Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.984625
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

SRA invests in low-income, first generation college students who have demonstrated a deep commitment to education and strength of character in overcoming tremendous odds of poverty. SRA help each student to realize his or her potential by guiding and supporting them through college graduation, and into the workforce. These are areas I struggled with through my college years. I feel greatly impressed that this type of organization is working hard to make a difference. I felt great to donate money to support this causse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work harder to engage more young professionals to serve as mentors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

My wife and I became aware of SRA a few years ago through their student profiles on CBS 5. We started making modest donations and then increased them substantially after we understood how incredibly effective and efficient SRA is in accomplishing its mission of educating underserved youth. SRA became the primary recipient of our charitable contributions. Ultimately, we also signed up to be student mentors. All of our interactions with the leadership, staff, and volunteers at SRA have been fabulous - they have an excellent, highly motivated team. Their success rate speaks for itself.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

There are so many good causes out there. It's sometimes hard to know how to choose how to allocate your charitable giving "budget". But I have had no doubts about my giving to SRA - I've been a donor since their inception, and they receive more of my money than any other non-profit. Why? Because their success rate at what they do is fantastic and because they run a very lean organization. My donation to them makes a tangible difference in the lives of these smart hardworking students. They change the lives forever of every student they work with.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2011

more

September 26, 2011

Students Rising Above is such a unique and truly inspiring organization. While tuition assistance is available for low income/high potential students, it is daunting for many to consider how they will afford to travel to school, where will the basic necessities come from and who will guide them through this "off to college" process. For many of the wonderful SRA students there is not a parent in their life....for others the parent is not able to be a resource. Through it's amazing volunteer mentors and very specifically targeted grants, SRA is able to help these fantastic students who have worked so hard to overcome their challenges. The high school student who is accepted into SRA's "class" will have the support and resources that they need (beyond tuition) to make their college experience a success. Their life will be changed forever.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

meeting their students, hearing their stories and watching the amazing transformation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do everything possible to broaden the awareness of SRA throughout the community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Hearing from the students directly and seeing first hand what enormous challenges they overcame on their journey. The obstacles in many cases go significantly beyond financial issues as some of the students have been through emotional turmoil at a young age, were homeless for a period or neglected. The children have the will, the drive and the work ethic to succeed - all self-imposed.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I was introduced to SRA a few years ago, at about the same time my own daughter was applying to, and subsequently leaving for, college. While my daughter is very independent and self-sufficient, there was still much input needed from her parents (and many other expenes outside of the tuition/room & board). It was hard to imagine a student going through this with no resouces. SRA IS that resource.

What would you tell others about this organization?

In addition to being a tremendous cause, the organization is Incredibly low overheard and very well manged.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 22, 2011

more

September 22, 2011

After learning about Students Rising Above from Wendy Tokuda on a TV segment in 2004, we decided this program makes a difference in young peoples' lives and ultimately in society. Since 1/2005 and our first contribution, we have continued to make Students Rising Above a part of our monthly giving. After seeing first hand, the difference this program makes, we decided to increase our monthly contribution. We are pleased to support a program which makes such a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having the opportunity to meet and talk with several students the value of Students Rising Above is clear.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to publicize SRA, especially highlighting student successes.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers