Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.740745
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have been a donor to this organization since 2007. The work they are doing directly impacts lives in Uganda, and they serve the people there with sincerity, compassion, and determination. Thank you, Fount of Mercy!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I really like that Fount of Mercy teaches business skills alongside the technical skills. Lotta art schools could take a page out of that book!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As the Acting Director of a NGO in Jinja, Uganda I've witnessed Fount Of Mercy's work firsthand and talked to many others organizations who have benefited from their ministries. Myself and many others believe that FOM's work stands out in the field. It's leadership is extremely competent, resourceful and eager to cooperate with other NGO's to help them provide the same excellence of service. They are a model NGO among many in Jinja.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none presently

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I had the opportunity to visit with Lori Acton and Vanessa Crowley of Fount of Mercy in July, 2013. The objective of my visit was to understand the impact Fount of Mercy was having on the community, the programs that were being implemented, as well as scout opportunities for my organization to partner with them. What I experienced was exceptional professionalism, clarity of mission and detail-oriented execution. Fount of Mercy's integration of Ugandan staff with minimal US-based staff management indicated their model is working. Also, visiting their Ugandan-managed vocational workshop confirmed that Fount of Mercy is committed to local ownership and management solutions. Fount of Mercy represents how a non-profit organization should be operating within another community: by leveraging that community's assets and infrastructure to promote inside-out transformation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Establish a broader donor base and fund-raising platforms to diversify financial support networks.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2012

more

June 18, 2012

This is by far one on of the most amazing charities I have ever worked with. Not only was I given the chance to travel and work in Africa in the country of Uganda, but I was able to become a major part in making the lives of the blind and deaf community better. I taught sports to the kids while on the trip and to many people, sports would be something that all kids do for the most part. But most people have never really considered that teaching kickball to kids and young adults who are blind or deaf is not just a game to them, its something much more. For these kids learning to play kickball or running races and throwing balls was a stepping stone into their lives and the job training that the other members of my team provided. Once these kids learned that being able to play sports like the normal kids was something they also could do, then possibilities were endless of what they could achieve. Through Fount of Mercy I was given the chance to change someones life forever., while in turn it also changed mine and made me into a better person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

During July 2012 I went with 7 others to Jinja, Uganda to participate in a Leadership Conference which Fount of Mercy sponsored. The entire experience was rewarding and would not have been so without the top notch organization skills of FOM. FOM helped in preparing us state side before we even left and when we arrived FOM assisted us to acclimate to Jinja quickly to increase our participation and effectiveness. Due to airline difficulties we arrived a day late and began teaching the morning after we arrived and was able to do so with little difficulty. FOM is dedicated to the Ugandans and it is apparent in all they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 16, 2012

more

June 16, 2012

Fount of Mercy is excellent in matching up volunteer's experience and skills with the appropriate projects. So they utilize volunteer's gifts to the maximum. This takes careful and excellent planning.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I am an American woman who has been living and working in Uganda for over three years. I am a teacher by profession and taught in a Ugandan school for three years. At the beginning of 2012, I decided to use my skills and experience as a teacher with Fount of Mercy. I have seen many organizations doing work here in Uganda, but I do not respect all of them. I DO respect the wok Fount of Mercy is doing, because they partner with existing, local groups or institutions-- working WITH (not for) them to help them fulfill their mission. Fount of Mercy is doing excellent work in the Jinja area community to empower women. One major area of Fount of Mercy's work is vocational training. They train women in sewing and tailoring; two Ugandan women teach other women the skill of sewing on the local (non-electric) sewing machines. Since most clothing produced in Uganda is custom made, sewing is a lucrative small business here. Fount of Mercy also provides small business training to women in various communities in the Jinja area. They then support these women as they launch their business together. Of the three groups I know, one has started a village bank. The other two have created a local bakery and a local restaurant in their respective communities. One excellent component of this training is the follow-up support they give these women as they put their learning into practice. This support involves further financial advice, conflict resolution, and encouragement. These women are empowered to earn cash, which enables them to send their children to school and provide for other essentials like soap, lantern fuel, and sugar. I truly admire the work Fount of Mercy is doing. The directors have a humble attitude toward their work, knowing that working in another culture is a constant learning process. I consider myself very fortunate to be a member of the Fount of Mercy team here in Uganda. Fount of Mercy has afforded me the opportunity to train teachers, mostly women, to become more equipped in their profession. In turn, these teachers can positively impact the children of Uganda. Finally, I am grateful for the team at Fount of Mercy, for my co-workers are also my dear friends.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

I am Emolu Francis, a Ugandan by nationality, a Kumam by tribe. I am a teacher by profession and have been teaching in Uganda since 1988, based in Jinja District. I have witnessed the work of Fount of Mercy since 2008 and liked their service to the Ugandan community. This year I have taken the initiative to join and work with the team at Fount of Mercy in the education department.

Fount of Mercy serves women in our local community in several ways. They train women to acquire the skill of sewing, using the local sewing machines. They also support women making local crafts (bead-making and basket weaving). They train women in business skills and support them as they begin a small business in their communities. For example, one local women’s group has started a local bakery in Lwanda, where they make buns, donuts, and other snacks to sell in the local trading centre. In Wairaka, the women’s group created a local restaurant called The Community Kitchen. The Wanyange women’s group is running a village bank. Fount of Mercy also educates young women in reproductive health awareness. Finally, they provide leadership training for women who are leaders of local organizations. In all of these areas, Fount of Mercy strives to empower widows to be able to provide for themselves and their children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

Am Wamimbi Julius aged 24years, i am working with fount of mercy as their program associate, There is great impact and transformation created in the the different people or groups fount is work with, Personally i my life changed because of the tender love and care i got from the directors of this organisation. I have a bright future working with fount of mercy and i believe that through their great work/programs that are served to the community i will be in position to create more life time change in many people in Uganda and the entire world. I am working as a program associate of this great organisation working with many women's group by equipping and teaching them life time skills in business which will help them meet the daily needs of their families. So far i am working with four women group who have appreciated our services a lot, this has created a big change in their daily living since they have started up small projects individually and as a group to improve on the standards of living. I and fount of mercy as a whole has great joy to see that our work and services are bringing much impact into people's lives. Examples of businesses setup by women include community kitchen, Bread basket project, and a village bank, all businesses are operating well which has brought big smiles on the women's face every day that passes by. Our vision is to equip and teach as many people(women and men) who think that their life is a mess to gain hope and strive for success for their future. Fount is soon starting to work with new women's group to extend the business knowledge to them and help them work together or individually. Fount as an NGO has created several transformations in the live of people in many ways i.e. Educational wise, vocationally wise, helped many leaders to learn the knowledge and skills of running their organisations well, I can't wait to recommend volunteers, donors, well wishers and everyone who has interests of building/creating a big transformation in the lives of African women to come work with us. Thank you so much and i hope my review will help whoever read it understand more of what fount of mercy is doing for the people in Uganda. Wamimbi Julius, Program Associate, Tel: +256-776594949, wamimbi.julius@gmail.com

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers