Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.740745
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

i spent 4 weeks in the summer of 2010 in a place i never in my wildest dreams, would have thought to go. A woman i worked with wrote a piece about SEW FOR HOPE and FOUNT OF MERCY in our local newsletter. It spoke of doing something with our talents - making costumes for TV, FILM, BROADWAY and concerts- in a whole new way. We could take our sewing skills and TEACH people to sew so they could make a living for themselves. Now, i am used to creature comforts of home... talk about culture shock... but in a good way! The Ugandans were so happy to learn what I knew.I taught a bit of sewing, some basic jewelry making, and a little embroidery. It was something that made me feel like i was making a great contribution to a few peoples lives. Fount of Mercy set everything up for my travel and accommodations! It was the true trip of a lifetime!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered in Uganda with Fount of Mercy teaching sewing and design skills to AIDS widows and other vulnerable women. It was an amazing experience. We traveled to different towns and villages, located near Jinja and Kampala to teach and help at various organizations. I love that Fount of Mercy is boots-on-the-ground-grassroots. They have direct experience and relationships with every orphanage and organization that they seek to help and support. Uganda itself and its people are beautiful. In addition to the hands-on volunteering which was very rewarding, we also got to have some free time for side-trips and activities to experience the country. (There's no where else more challenging and rewarding to go white water rafting than on the Nile!) I highly recommend volunteering with Fount of Mercy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My wife and I toured this operation in Uganda and continue to support it in the States. We love what they are doing overseas and the innovative ways (fashion shows, etc.) that they raise money at home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

This is by far one on of the most amazing charities I have ever worked with. Not only was I given the chance to travel and work in Africa in the country of Uganda, but I was able to become a major part in making the lives of the blind and deaf community better. I taught sports to the kids while on the trip and to many people, sports would be something that all kids do for the most part. But most people have never really considered that teaching kickball to kids and young adults who are blind or deaf is not just a game to them, its something much more. For these kids learning to play kickball or running races and throwing balls was a stepping stone into their lives and the job training that the other members of my team provided. Once these kids learned that being able to play sports like the normal kids was something they also could do, then possibilities were endless of what they could achieve. Through Fount of Mercy I was given the chance to change someones life forever., while in turn it also changed mine and made me into a better person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

During July 2012 I went with 7 others to Jinja, Uganda to participate in a Leadership Conference which Fount of Mercy sponsored. The entire experience was rewarding and would not have been so without the top notch organization skills of FOM. FOM helped in preparing us state side before we even left and when we arrived FOM assisted us to acclimate to Jinja quickly to increase our participation and effectiveness. Due to airline difficulties we arrived a day late and began teaching the morning after we arrived and was able to do so with little difficulty. FOM is dedicated to the Ugandans and it is apparent in all they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

Fount of Mercy is excellent in matching up volunteer's experience and skills with the appropriate projects. So they utilize volunteer's gifts to the maximum. This takes careful and excellent planning.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Fount of Mercy is a forward thinking and innovative non profit working to further African grass roots organizations. It is a small but powerful organization that worked with me and my skill set to help local village women. I was able to create and edit business curriculum lessons that were taught to women in villages near Jinja, Uganda. In addition, I also researched and developed prototypes to determine the most viable solution for a sanitary pad project. Fount of Mercy realizes that all women have the right to privacy, health, and dignity and that creating innovative solutions can improve lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

Volunteering with Found of Mercy was an amazing opportunity. The majority of our time and energy was focused on the work we did with HODASSU, which was a really great, and really challenging experience. I was given the chance to teach a photography class to some of the children there, starting a basic foundation for future photography classes to build upon. Investing in the kids' lives was awesome. And learning to connect with people from a different culture, especially those with impaired hearing, was a beautiful experience. The Fount of Mercy staff I worked with before and during the trip to Uganda were all a huge support and encouragement. FOM really is such an organized, well-prepared and knowledgeable organization; and because of this, I felt very confident and comfortable in the traveling process, as well as in the various activities we took part in while In Uganda. Volunteering with Fount was awesome. And because of their deeply-rooted passion to help empower those in need in Africa, Fount of Mercy continues to bring about inspiration, growth, and hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2012

more

June 5, 2012

I interned with Fount of Mercy in Uganda for 6 months and it was honestly the best 6 months I've had in a long time. I grew a tremendous amount, not just because of the new culture, but because of the work Fount does. While in country I helped develop a new vocational program, a beginning sewing class. The basis behind this curriculum was to give students the basic sewing skills they need to start their own tailoring businesses. I trained two local tailors to as teachers for the future class. During the training I saw how how the class really will be something that can help people, as tailors will always be in demand. I think the teacher training would have been more beneficial had there been more time (it was a bit condensed in order to finish before my departure). Regardless of the time restraint the vocational classes Fount of Mercy offers provide not only skills but a personal satisfaction and pride in every student who completes them. Fount realizes what an accomplishment completing a skills course is and they recognize this achievement (and the students) with a graduation ceremony. This is just a small example of the incredible work Fount does and one of the few ways they continue to help others help themselves.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Basic Business Classes and Beginning Sewing teacher training. I had the privilege of being involved with 2 Business Class graduations, which is a great accomplishment in itself. And the way Sarah and Margaret came through and finished all of their sample work, as well as following along with the contents of the curriculum book, made me feel so good! The success of the training made me confident that the classes themselves would run smoothly as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire me! Too bad you have to have the right amount of resources to do that...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It certainly did! After working with Fount I had a very clear idea that I would like my career to take a path towards [vocational] program development and [life] skills training. It also helped me gain a different perspective on life in general as well as interactions between people, relationships, and social cues.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me feel accomplished and empowered. I learned that with the limited knowledge I have, I can share it with others and help them out all the while I am learning from them. It made me very happy to be able to make connections and build relationships with the individuals I worked with.

June 4, 2012

more

June 4, 2012

I have worked with Fount of Mercy in Jinga Uganda. Our team ran a Leadership conference to build the capacity for the leaders of indigenous NGO's to give the leaders business skills and and other educational support. Many of the local NGO's are run by women and all of them are focused on helping orphans and their caregivers which are almost all women. The work they do is extremely impactful. I am already planning this years trip for another leadership conference as well as working with some of the other organizations that they partner with in country. Another facet of Fount of Mercy's work in Uganda is health education for women and girls to help them understand the threat of AIDS and unplanned pregnancy as well as how their bodies work. They are a fantasic organization and I recommend working with them in any capacity whether here at home or in Uganda.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers