Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.740745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I know about the organization through Sewing Hope and my friend Tara. In our world where the want for profit and power relies on the exploitation of people, keeping them physically and/ or emotionally tethered to fear, those who work relentlessly with the idea in their hearts, that when one of us hurts, we all hurt, should be supported no matter what. I am impressed that the people that are the recipients Fount of Mercy/Sewing Hope's programs, are being offered holistic education, learning the whole process, being taught skills and offered ideas that will move them forward, to heal themselves and their communities.
I just think Tara is great, she walks the walk, and is able to do worthy and important work because Fount of Mercy came to be, then Sewing Hope.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am an Ambassador for The GO Exchange and we sell Fount Of Mercy scarves. They are well-made and beautiful pieces of art. Better than the actual product is the fact that the employees are paid a living wage for creating these gorgeous scarves. It is an honor to be in partnership with Fount of Mercy!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first learned about Fount of Mercy through one of its founders, and have watched them grow and serve over the years. They do amazing work and have a direct, measurable impact on the lives they touch - they fill such an important role, one that is often overlooked but very much in need of just the right people and skills for the job. I cannot think of any other nonprofit more deserving of publicity and support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This organization does incredible work all around the world. Through their work, people are getting knowledge to improve their life, their families, their communities and their countries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I really like that Fount of Mercy teaches business skills alongside the technical skills. Lotta art schools could take a page out of that book!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit with Lori Acton and Vanessa Crowley of Fount of Mercy in July, 2013. The objective of my visit was to understand the impact Fount of Mercy was having on the community, the programs that were being implemented, as well as scout opportunities for my organization to partner with them. What I experienced was exceptional professionalism, clarity of mission and detail-oriented execution. Fount of Mercy's integration of Ugandan staff with minimal US-based staff management indicated their model is working. Also, visiting their Ugandan-managed vocational workshop confirmed that Fount of Mercy is committed to local ownership and management solutions. Fount of Mercy represents how a non-profit organization should be operating within another community: by leveraging that community's assets and infrastructure to promote inside-out transformation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Establish a broader donor base and fund-raising platforms to diversify financial support networks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2010

more

May 28, 2010

I'm privileged to know the directors of Fount of Mercy and Sewing hope. I have seen the growth of this vision and I'm glad to now see the benefits. I have seen all the potential they have to serve our people in Uganda. The trainings that have been given to both women and children is grate as we see transitions made in the women's lives as they learn skills and get to feel useful in our communities. You may not know this yet, but you did put a smile on my mother at Lwanda and my Aunty, who have lost all hope after they lost the only bread winners they had in their lives -husbands. Being part of a group with ability to learn and improve in different skills especially sewing, is giving many hope to seek for their own means of income.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen women and children under training with smiles on their faces and no doubt a renewed hope. I have also talked to several of the women that have gone through training and heard their voices of hope. Hoping to continually improve on their skills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No doubt solicit more funding for Fount of Mercy and Sewing hope, so that more women and children will be helped.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I've enjoyed knowing the groups and seeing them put smiles on women and children' faces here.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

All geared towards wanting to serve and do all they can do to leave a skill or a smile and help in any way.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Improve the way our communities look at women and also help grow up children who have a stand in our communities.

Ways to make it better...

I would have more times to move along with you guys in most of the areas that you are serving in.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

All financial as this kind of gesture grows as more communities opens up with such needs of this great service. More funds will surely be needed.

One thing I'd also say is that...

There is many communities that are in great need and please prepare to reach there as well. My people in Kaliro will need your services and of course Arua and Nebbi as well. Be prepared.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers