Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.740745
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I know about the organization through Sewing Hope and my friend Tara. In our world where the want for profit and power relies on the exploitation of people, keeping them physically and/ or emotionally tethered to fear, those who work relentlessly with the idea in their hearts, that when one of us hurts, we all hurt, should be supported no matter what. I am impressed that the people that are the recipients Fount of Mercy/Sewing Hope's programs, are being offered holistic education, learning the whole process, being taught skills and offered ideas that will move them forward, to heal themselves and their communities.
I just think Tara is great, she walks the walk, and is able to do worthy and important work because Fount of Mercy came to be, then Sewing Hope.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

i spent 4 weeks in the summer of 2010 in a place i never in my wildest dreams, would have thought to go. A woman i worked with wrote a piece about SEW FOR HOPE and FOUNT OF MERCY in our local newsletter. It spoke of doing something with our talents - making costumes for TV, FILM, BROADWAY and concerts- in a whole new way. We could take our sewing skills and TEACH people to sew so they could make a living for themselves. Now, i am used to creature comforts of home... talk about culture shock... but in a good way! The Ugandans were so happy to learn what I knew.I taught a bit of sewing, some basic jewelry making, and a little embroidery. It was something that made me feel like i was making a great contribution to a few peoples lives. Fount of Mercy set everything up for my travel and accommodations! It was the true trip of a lifetime!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered in Uganda with Fount of Mercy teaching sewing and design skills to AIDS widows and other vulnerable women. It was an amazing experience. We traveled to different towns and villages, located near Jinja and Kampala to teach and help at various organizations. I love that Fount of Mercy is boots-on-the-ground-grassroots. They have direct experience and relationships with every orphanage and organization that they seek to help and support. Uganda itself and its people are beautiful. In addition to the hands-on volunteering which was very rewarding, we also got to have some free time for side-trips and activities to experience the country. (There's no where else more challenging and rewarding to go white water rafting than on the Nile!) I highly recommend volunteering with Fount of Mercy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Fount of Mercy has been a part of my life for many years. I met the women who started it at our church and have been excited watching their dreams come to reality ever since. They continue to grow and spread their reach for inspiring and enabling widows in amazing ways. They do the work that I wish I have always done myself. They take the idea and do it. When so many of us aren't able to or don't believe we can. This organization literally works wonders! I am happy to be able to support financially when I can and spread the word far and wide. Fount of Mercy is truly a fount of empowerment and help for all that come to its waters!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am an Ambassador for The GO Exchange and we sell Fount Of Mercy scarves. They are well-made and beautiful pieces of art. Better than the actual product is the fact that the employees are paid a living wage for creating these gorgeous scarves. It is an honor to be in partnership with Fount of Mercy!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My wife and I toured this operation in Uganda and continue to support it in the States. We love what they are doing overseas and the innovative ways (fashion shows, etc.) that they raise money at home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first learned about Fount of Mercy through one of its founders, and have watched them grow and serve over the years. They do amazing work and have a direct, measurable impact on the lives they touch - they fill such an important role, one that is often overlooked but very much in need of just the right people and skills for the job. I cannot think of any other nonprofit more deserving of publicity and support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Fount of Mercy is a unique and powerful organization. I love that they are structured to support and empower grassroots organizations-- that's a really sensitive approach to community development. I love that Fount is forward-thinking and always looking for new ways to serve the community. For example, they've just launched their hand-batiked scarf projects and are now able to employ artisans full-time. Love these guys!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm really not sure! From my perspective, they're doing a great job!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Have been privileged to be a part of Fount of Mercy from its inception. Not only do I support and believe in their efforts in Uganda, I know one of the founders, her convictions and her passion. I will continue to support this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

This organization does incredible work all around the world. Through their work, people are getting knowledge to improve their life, their families, their communities and their countries.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers