that increases their level of expertise to be able to make clothing more attractive and fit better. Each volunteer comes with their own set of skills. they are all unique, yet work to help the students of Fount of Mercy reach their full potential.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

Even though I had supported Fount of Mercy for years, it wasn't until I traveled to Uganda and experienced first hand, that I realized the powerful effect their work has on the women and children if Africa. Immediately, it was clear that Uganda women have a strong inner strength, but this organization gives them tools they need to provide for their families. Working with indigenous African organizations, Fount of Mercy has enabled these women to achieve success within their families and their communities, a true meaning of empowerment!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The results are evidenced in the testimonials that were given by the women in Uganda

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The main area I would change would be increasing awareness so there would be additional funding.

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

It is easy to sit here in my heated home, on my couch and think about all the 'good' works happening around the world. However, experiencing Ugandan culture and seeing the struggles people face there is a life changing experience. I had the privilege of seeing the amazing work that Fount of Mercy is doing in Uganda firsthand. Being a working mother myself, I really liked the fact that Fount of Mercy was started by a few very successful young women in NYC who saw an opportunity to use their skills to empower women and widows in Uganda.
Prior to my travels, I hosted a "friendraiser" in my home to raise awareness of the work this non-profit is doing. I was able to share numbers, statistics, and success stories during this friendraiser, but it wasn't until I was in Uganda looking these women in the eyes until it hit me how many lives Fount of Mercy has touched. One women in particular, has been supported by Fount to teach sewing skills to women in order to empower and equip them to earn a living. I will always remember her smile when we took a picture of her proudly standing in the front of her shop, all done up and right on the main street. You could tell she was so proud of her accomplishment, yet so humble at the same time. I believe one of the reasons Fount of Mercy has been successful is because of their dedication to support indigenous African organizations’ capacity to provide educational, vocational and public health opportunities for the orphans, vulnerable children and caregivers in their communities. I feel very honored to have been a part of Fount of Mercy's work in Uganda.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Traveling to Uganda and meeting several of the women whose lives have been changed and enhanced due to the work of Fount of Mercy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see Fount of Mercy be able to have more PR and updates on the work that is being done. I believe with more funding this would expand their ability to do this.

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

I have been aware of Fount of Mercy and their work for the past five to six years, specifically with Sewing Hope. I find this program a fantastic out-reach program to empower women in the Jinga Uganda area to be self reliant. The training that is offered to these women is a wonderful opporunity for them to learn a trade which will not only benefit them, but it beneifts their family directly. It enables these women to provide basic necessities to their families and people that rely on them.

I visited Jinga for two weeks in Dec/Jan 2011 and have seen for myself the results of the training these women have received. I had the priviledge to visit with some of the women who are making clothes for people in and around some of the villages including their families. I was there to attend my daughters wedding and several of the ladies attending the wedding from the US were wearing dresses made by women who were trained by Sewing Hope. I was priviledged enough to be able to visit their shops and see directly the materials and pictures they have on their walls that show the clothes a customer can choose from. It's amazing the clothes they can make using manual sewing machines. I was very impressed with their work and dedication to their work.

The staff of Sewing Hope has provided an exeptional opportunity for these women who have little means of supporting themselves to learn a trade. Sewing Hope's volunteers, most from the Garment District in NYC, have experience in making different type of clothes and accessories and have shared their experitise with these African women, from dresses and purses to accessories. A rare opportunity for these women to have such high quality training and expertise.

I am very excited to have had the opportunity to see for myself the benefits of having Fount of Mercy sponsor Sewing Hope and the training they provide.



The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Jinja Uganda, visiting with the permanent, full time Fount of Mercy and Sewing Hope staff who live there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

March 28, 2011

more

March 28, 2011

I am one of those people who feel that I should be doing something to help others less fortunate than I am, but I never seem to get around to doing anything about it. Through donating to Fount of Mercy, I have helped finance two trips to Uganda where volunteers go to help underpriviliged women and children. This organization does amazing work. They are starting a program called Focus on Change to teach deaf children to express themselves through photography. Most of these kids have never even seen themselves in a mirror no less through photographs. It takes special people to give of themselves like this and this is a very special organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have followed the programs through the website to see what they are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers