Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
72 Reviews
1234.986115
Write A Review
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

Without Students Rising Above I honestly I have no idea where I'd be right now. In a time when I felt like giving up, SRA made me realize that was not an option. SRA has been with me every step of the way through college so far and they've provided me with so many opportunities. The students and staff as a whole have motivated me beyond quantifiable terms to do and be the best I can be.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

It is nearly impossible to overstate just how life-changing Students Rising Above is for the people it serves. SRA is a nonprofit organization that provides mentoring, college readiness, and financial assistance to low-income high school students who have overcome incredible odds in pursuit of a college education. SRA often helps students who are most at risk of falling between the cracks of the American education system. But beyond helping otherwise underserved students successfully transition into college, SRA also immensely benefits low-income families, communities, and society at large because of the educational and professional opportunities, development, and knowledge SRA offers its participants. Students who graduate college with the help of SRA encourage other low-income students to pursue college and share their life skills and knowledge with their families and community. SRA students are often focused on helping others rise out of poverty which lead to careers in health, public service, law, and education. This cycle improves the lives of all those around SRA participants and alumni for years to come.

Currenty, I am working as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Tanzania, three years after finishing SRA. For the next two years, I will be teaching English at a rural high school to students who will face many health, financial, and educational obstacles in reaching college or even completing high school. My job will be to instill a love of learning in English (because unfortunately and counter intuitively, the language of instruction in Tanzanian secondary schools is English) in Tanzanian students so that they may pass national exams, go to college, and break the vicious cycle of poverty present in Tanzania. My ability to cultivate the strength and compassion to confront world poverty and education issues in a new country is due singlehandedly to SRA. Through SRA, I met both a wonderful pair of encouraging and resourceful mentors who are now like family to me as well as a support network of young people who had experienced similar challenges to me. Making these connections helped me realize that I was never alone in the struggle for a higher quality of life. I am a stronger, wiser, and more well-rounded citizen because of the education SRA helped me to complete, and as a result, I am now able to give back and help others break through their own poverty ceiling through education.

SRA took a logistical weight off of my shoulders when it came to college admittance. Any questions I had, guidance I needed, or doubts I harboured with respect to college, SRA saw me through. Whereas many people's families support them through college, SRA students' families are often unable or without the resources and knowledge to do so. SRA has identified and begun to address a fundamental hole in the achievement gap where so many students typically fall behind with no hope of catching up, but SRA can't do this work without the prioritization, volunteerism, and financial support of others. Take note of SRA and visit the website to view some of the inspiring students' stories. It is an organization the merits all the support in the world.

Thanks for bettering my world, and so many others', SRA. Here I am, across the world, trying to pay it forward.
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

Students Rising Above has been such an amazing program, that I have been blessed to be a part of. It has provided not only the resources but the guidance I needed to be successful in my college admission process. I am also looking forward to participating in Student Rising Above for the next three years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only hope that, it can serve a larger clientele, the more the merrier.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

I am a current student of the program. By the end of this year, I will have graduated from Stanford University with a Bachelor's in Anthropology and a Minor in Spanish. The opportunities afforded to me in college were largely possible because of the Students Rising Above Program. The program served me from senior year and applying to colleges all the way to my final year of college, offering me guidance, support (educational and emotional/personal), a bit of financial aid, mentorship, and a network. Most importantly of all, they gave me a second family to count on and an amazing resource to use that would otherwise not have enabled me to do the things I have done, from great internships to an amazing experience spent abroad. The SRA helps those who have overcome much to find their path and eventually their dreams in life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Aid more and more students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Students Rising Above has been the best thing that has ever happened to me. Despite struggling throughout my life to find stability, my mentors and friends from SRA have been just that. I know they are always an email, text, or phone call away. They have helped me through college tremendously, both physically and mentally, and I couldn't imagine where I could possibly be today without them. The whole organization itself is amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Students Rising Above has more than what I had ever expected. Their support for me through my struggles has given me strength to look beyond my past experiences and create better ones by becoming a better me. I have grown so much in accepting myself amongst people who have already accepted me. My advisor, my mentor, the SRA staff, as well as the students have given me a environment where I always feel comfortable in. Without SRA, I'm not sure how I would have dealt with my hardships. SRA is more than just a non-profit organization, they are building a family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

SRA not only assists students with providing gap funding for college, but they also provide useful assistance with college preparation, financial planning, and job searches. The relationship and connections they provide students in the form of mentors, advisors and friends is paramount to many of the students served (who often come from dysfunctional or nonexisting family support environments). SRA is amazing and the impact the program is creating for disadvantaged students in the greater Bay Area should be suported and duplicated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

As a Students Rising Above Scholar myself I have to say that this is truly an exceptional program. They have helped me so much along my journey and now I am a Freshman at the University of San Francisco and am loving life! If it wasn't for Students Rising Above I probably wouldn't be at this amazing school studying a great major.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Students Rising Above is without a doubt the most amazing organization I have ever known. Seven years ago when I moved to the United States from a third world country, I had nothing but an ambition that one day I would go to college. I didn't know how. I didn't know when and I didn't know where. Today seven years later, I have a BA degree in International Relations from San Francisco State University. My dream have practically come true and all because I was blessed with the support of an organization like Students Rising Above.
Over the Last five years that I have been a recipient of SRA scholarship, the organization and the amazing people in it have transformed and enriched my life in so many levels. They have not only supported my financially throughout my college years, but also supported my emotionally and provided me with a wide network of people that will help me succeed in the real world. I am forever indebted to Student Rising Above and the amazing people that makes it possible.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Financially support throughout my college years including a semester of study abroad in the Netherlands. They have supported me emotionally by providing me with guidance and advice throughout my academic years of my undergrad

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly can't think of anything better they can do. There is nothing I can think of that the amazing staff working for this organization are already not doing it. Every years since I have been part of this organization, it has evolved to a bigger and better organization.

September 27, 2011

more

September 27, 2011

I was a Student Rising Above scholarship recipient from 2000-2004. My grandparents were Vietnamese refugees who escaped their war-torn homeland on April 29, 1975, the day of the Fall of Saigon. I grew up in a single-parent home and spent the early part of my childhood in a battered women's shelter. The Student Rising Above foundation gave me the courage to tell my story of resiliency and survival. As a result of the mentorship, encouragement and financial support, I graduated from UC Berkeley in 2004 with a BS in bioengineering. I am now finishing up my doctorate in public health and biostatistics at Columbia University where I am giving back to others that have given so much to me. I founded the Biostatistics Enrichment Summer Training (BEST) Diversity Program which recruits under-represented minority and first-generation college students to pursue careers in public health. We received half a million dollars in support from the federal government to continue our program for the next five summers. All of this would not have been possible had Student Rising Above not taken an investment in me and supported me with my endeavors.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My achievement and success is a testament to the results of this organization. I successfully graduated from college and I am going to finish my doctorate in public health. I have started a million dollar summer program in public health so that I can recruit recent graduates of the Student Rising Above organization to pursue careers in public health and biostatistics.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not do anything except to keep in touch with my fellow Student Rising Above alumni more often. This is a great and life changing organization and invests in human beings as we try to make our communities a better, just and more equitable place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

I was nominated by my high school.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The group has encouraged me to pursue and to attain my dreams.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers