Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Many thanks to Mr. Weller for recognizing and supporting the hard work and dedication that our son Liam has invested in becoming a violinist. Mr. Weller and FAYM have graciously offered to help support Liam as he begins his studies at Indiana University's Jacobs School of Music this fall. Thank you, Mr. Weller, and FAYM, for all that you have done for the community of Las Vegas and for our young musicians.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A HUGE thank you to Mr. Weller and the Foundation to Assist Young Musicians. My son has been faced with so many challenges in his young life and music has always been a shelter in the storms. On top of everything else, I became unemployed and his mother was diagnosed with cancer. With these two things our financial resources quickly dried up.

Derek has been playing double bass for several years now and he has had to borrow instruments to practice and perform with. He has goals of one day playing in college and possibly professionally and desperately needed his own instrument to help him along this path. We had no way to provide this for him. It was at this point that FAYM entered our lives.

We were told of FAYM by a good friend. We contacted Mr. Weller and he and his network of wonderful people took a personal interest in our son. We are just so humbled and grateful for the amazing work that FAYM did searching for and finding an instrument for our son. Mr. Weller and his colleagues found an instrument, met with us and the former owner, inspected it and, quite unexpectedly, even purchased it for Derek!

We are absolutely blown away by the generosity, kindness and compassion of FAYM and we are eternally grateful for all they have done for our family. We look forward to building a relationship with them and doing what we can to help another child have the kind of smile that my son had when given the gift of music.

Thank you FAYM!

Rob Grace
Las Vegas, NV

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It's about so much more than learning a musical instrument. It's about giving kids a chance to see themselves as worthy, capable and beautiful -- and that in turn helps them become the wise, compassionate citizens of tomorrow who will make this world a better place.
March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What FAYM has accomplished in helping young artists, and exciting an awareness of the benefits of musical training in the community, is nothing short of remarkable. I cannot imagine how my career in music would have been possible without the support and encouragement of mentors the likes of FAYM. I consider it a privilege to support this organization because the recipients of FAYM's mission will undoubtedly bring enrichment and beauty to all the lives they touch. FAYM's fame is spreading like wildflowers! Thank goodness for that!

Gary Karr, solo double bassist now retired

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 5, 2013

more

March 5, 2013

My name is Joshua Sjoen, and I am a graduate composition student at UNLV. I would like to give a big thanks to Mr. Harold Weller, Trustee of the Foundation to Assist Young Musicians for his generous donation of a brand new full size Kurzweil Electronic Keyboard! And also a big thanks to Mr. Bob Thompson, the original donor! If not for this generosity, I would have a fairly difficult time with my work. The keyboard is a big part of my life now, as it is the most important resource that I use while I compose. So far, I have only used it for composing, but as a musician trying to get my foot in the music scene here in Las Vegas, I see great potential in its uses for performance as well. Keyboards are just the most useful tool for any musician! Although I have had limited interaction with FAYM, I would love to be more involved with such a fantastic organization, where the love of music flourishes in the hearts of today's youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

Mr Weller, the Trustee of the Foundation, together with my adult kids made it possible for me to attend my youngest son's, Krzysztof, graduation recital at the Eastman School of Music in April, 2012. Krzysztof, the first protege of the Foundation, has been able to develop his skills as a violinist and musician for the last four years and in three days’ time Krzysztof is going to graduate from Eastman School of Music with Bachelor of Music degree. If not the Foundation's financial support and Mr Weller's constant encouragement, Kristof's dream of studying in the USA would have remained only an unfullfilled dream. I am so happy, proud, grateful and just amazed that Mr Weller and his Foundation not only have provided Krzysztof with such wonderful education, but also made it possible for me and Kris to be together at Krzysztof’s important moment of life. It meant so much for us. Thank you, Mr Weller!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

Harold Weller and FAYM change people's lives and bring the beauty of music into hearts and souls!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

As the first recipient of the FAYM Fellowship Award I take great pride and honor in knowing that this non-profit is truly dedicated to bringing music back into our culture and giving the "forgotten children" a warm welcome into the music world. FAYM provides assistance in scholarship form to musicians all across the world! My role with the organization is coordinator of the Violins for Kids Project and media director for FAYM overall. I love doing what I do, the thing that I love best is probably seeing parents take an active role in the education of their children, some of them are even learning how to play the violin themselves! Last but not least I just can't say enough good words about the wonderful man behind FAYM. Hal has proved to me that there are still honest people who want nothing else than to accomplish something greater than yourself. He has served as a great mentor, role model, father figure and friend. If you want to give to an organization that impacts the lives of young musician's directly, please give to FAYM!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 11, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
December 11, 2010


Thanks to Hal Weller and The Foundation to Assist Young Musicians ("FAYM") my cousin, Anthony Trionfo, is now attending the world's first and foremost fine arts boarding high school INTERLOCHEN ARTS ACADEMY: www.academy.interlochen.org



Hal & FAYM along with their most
generous resources were Anthony's champions in securing the largest scholarship awarded in Interlochen's history. They continue to support him with funding for the balance of his tuition as well as offering guidance to Anthony as realizes his potential and the opportunity afforded him in his new environment.



Anthony has thrived at Interlochen. He is a 15 year old flutist and after only 2 months at the school he was declared the winner of its prestigious Concerto Competition. This is the TOP performance honor awarded by the school and this means that Anthony has been recognized as the best of the best on a worldwide scale.



The mission statement of FAYM is to "encourage and support gifted young musicians in early training, advanced study, and professional career development, specifically those who are in need of financial and/or mentoring support."



FAYM is succeeding in fulfilling its mission.

Anthony would not have been in this most incredible position without Hal Weller and FAYM. Our family is eternally grateful and hope others will help support the foundation and its work.



Sincerely

Valerie Trionfo

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hal & FAYM along with their most generous resources were the champions in securing the largest scholarship ever awarded at world's first and foremost fine arts boarding high school INTERLOCHEN ARTS ACADEMY for my cousin Anthony Trionfo.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

February 26, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

Harold Weller, Trustee of the Foundation, is an incredibly generous man. He put me in touch with Teller (of Penn & Teller) - a wonderful magician and one of the greatest creative minds in the world of theater. The foundation arranged for private meetings with Teller in Las Vegas, NV. Collaborating with Teller has been extremely inspirational. As a pianist and a magician, I've encountered mixed reviews from the conservative classical world regarding my concept of blending the two art forms into one performance. Mr. Weller, however, was always open to my new ideas. I'm impressed with the breadth of vision and imagination demonstrated by the foundation's principles. Thank you Harold Weller and thank you Foundation to Assist Young Musicians for making my dreams come true.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

I enjoyed open-minded, passionate people who aren't afraid of the unknown and who are able to take risks in order to achieve the best possible results.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

It could change the way art education functions in our schools and communities and consequently it could help create new generation of imaginative people

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers